Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowComprehensive encyclopedia of art, with authoritative and comprehensive reference sources for all visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, design, and decorative arts. Includes links to images from libraries and museums. Contains: Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford, and The Dictionary of Art Terms. We have 8 simultaneous users.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
More Encyclopedias (electronic & print)
Timeline of Art History
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world. Contains overviews, key events, maps, works of art, and thematic essays.
Guides to Writing About Art
Ancient Pottery, Vases & Terracottas