It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History--British: Primary Documents Full Text
Materials relating to the histories of the British Isles from ancient times to the present.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (ASP)This link opens in a new windowA Historical Primary Source database. This database includes diaries and letters from British and Irish women. All types of women's diaries are included. Features the writings of famous as well as "ordinary" women of the time period. Covers 300 years of personal writings.
British Library Online Newspaper Archive (Gale)This link opens in a new windowThis new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.
British History OnlineThis link opens in a new windowBritish History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, aims to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research.
British Politics and Society (Gale)This link opens in a new windowNineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO): British Politics and Society includes tens of thousands of primary sources related to the political climate in Great Britain during the long nineteenth century. Invaluable for historical scholarship, the archive includes a range of rare works that offer new avenues for research.
British War DiariesThis link opens in a new windowBritish War Diaries from World War I covering the years 1914-1919. Materials scanned from the Imperial War Museum London in 2012. 13,500 digitized images.
Personal, noncommercial use for the purposes of research, education, and private study.
Early English Books Online (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowEarly English Books Online (EEBO) contains over 125,000 titles published between 1475-1700. Combining the listings of the major short-title catalogs, EEBO includes publications in all subjects: literature, religion, government, medicine, science, and music. EEBO provides the facsimile of each work, so researchers can study these publications as they appeared: books printed by William Caxton, the earliest editions of Chaucer's Canterbury Tales, The Book of Common Prayer (1549), The King James Bible (1611), Shakespeare's First Folio (1623), and works by Erasmus, Sir Isaac Newton, Bacon, Sir Thomas More, Galileo, as well as acts of Parliament, government documents on the early slave trade, and musical exercises by Henry Purcell.
Victorian Literary ManuscriptsThis link opens in a new windowVictorian Manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of The New York Public Library. Authors represented in this collection include: Matthew Arnold, The Brontes, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Robert Browning, Wilkie Collins, Joseph Conrad, Charles Dickens, George Eliot, George Gissing, Thomas Hardy, Henry James, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, John Ruskin, Alfred Tennyson, and William Makepeace Thackeray. Unpublished poems, working notebooks, holograph manuscripts and drawings trace the inspiration and genesis behind the period's greatest works. Researchers and students can trace the close interconnection of these Victorian authors and subsequently their texts through the mass of personal correspondence between them, revealing the close circles in which the Victorian literary world moved. From Adam Matthew Digital.
Victorian Popular CultureThis link opens in a new windowFrom Adam Matthew Digital, an essential resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Includes spiritualism, sensation, magic, circuses, sideshows, freaks, music hall, theatre, and popular entertainment.