Useful websites
-
Percussive Arts Society
The Percussive Arts Society is a music service organization promoting percussion education, research, performance and appreciation throughout the world.
-
The Band Director's Percussion Survival Guide
Need to find the answer to a percussion question?
Vic Firth’s Percussion Survival Guide is here to help! With quick and thorough videos covering maintenance, tuning and playing techniques for the concert percussion instruments, you’re sure to find a solution that will help you in the classroom.
Featured Percussion Book
-
Marching Bands and Drumlines
by
The leaders of outstanding organizations reveal their goals for success including: expectations, values, leadership styles, motivational techniques, practice habits, and recruiting strategies. A must-read for band directors, percussion educators, students and anyone pursuing excellence in leadership.
Call Number: MT 733 .B89 M37 2009ISBN: 1574631519Publication Date: 2009-02-01
Percussion Reference Books
-
Annotated Bibliography of Percussion Music Publications
by
This is an annotated bibliography of works published since 1976 by Per-Mus Publications LLC, of Columbus, Ohio, owned and founded by James L. Moore, Ph.D.. Dr. Moore is an Associate Professor of Music Emeritus at The Ohio State University, and continues to work as percussion instructor with the Ohio State University Marching Band, an organization of which this author is an alumnus. About one hundred fifty works are cited, with autobiographical memoirs of a professional nature interspersed in the manuscript.
Call Number: ML 128 .P23 L37 2005 (Reference collection)ISBN: 0773462236Publication Date: 2005-01-01 -
A percussionist's guide to orchestral excerpts
by
This guide provides a composer index to excerpts for percussion instruments contained in 41 volumes and 2 record sets.
Call Number: ML 128 .P23 V5 (Reference collection)Publication Date: 1980
Video
Apr 12, 2009 : Gavin Ryan brings down the house playing a hot rag at breakneck speed. BYU percussion ensemble 2009.
Video
Jan 28, 2015
Egha Kusuma, percussion; Adrienne Tedjamulia Read: Graduate Recital April 2014
Brigham Young University
Music and Dance Librarian
Collections to browse
ML 128 .P23 - Bibliographies for percussion (Reference collection)
ML 1030-1081 - Percussion instruments - History and criticism (includes construction)
MT 655-725 - Instrumental technique and study of percussion instruments