The new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
The histories of science, technology, and mathematics merge with the study of humanities and social science in this interdisciplinary reference work. Essays on people, theories, discoveries, and concepts are combined with overviews, bibliographies of primary documents, and chronological elements to offer students a fascinating way to understand the impact of science on the course of human history and how science affects everyday life.
Science in the Ancient World : an Encyclopedia, Russell M. Lawson - Science Reference Q 124.95 .L39 2004
In hundreds of A-Z entries on key scientists, discoveries, and inventions, Lawson (history, Bacone College) explores scientific inquiry from the beginning of recorded history, 4000 BCE, to the fall of the Roman Empire in the 6th century CE. An introduction overviews the evolution of science from ancient times to the 17th century. A topic finder helps readers quickly locate subjects including people, countries, scientific disciplines, and institutions. A chronology and a list of print and Internet resources are included.
Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine : an Encyclopedia, Thomas F. Glick - Q 124.97 .M43 2005
Level 2 Circulating Shelves
Science in the Enlightenment : an Encyclopedia,William E. Burns - Science Reference Q 121 .B87 2003
Covering the full range of scientific disciplines, his alphabetically-organized reference text features hundreds of entries on key scientists, discoveries, and inventions, spanning a period beginning with the reorganization of the French Royal Academy of Sciences in 1699 and concluding with the careers of the noteworthy group of scientists born between 1765 and 1780 who were shaped by the dramatic changes of the French Revolution and the romantic movement. The text includes an extensive chronology and bibliography of print and online resources. Illustrated in b&w.
The History of Science and Religion in the Western Tradition: An Encyclopedia - BL 245 .H57 2000
Religion/Family History Library Circulating Shelves (Level 2)
Reaching back to Greece in the fifth century B.C.E. and proceeding to the late twentieth century, this volume describes the relationship of science and religion throughout history. From ancient cosmology and medieval occult sciences to modern physics and psychology, every major intellectual movementand discipline of study is covered. There is also comprehensive coverage of the foundational aspects of the study of science and religion, with, for example, detailed discussions of the demarcation of science and religion, of epistemology, and of causation. Coverage of scientists' religious concerns Also included here are biographical studies of major scientific figures-among them Galileo, Newton, and Darwin-who were particularly concerned with the religious implications and dimensions of their scientific discoveries.
The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science presents an unparalleled history of the field invaluable to anyone with an interest in the technology, ideas, discoveries, and learned institutions that have shaped our world over the past five centuries. Focusing on the period from the Renaissance to the early twenty-first century, the articles cover all disciplines, historical periods, concepts, and methodologies and philosophies. Coverage is international, tracing the spread of science from its traditional centers and explaining how the prevailing knowledge of non-Western societies has modified or contributed to the dominant global science as it is currently understood. One hundred biographies of the most iconic historic figures, chosen for their contributions to science and the interest of their lives, are also included.
Covering roughly three centuries (from 1350 into the late 1600s), this encyclopedia includes information on philosophers and scholars, artists and musicians, movements and theories, friars and aristocrats, playwrights and poets, and other individuals and terms likely to be encountered while studying European history, literature, art, or philosophy. Volume one begins with a lengthy chronology which is divided into six headings: politics and society; religion; visual arts and architecture; performing arts; literature, humanism, and printing; and philosophy, science and exploration. Each volume includes a section of color plates (paintings mainly) as well as a comprehensive index. Each article concludes with a bibliography.