Start Here
Welcome to the Korea Research Guide
This guide will aid you in your research on Korea. Below is a list of tabs in this guide along with what you'll find in each one. If you have any questions, please reach out to the Asian Studies Librarian, Tim Davis.
What You'll Find in This Guide:
General Research Help
- Starting Your Research
- Choosing a Topic & Conducting Background Research
- Reference Works, Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Bibliographies
- Using AI to Brainstorm
- Writing Help (Coming Soon)
- Finding Primary Sources – First-hand accounts or original works
- Print Resources
- Online/Digital Sources
- Newspapers
- Statistics
- Film
- East-West Encounters
- Government & Official Sources
- Finding Books
- Books & eBooks
- Interlibrary Loan
- Theses & Dissertations
- Call Number Ranges
- Finding Scholarly Articles
- Databases
- Academic Journals
Focused Research Guides
-
- TOPIK Help
- Dictionaries and Translation
- Listening, Reading, Grammar, Vocabulary
- Courses and Textbooks
- Korean Through K-dramas
- Korean Literature
- Korean History
- North Korea Studies
- Anthropology
- Korean Film
- Linguistics
- Korean Family History
- Religion (Coming Soon)
- Korean Studies at BYU (Coming Soon
- Faculty
- Faculty Publications
- Study Abroad (Coming Soon)
Featured Resources
The Harold B. Lee Library now provides access to three excellent databases for finding scholarly articles in Korean:
DBpia Database of Academic Articles in Korean
DBpia is the premiere multidisciplinary database of full-text journal articles published by major South Korean research institutions. There are over 1,900 journal titles and more than 1.9 million Korean articles included. Some resources are available in English.
KRpia Database www.krpia.co.kr
KRpia is a full-text database including primary sources and full-text archival material on Korean history, literature, medicine, religion, etc. and reference works and such as dictionaries and encyclopedias.
North Korean News
NK News (North Korean News) is an independent, privately owned English language specialist site on North Korea. NK News has no affiliation to any political organization or country.
Asian Studies Librarian
Office: 5449 HBLL
Phone: 801-422-4061
Request a Book
Click this button to recommend a book you think the library should purchase.
North and South Korean News
South Korean News
The Chosun Daily is an English-language news website that was translated from Korean into English. This is one of the oldest active newspapers in South Korea.