Streaming Audio and Video Databases
-
National Jukebox by The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. The National Jukebox debuts featuring more than 10,000 78rpm disc sides issued by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1900 and 1925.
-
The Complete Marches of John Philip Sousa
by
The Complete Marches of John Philip Sousa, Vol. 1 This multi-year recording project is the Marine Band's first comprehensive collection of Sousa's marches since the 1970s. The collection is in chronological order, and Volume 1 contains his first 17 marches, covering the years 1873 to 1882. Volume 1 is available for free download on the Marine Band website, which includes audio, scrolling score videos, and PDFs of the sheet music (full scores and parts) with historical and editorial notes. Each march has been carefully edited and corrected by Lt. Col. Fettig and Music Production Chief Master Sgt. Donald Patterson using some of the earliest known publications and incorporate performance practices employed by the Marine Band that are modeled on those of "The March King" himself.
Publication Date: 2015
-
Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new windowExplore the world of the Berliner Philharmoniker. Watch and listen to classical music's finest conductors and soloists live, on-demand or on the go as it suits you. You will need to create a free personal account using the BYU pop-up window in order to access content.
-
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new windowStreaming video access to more than 600 full length performances of the Metropolitan Opera.
-
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive classical music streaming platform. Wide range of standard and specialist repertoire. More than 40,000 composer and artist biographies. A musicology section with articles from scholars, critics, students, industry professionals on their opinions and scholarly approaches on various subjects.
-
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new windowThe world's leading Performing Arts DVD distributor brings you an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and artists perform on demand!
-
Opera in Video (ASP) This link opens in a new windowOpera in Video will contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. This release includes 132 videos, equalling 280 hours. You can also access Opera in Video through the Music Online interface.
-
Hal Leonard Concert BandHal Leonard Concert Band Channel, where you can view full scores, while simultaneously listening to recordings.
Websites for organizations and societies related to Instrumental Music Education
-
National Association for Music Education
The National Association for Music Education (NAfME) is an organization of American music educators dedicated to advancing and preserving music education and as part of the core curriculum of schools in the United States.
-
American School Band Directors Association
Founded in 1953, the American School Band Directors Association (ASBDA) is a national organization for band directors whose mission is to promote, enhance and preserve quality school band programs through leadership and fellowhip of exemplary band directors.
-
Women Band Directors Assoc. Women Band Directors International (WBDI) represents women band directors of all pedagogical levels and years of experience from college students to retired directors.
-
National Band Association
The NBA was organized for the purpose of promoting the musical and educational significance of bands and is dedicated to the attainment of a high level of excellence for bands and band music.
-
American Bandmasters Association
The American Bandmasters Association, founded in 1929, with John Philip Sousa as Honorary Life President, recognizes outstanding achievement on the part of Concert Band conductors and composers.
-
The Association of Concert Bands
The purpose of ACB is to encourage and foster adult concert, community, municipal, and civic bands, and to ensure that each musician who wishes to perform may have that opportunity; every community may have the opportunity to take civic pride in its band; and citizens of the world community may enjoy live performances of band music.
-
College Band Directors National Association
The members of the College Band Directors National Association are devoted to the teaching, performance, study and cultivation of music, with particular focus on the wind band medium.
-
Canadian Band Association The Canadian Band Association is a national organization representing and supporting school, university, military and community bands, band directors, students, parents, administrators, the music industry, composers, arrangers and all those interested in bands and band music across Canada.
-
American String Teachers Association
Welcome to the American String Teachers Association
"To enrich lives through the joy of teaching and playing stringed instruments."
