Subject Guides: Korean Studies: Finding Scholarly Articles

Databases

Here you will find databases that contain articles about Korea. The first table has Databases for finding articles about Korea in English, the second table contains databases for articles in Korean, and the third table provides links to academic journals that you can browse for Korea-related content. There may be some overlap in content, but there are also articles that are unique to each database. Checking multiple databases can help you find those unique articles.

Article Databases

Database Links	Focus Area	Best For
Google Scholar	General scholarly literature	Quick searches across disciplines
Web of Science	Science + humanities	Citation networks and scholarly trends
JSTOR	Humanities & social sciences	Background reading and academic depth
Academic Search Ultimate	Interdisciplinary	Broad exploration and current topics
Dissertations & Theses	Global scholarship	Original research and emerging topics
Sociological Abstracts	Sociology and social issues	Korean societal and cultural topics
Project MUSE	Current humanities/social sci.	Updated scholarly journals
MLA International Bibliography	Literature and linguistics	Specialized research in Korean literature and linguistics within global literary scholarship
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)	Asia and Asian diasporas	Indexing of Western-language journal articles, chapters, and conference papers specifically on Asia
Historical Abstracts	Global history (1450+)	In-depth Korean historical research and broader historical context
ATLA Religion Database	Religious studies	Religion in Korean context and broader theological research
History Reference Source	Historical reference materials	Quick facts and overviews

Articles in Korean

Database	Focus Area	Best For
DBpia	Korean academic journal articles	Wide range of disciplines, including both humanities and sciences
KRpia	Korean primary sources and reference works	History, literature, culture, and traditional medicine