Book Categories
These are databases for books. You can use thee to find books specific to your topic. If you find a book you want, but BYU does not have access to it, you can request it though an interlibrary loan or request the library buys the book.
Book Databases
|
Database Links |
Focus Area |
Korea-Specific Coverage |
Best For |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Library catalog for books, media, and more |
Medium–High |
Finding Korean studies books, ebooks, and media at BYU |
|
|
Global library catalogs |
Medium |
Finding books via interlibrary loan |
|
|
Historical digitized books |
Low–Medium |
Accessing public domain or archival texts |
|
|
Digitized books |
Low–Medium |
Book previews or full texts |
Call Number Locations
All books published in Korean are located on the 4th floor in the Asian Collection. English materials on Asian topics are located in different parts of the library as noted below. Click on the maps to expand the images.
1st Level (Social Sciences & Business)
-
Encyclopedias Social Science Reference Collection (DS 901-DS 933.7)
-
Korean History (DS 901–DS 992)
-
Family, Marriage and Women (HQ 1765–HQ 1765.6)
-
Society (HN 730.5–HN 730.6)
-
Fables, Myths, Legends, Folklore (GR 342)
-
Law (KPA 12–KPC 2689)
-
Education (LA 1331–LA1338)
-
Economic Conditions (HC 466–HC 470.2)
-
Politics and Government (JQ 1720–JQ 1729.5 and JZ 1748–JZ 1750)
2nd Level (Religion & Philosophy)
- Buddhism (BQ 650–BQ 667)
-
Christianity (BR 1320–BR 1337)
-
Other Religions (BL 2230–BL 2240)
-
Small Family History Section (CS 1333-CS 1339)
4th Level (Materials in Korean)
-
Graded Readers
-
Korean History (DS 916–DS 937
-
Korean Family History (CS 1332–CS 3012)
-
Korean Literature (PL 992–PL 980)
-
Music (ML 342–ML 342.5)
5th Level (Humanities)
-
Korean Art (N Quarto 7360–N 7363 and ND Quarto 1060)
-
South and North Korean Paintings (ND 1059–ND 1070)
-
Korean Language & Linguistics (PL 901–PL 984)
-
Korean Literature (PL 991–PL 998)
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Full-text dissertations from 4,100 universities in 60+ countries. Fully searchable and ideal for global scholarly research.
National Digital Library (국가전자도서관)
Access 8,000+ Korean dissertations, mostly in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Korean language search required.
Search graduate theses and dissertations by BYU students. Open access and institutionally archived.
Open Access Theses & Dissertations (OATD)
Search and access 3.5+ million freely available graduate theses from institutions worldwide.
Place a request
- Click this button or this link to create an interlibrary loan.
What is Interlibrary Loan (ILL)?
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows you to borrow books, articles, and other materials from libraries outside of BYU when the BYU library doesn’t have what you need. It expands your access to academic resources far beyond what's available in our physical and digital collections.
How it Works
- You request the item through the BYU Interlibrary Loan system.
- Library staff locate the item at another participating library (nationwide or even international).
- The item is sent to BYU and you'll be notified when it’s ready to pick up or access digitally.
What You Can Request
- Borrow almost anything from other libraries for free (books, articles, DVDs, CDs, scores, maps, microfilm, periodicals, newspapers, etc.)
Important Notes
- Free to all students, faculty, staff, and distance/independent study students.
- Physical items are generally ready in 3-7 business days. Some items with limited availability may take longer, but its usually faster. (Even so, its good to plan ahead!)
Asian Studies Librarian
Office: 4420 HBLL
Phone: 801-422-4061
Request a Book
Click this button to recommend a book you think the library should purchase.