Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books in the Lee Library
Search for books on your topic by selecting the Advanced Search arrow and limiting your search to item type=books.
Search by artist's name, country/nationality, century, or topic. Art books have subject headings according to:
MEDIUM Ex: architecture, painting, sculpture
NATIONALITY Ex: sculpture, Greek; painting, Italian
GENRE Ex: landscape painting; portrait painting
TIME PERIOD Ex: Assyria--antiquities; art, byzantine
PLACE Ex: art, ancient--Egypt; art, medieval--France
Recommended Subject Searches
If you can't find books about a specific work of art, search by artist, building, medium, or country. Examples of searches:
s= Art, Ancient--Egypt
s= Art, Ancient--Greece
s= Art, Ancient--Middle East
s= Art, Egyptian
s= Egypt--Social conditions
s= Funeral Rites and Ceremonies--Egypt
s= Egypt--Religious life and customs
s= Art, Greek
s= Greece--Social life and customs
s= Sculpture, Greek
s= Mythology, Greek in art
s= Sculpture, Hellenistic
s= Temples, Greek
s= Art, Roman
s= Portrait sculpture, Roman
s= Temples, Roman
s= Women--Rome--Social conditions
For specific topics depicted in art, search:
BY SUBJECT (topic) ... in art
Ex: s= war in art; women in art , etc.
BY KEYWORD (topic) ... AND art
Ex: christianity AND art; revolutions AND art
Browsing Call Numbers
level 5 | FLOOR MAP
N visual arts in general
NC drawing, design, illustration
NK design, decorative arts
NX visual and performing arts
TS industrial design (level 2)
Z 40-286 typography
Create and format your own bibliography of articles, books, etc. Import references from databases and use the style guide of your choice!
Getty Research Portal
Contains 170,000 digitized volumes from nearly 40 contributing institutions around the world. Free and open access to the digitized literature of art history.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new windowThe Hathi Trust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations. Check the Full view only box when searching to limit your results to freely accessible materials.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. By logging into Google Scholar from off-campus, the library holdings will be integrated into your search results allowing you to quickly find the full-text of scholarly materials.
Google Book Search This link opens in a new windowGoogle Book Search searches a growing "database" of digitized books with access to Full Text View, Sample Page View, and Snippet Views, depending on the title.