Skip to main content

Asian Studies: Home

A guide to resources for Asian Studies

Introduction to the Asian Collection at Brigham Young University

The Asian Collection consists of three parts:

1. The Main Collection: The main collection contains over 67,000 books (48,000 in Chinese, 11,000 in Japanese, and 8,000 in Korean). We also have small collections of Vietnamese and Thai materials. All Asian language books are shelved in the Asian Collection on the Fourth Floor of the Harold B. Lee Library according to the Library of Congress call number system. Scroll down and click on the Map provided below (left) for location details.

2. The Asian Reference Collection: This collection contains encyclopedias, specialized dictionaries, concordances, and other research aids.

3. The Asian Language Reading Shelves:  Located next to the Asian Reference Collection, the Asian Language Reading Shelves contain reading materials in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean selected to help you improve your reading skills. These materials are organized by level of difficulty: Level 1 = Beginning; Level 2 = Intermediate; and Level 3 = Advanced. Popular works of fiction are found among the advanced level materials.

 

English language materials related to Asia are shelved in various parts of the library (also according to the Library of Congress call number system). See the call number guide below and to the left for details.

Asian Studies Librarian

Tim Davis's picture
Tim Davis
Contact:
Office: 4523 HBLL
I'm currently working from home. Please e-mail me if you need help with Asian-related research or accessing library resources. I'm happy to help!

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm; 
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

chat loading...

Asian Collection 4th Floor Map (Click to Enlarge)

Call Number Guide

Those who Browse the Stacks always discover additional research materials!

All books published in Asian languages are located on the 4th Floor in the Asian Collection.

English materials on Asian topics are located in different parts of the library as noted below.

If you have trouble finding a book ask the Asian Studies Librarian or inquire at any library help desk.

AC-AE Collections, Encyclopedias (1st Floor, Social Science Reference)

BL 1900 Daoism (2nd Floor, Religion & Family History Library)

BQ Buddhism (2nd Floor, Religion & Family History Library)

BR-BX Christianity (2nd Floor, Religion & Family History Library)

DS Asian History (1st Floor, Social Science Library)

      DS 350–375 Afghanistan

      DS 376–392 Pakistan

      DS 400-485 India

      DS 700–799 China

      DS 800–899 Japan

      DS 900–940 Korea

G 1019-2357 Maps

GR 335-340 Fables, Myths, Legends, Folklore (1st Floor, Social Science Library)

GR 342-GT  Customs (1st Floor, Social Science Library)

GV 1100-1400 Martial arts, games

HC 427-470 Economic conditions

HN-HQ  Society

J Politics and Government (1st Floor, Central Stacks)

      JZ 1730-1734 Chinese

      JZ 1745 Japanese

      JZ 1748 Korean

K Law

M Music

N Arts & Crafts (5th Floor, North Stacks)

   N 7340–45 Chinese Art (General)

   NA 1540 Chinese Architecture

   NB 1040 Chinese Sculpture

   NB 1912 Buddhist Sculpture

   ND 1036–1049 Chinese Painting

   ND 1050 Japanese Painting

   ND 1060 Korean Art

   NK 3634 Chinese Calligraphy

   NK 4165 Chinese Pottery

   NK 5750 Chinese Jade Carving

PL Asian Languages and Literatures (5th Floor, North Stacks)

   PL 501-845 Japanese

   PL 901-949 Korean

   PL 1001-3300 Chinese

Q Science

R  Medicine

S  Agriculture

T Technology

U Military science

Z Libraries

Finding Secondary Scholarship & Primary Sources

A List of Useful Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles

Use the databases listed below to search for scholarly articles on your research topic.  Hovering over the "info" icon  will reveal detailed information about each database. For some very helpful tips on how to conduct a successful database search, click Here.

TIP: Use multiple databases when searching for articles related to your research project as each database has different coverage and unique features.


Subject Specific Databases

Journal of Asian Studies (1956–present) The Journal of Asian Studies (JAS) publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed empirical and multidisciplinary work on Asia, spanning the arts, history, literature, the social sciences, and cultural studies. Coverage includes South and Southeast Asia, China, Inner Asia, and Northeast Asia, JAS welcomes broad comparative and transnational studies as well as essays emanating from fine-grained historical, cultural, political, and literary research. The journal also publishes clusters of papers that present new and vibrant discussions on specific themes and issues.

The Journal of Contemporary Asia was established in 1970, to address broad the problems of economic, political, and social development of Asia. Articles on aspects of economic development, political economy, agriculture, planning, the working class, people’s movements, politics and power, imperialism and empire, international financial institutions, the environment, and economic history regularly appear. The journal appears quarterly.

Asian Affairs (London; 1970–present) covers the whole region of Asia—Central Asia, the Middle East, South Asia, South East Asia and East Asia. The journal generally consists of articles on specific countries, locales, or historical episodes, as well as contemporary affairs. The Journal favors articles of a practical and general character above those which are highly technical, or which concentrate on academic theory. A substantial section of each issue consists of book reviews of new publications.

Foreign Affairs (1922–present) is a leading forum for the serious discussion of American foreign policy and global affairs. Published by the non-profit and nonpartisan Council on Foreign Relations (CFR), Foreign Affairs tolerates a wide difference of honestly held and convincingly expressed opinion. Its articles do not represent a consensus of beliefs. CRF believes that Foreign Affairs can do more to guide American public opinion by a broad hospitality to divergent ideas than it can by identifying itself with one school.

Foreign Policy (1970–present) is an American news publication, founded in 1970 and focused on global affairs, current events, and domestic and international policy. It produces content daily on its website, and in six print issues annually. 

Full text access digital access to The Atlantic (1988–present). EBSCO Academic Search Premiere provides full color PDF files of each article.

 

Full-text, digital access to The New Yorker magazine (1992–present). Paper copies are available in the library covering 1933–2018 at this call number AP 2 .N6763 in the periodicals reading room (Level 2 North).


Asia and the West: 19th Century Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange. 19th Century British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records from China, Japan, and Southeast Asia. These records reflect the day-to-day activities with the indigenous populations, the expansion of trade, and the exercise of extraterritorial rights and treaty provisions. Also included is a substantial selection of missionary correspondence and journals from China, Japan, Korea, and Siam (Bangkok). Maintained by Gale-Cengage.

Lillian Schoedler in Asia

Travel Writing, Spectacle, and World History (maintained by Adam Mathew Digital) brings together hundreds of accounts produced by women documenting their travels across the globe. Several accounts cover travel in Asia. The materials contained in this database range from the early 19th century to the late 20th century and include unique manuscripts, diaries, correspondence, guidebooks, postcards, sketches and photographs. 


Visualizing Cultures: Image Driven Scholarship was launched at MIT in 2002 to explore the potential of the Web for developing innovative image-driven scholarship and learning. The mission of Visualizing Cultures is to use new technology to reconstruct the past as people of the time visualized the world (or imagined it to be). Topical units to date focus on Japan in the modern world and early-modern China.


China, America, and the Pacific (18th–20th Centuries). This database contains an extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps document this fascinating history. Maintained by Adam Matthews Digital.


Happy Family Chairman Mao Portrait

Chinese Propaganda Posters. This database provides access to hundreds of images portraying events and personalities from the history of the Chinese Communist Party. Click on “Themes” to view posters for such topics as “The Long March,” “The Sino-Japanese War,” “The Great Leap Forward,” “The Cultural Revolution,” Mao Zedong and other Communist Party leaders, "Models and Martyrs," "Working Women," "Villains," etc.

South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) is a free open-access resource for research and teaching. SAOA consists of a rich and growing collection of key historical and contemporary sources in arts, humanities and social sciences, from and about South Asia, in English and other languages of the region. SAOA's collection currently contains hundreds of thousands of pages of books, journals, newspapers, census data, magazines, and documents, with particular focus on social & economic history, literature, women & gender, and caste & social structure.

The Trans-Asia Photography Review is an online, open-access, international journal devoted to the discussion of historic and contemporary photography from Asia. It is published twice a year by Hampshire College in collaboration with the University of Michigan Library. The TAP Review brings together the perspectives of curators, historians, photographers, anthropologists, art historians and others in an effort to investigate photography from Asia as fully as possible.

East Asia Image Collection is an an open-access archive of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52). Images of Taiwan 台湾, Japan 日本, China 中国, Korea 朝鮮, Manchuria 満洲国, and Indonesia are included.


The American Presidency Project is maintained by political science professors John Woolley and Gerhard Peters and hosted at UC Santa Barbara. This database provides access to numerous documents related to US-China relations. You can search for key terms and limit your search to a particular president's era of administration.


Digital version of US Congressional Serial Set contains all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from 1817 to the present. These documents constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. A print version of the Serial Set would consist of over 12 million pages.

The National Bureau of Asian Research (NBR) is a nonpartisan organization that produces in-depth research on policy issues in the Indo-Pacific (East, South, and Southeast Asia). NBR has cultivated relationships for over 30 years with top specialists and the highest-level decision-makers in the Executive Branch and Congress from both parties.

Rising Powers Initiative (RPI) Sigur Center,  Elliott School of International Affairs, George Washington University. The RPI is a multi-year, cross-national research effort that examines the role of domestic identities and foreign policy debates of aspiring powers in Asia. The RPI brings together an internationally recognized team of scholars from both the United States and across the globe to analyze and compare the foreign policy thinking in today’s rising powers.

 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT) is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present.

ProQuest Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.

Renmin ribao 人民日报 (The People's Daily) is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China for the last 71 years, the People's Daily has published daily issues that provide the single location where the central government and the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world. For the English version of the site click Here.

South China Morning Post was founded in 1903. It is a leading news media company headquartered in Hong Kong with global impact. SCMP’s news team is committed to informing and inspiring through journalism of the highest standards. SCMP’s vision is to “Elevate Thought,” and its mission is to “Lead the global conversation about China.” Click Here for news focused on China.

Free access to the current issue of the New York Times is available to BYU students and faculty. You will need to create a free account using your  @byu.edu email address. To access news about China, type "China" In the search box of the NYT hompage.

Kanopy partners with public libraries and universities to stream thoughtful entertainment to your preferred device with no fees and no commercials. Click the logo above and log in with your BYU NetID to enjoy Kanopy's diverse catalog with new titles added every month. You can search for films on Asian topics and in Asian languages.

ProQuest's Alexander Street is the world’s leading provider of academic streaming media to libraries. They have partnered with top video producers around the world to deliver more than 60,000 video titles across all disciplines. They are particularly strong in the fields of anthropology, history, diversity studies, theatre, film, music, dance, news, current affairs, and the social sciences. For video related to Asian Studies, click Here.

FRONTLINE produces works of investigative journalism that both question and explain complicated and controversial aspects of our modern world. Frontline has been one of American television’s top long-form news and current affairs series since 1983. They have won every major journalism and broadcasting award, including 91 Emmy Awards and 22 Peabody Awards. You can watch more than 200 documentaries online, for free, any time.

An extensive collection of streamable documentary video. Maintained by Infobase.