ArtStorThis link opens in a new windowARTstor is a digital image database of nearly 700,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods. It includes tools to manipulate the images for study and teaching. Collections include The Image Collection (key art works used in arts, humanities, social science studies); The Art History Survey collection (concordance of 13 standard art history survey texts); The Carnegie Arts of the United States (American visual arts and material culture); The Hartill Architectural Archive; The Huntington Archive of Asian Art; The Illustrated Bartsch (European prints from 15th-19th centuries); The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive of Chinese art; The MOMA Architecture and Design Archive; The Native American art and Culture from the Smithsonian Institute; and a large number of significant collections being added. For details and tutorials, consult the ARTstor research guide at: http://www.lib.byu.edu/subsutility/viewGuide.php?gid=432&nav=1
Images may be used for non-commercial, scholarly, and educational purposes.
Bridgeman EducationThis link opens in a new windowBridgeman Education is a complete visual resource offering over 1,000,000 digital images of art, history and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use. Bridgeman Education gives you access to the visual culture of every civilization and every period from Prehistory to the present day across continents and civilisations.
Images may not be used in anything that will be distributed or presented outside of BYU.
A portion of the Bartsch corpus is available through Artstor online, with only images, not commentary. Browse by collection (The Illustrated Bartsch) and then search your topic or artist.
http://dbs.lib.byu.edu/artstor
The largest database of medieval art in existence with records for over 13,000 works of art, covers from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400. Indexes images and textual information, as well as bibliographies about the images. Formerly Index of Christian Art
Photographs owned by the Bildarchiv Foto Marburg and the Rheinisches Bildarchiv in Cologne, taken between 1850 and 1996. Material covered dates from the Middle Ages to the present, including western and non-western art, architecture, sculpture, etc. In German.
[Also available in 13,000 microfiches and CD-ROM Index at the Family History Library, level 2.]
Collection of over one million fine arts images of historical and contemporary works. Browse by artist or museum. High resolution images are available from Art Resource for a fee.
Browse artists by name, medium, subject, and nationality. Contains images, museums, galleries, articles, art market information, and books for selected artists.
Collections of images are organized into 5 areas: Cartography, Fine Arts, Architecture, Photography, and Other. Contains over 300,000 images from over 50 collections around the world.
Resource of art history images primarily for students and teachers. Browse by artist or take a guided tour. Virtual museum and searchable database of European fine arts from the 8th to 19th centuries, focusing on Renaissance art, but including its Medieval roots as well as its evolution to Baroque and Rococo via Mannerism.
