Subject Guides: Latter-day Saint Women: Top Resources

Studies in Mormon History

Studies in Mormon History
This free online database includes citations to articles, books, and dissertations dealing with the history, culture, and doctrine of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Many entries have links to the full text of an article or dissertation. Publication date range: 1830 - present.

SEARCH TIPS:
- Try searching subject keywords like these:
  - Diaries and journals, women
  - Feminists and feminism
  - Publications (Mormon), Relief Society Magazine
    (TIP: swap in Woman's Exponent or Exponent II)
  - Relief Society
  - Woman suffrage
  - Women, 19th century (TIP: swap in 20th century or 21st century)
  - Women, cultural life
  - Women, personal narratives
  - Women, public image
- See all subject keywords here. TIP: for best results, plug these subject terms into the advanced search form:

Additional Scholarship

Academic databases in various disciplines include journal articles about Latter-day Saint women. Choose a database connected to the focus of your research.

SEARCH TIP: Bundle multiple databases for more extensive search results. Look for "Choose Databases" (EBSCO) or "Change Databases" (ProQuest) to add databases to your search.

Publisher	Discipline	Database
EBSCO	Women's Studies	Women's Studies International
	General / Multi-disciplinary	Academic Search Ultimate
	Business / Economics	Business Source Premier EconLit with Full Text
	Communication	Communication Source
	Education	ERIC
	Family Studies	Family & Society Studies Worldwide
	History (U.S.)	America: History and Life
	History (World)	Historical Abstracts
	Literature / Humanities	Humanities Source MLA International Bibliography
	Nursing / Public Health	CINAHL Complete MEDLINE
	Psychology / Sociology	APA PsycINFO
	Religion	ATLA Religion Database

ProQuest	Women's Studies	Gender Watch
	General / Multi-disciplinary	Research Library
	Business / Economics	ProQuest One Business
	Education	ERIC
	Family Studies	Social Science Premium Collection
	Literature / Humanities	Literature Online
	Psychology / Sociology	Social Science Premium Collection

Research Help

Schedule an appointment with or contact these librarians and curators for help with your research:

Adam Griggs, Area Studies Librarian

Gerrit van Dyk, Church History & Doctrine Librarian

John Murphy, Curator of 19th-20th Century LDS Manuscripts

Greg Seppi, Curator of 19th-20th Century LDS Publications

Elizabeth Smart, Global Women's Studies Librarian (away for professional development leave through December 2024)

Books

Latter-day Saint women (link to print holdings)
Scholar search on the BYU Library Website of physical books on the subject of Latter-day Saint women.
Women in Latter Day Saint churches
Scholar search on the BYU Library Website of physical books on the subject of women in Latter-day Saint churches.
Latter Day Saint women – Religious life
Scholar search on the BYU Library Website of print and e-book resources on the subject of Latter-day Saint women's religious lives.
Relief Society (Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints)
Scholar search on the BYU Library Website of print and e-book resources on the subject of the Relief Society (from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints).