MLA handbook for writers of research papers, 7th ed. by
This authoritative guide published by the Modern Language Association outlines how to document sources in a research paper using MLA style, for scholars and students at universities and secondary schools. It provides advice on all aspects of writing papers, from selecting a topic, the mechanics of writing, and plagiarism, to submitting the paper, abbreviations, and documenting a variety of sources. Reorganized and revised, this edition has been updated to include tips on research and writing in the online environment, simplified guidelines for citing works published on the internet, and new recommendations for citing works such as digital files and graphic narratives. It also has expanded discussion of when documentation is not needed, and revised guidelines for preparing a printed paper, citing works in newspapers and articles in reference works, and the punctuation of titles of works, and techniques for finding reliable sources online.
APA (American Psychological Association)
MLA (Modern Language Association)
Chicago
Other Style Manuals
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management service that allows you to build bibliographies and manage citations.
EndNote X3 is a bibliographic management software package available for download through BYU's Office of Information Technology for all BYU faculty, staff, and students.
To download: OIT Software Distribution, then search for EndNote
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself.
Zotero is the only research tool that automatically senses content, allowing you to add it to your personal library with a single click. Whether you're searching for a preprint on arXiv.org, a journal article from JSTOR, a news story from the New York Times, or a book from your university library catalog, Zotero has you covered with support for thousands of sites.
Zotero collects all your research in a single, searchable interface. You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages, and really anything else. Zotero automatically indexes the full-text content of your library, enabling you to find exactly what you're looking for with just a few keystrokes.
Music & Dance Help Desk
4432 HBLL - Level 4
Music & Dance Web Page
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm
Phone: 
(801) 422-1725
E-mail: music_reference@byu.edu
