Subject Guides: CLCV 241 Macfarlane: Film, Media Arts & Theatre

Background Information

American Film Institute Catalog This link opens in a new window Documents American films and international films. Extensive plot summaries, full production and cast information, and notes are provide. AFI Catalog can be searched in conjunction with Film Index International through Film Indexes Online.
Literature Resource Center (LRC)(Gale) This link opens in a new window Search for information about drama/plays using literature resources. Consult LRC for information about authors of dramas/plays.

Periodical Article Indexes

Performing Arts Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts more than 140 international periodicals covering nearly all aspects of the world of performing arts. Formerly International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window IBTD is a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Full text access is available to over 490 titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books and monographs.
Film and Television Literature Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Publications include Film Journal International, Journal of British Cinema & Television, Film Criticism, Post Script, Variety, and more as well as technical publications such as SMPTE. Mirroring the international film & television industries and cultures, FTLI also includes publications such as Cahiers du Cinema, Filmihullu, SegnoCinema, and Kinetoscopio. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This essential tool for film studies, created by the International Federation of Film Archives, indexes more than 300,000 articles from 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals (1979 - 1998); Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations about literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Literature Criticism Online LCO (Gale) This link opens in a new window
LCO includes Drama Criticism. If essays are difficult to read electronicall, consult the printed version at Humanities Reference PN 1601 .D59.

Ways to Search For Books

Try subject alphabetical searching for "mythology, classical in motion pictures," "film adaptations," etc. Also try searching by Search All KEYWORD for the character and the medium:ex. icarus AND (motion pictures OR film).

HBLL Scholar Search (Keyword) This will take you to the advanced search function of the libraries Scholar Search. Select "Books" on the left hand side after you get your search results to narrow in on books available in the library.

Films in the Library

Films are located in the Media Center on level 4. If you are looking for a specific title, search Film Finder, or the Library Catalog by format, by subject, or genre.

subject terms (ex: video art, conceptual art, surrealism, Fluxus, etc.)
genre/ form (ex: experimental films, documentary films, animated films, short films, silent films, etc.)

Streaming Audio & Video Databases

Academic Video Online (ASP) This link opens in a new window A one-stop-shop to search all of the video collections we get through ASP
Theatre in Video (ASP) This link opens in a new window Theatre in Video contains more than 200 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 150 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 400 hours in all. Included are landmark performances such as The Iceman Cometh, Awake and Sing, Krapp's Last Tape, and several works of Shakespeare. Notable actors include Claire Bloom, Colleen Dewhurst, Richard Dreyfuss, Walter Matthau, Meryl Streep and more.
Shakespeare Audio Plays This link opens in a new window Listen to audio performances of Shakespeare's plays on LION (Literature Online).

Related Guides

Consult these guides for more resources:

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu