A Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice by
Provides practical advice on how companies can maximize the effectiveness of the human resource management function and ensure that it makes a major contribution to organizational success. This comprehensive handbook is also essential reading for human resource management students at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels.
The Human Resources Glossary by
Finally, the demand for a single authoritative source that compiles and explains the vocabulary of HR practitoners is answered in the Human Resources Glossary. The Glossary defines HR terms and explains their context, use, and managerial implications in 56 of the most important HR areas.
The Oxford Handbook of Human Resource Management by
The Oxford Handbook of Human Resource Management aims to provide an authoritative account of current trends and developments in Human Resource Management (HRM). HRM is central to management teaching and research, and has emerged in the last decade as a significant field from its earlier roots in personnel management, industrial relations, and industrial psychology. People Management and High Performance teams have become key functions and goals for managers at all levels in organizations. The text is divided into four parts: foundations and frameworks; core processes and functions; patterns and dynamics; and finally measurement and outcomes
Transnational Organizations and Cross-Cultural Workplaces
This work explores everyday face-to-face interactions between expatriate and host national employees in cross-cultural offices of transnational organizations and corporations. Applying the concepts of cosmopolitanism, social capital, and network theory, the book highlights both “closure” and “openness” in interpersonal interactions thus presenting more nuanced ways of understanding employees’ transnational business/social connections. It also offers useful suggestions, such as the importance of developing a sense of respect for each other, for those who work in transnational office environments in both home and host societies. The author based her findings on one year of intensive fieldwork in Indonesia, which provides an intimate look at the transnational relationships between Japanese expatriate employees and Indonesian host national co-workers. Social science and international business scholars will embrace this ethnographic study of the relationships formed by these professional migrations.
Human Resources Management Solutions for Attracting and Retaining Millennial Workers by
The millennial generation is rapidly progressing in the workforce, which brings about new ways of working and managing efficiency in the workplace. This helps to provide a space that encourages the new ideals of millennials while also balancing the needs and desires of other generational employees. Human Resources Management Solutions for Attracting and Retaining Millennial Workers offers an in-depth discussion on pivotal issues surrounding generational differences and management in the workplace. Featuring extensive coverage on relevant topics, such as training and development, promotions, salaries, and career progressions, this is a useful resource of academic material for practitioners, managers, professionals, and researchers who are seeking more information on the emergence of millennial employees.
Managing the Next Generation of Public Workers by
Managing the Next Generation of Public Workers is a fresh and energetic look at the changing climate of diversity in the public and nonprofit workplace.
The workforce of the twenty-first century represents unparalleled complexity: Baby Boomers, GenX, GenY, and Millennials. Although that diversity may be challenging and often overwhelming for public managers, Madinah Hamidullah emphasizes the potential strengths that can be drawn from complex multigenerational relationships.
This handbook offers public and nonprofit managers the tools necessary to address generational differences and questions such as:
- How do the newer generations in the workplace differ on such fundamentals as work ethic, family values, and retirement horizons?
- Are they recruited differently and do they expect a different mix of benefits-perhaps a better work-life balance as a tradeoff for a lower salary?
- How can diverse, generational perspectives in the workplace add value by questioning old, traditional assumptions?
- Will approaches to organizational decision making necessarily change as new generations take over?
The book is for public and nonprofit managers who recognize the challenges of managing a multigenerational workforce, and are therefore seeking helpful insights. This volume is a roadmap not only for human resource (HR) managers, but for all managers who must address the complexities of the human condition-complexities that are complicated by the most rapid succession of workforce generations that we have yet seen.
Handbook of Research on Human Resources Strategies for the New Millennial Workforce by
Each new generation of upcoming professionals requires different strategies for effective management within the workforce. In order to promote a cohesive and productive environment, managers must take steps to better understand their employees. The Handbook of Research on Human Resources Strategies for the New Millennial Workforce is an authoritative reference source for the latest scholarly research on theoretical frameworks and applications for the management of millennials entering the professional realm. Focusing on methods and practices to enhance organizational performance and culture, this book is ideally designed for managers, professionals, upper-level students, and researchers in the fields of human resource and strategic management.
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology by 
The Wiley Blackwell Handbook of the Psychology of Occupational Safety and Workplace Health by
A Wiley Blackwell Handbook of Organizational Psychology focusing on occupational safety and workplace health. The editors draw on their collective experience to present thematically structured material from leading thinkers and practitioners in the USA, Europe, and Asia Pacific Provides comprehensive coverage of the major contributions that psychology can make toward the improvement of workplace safety and employee health Equips those who need it most with cutting-edge research on key topics including wellbeing, safety culture, safety leadership, stress, bullying, workplace health promotion and proactivity
The SAGE Handbook of Process Organization Studies by
The SAGE Handbook of Process Organization Studies provides a comprehensive and timely overview of the field. This volume offers a compendium of perspectives on process thinking, process organizational theory, process research methodology and empirical applications. The emphasis is on a combination of pedagogical contributions and in-depth reviews of current thinking and research in each of the selected areas, combined with the development of agendas for future research. The Handbook is divided into five sections: Part One: Process Philosophy Part Two: Process Theory Part Three: Process Methodology Part Four: Process Applications Part Five: Process Perspectives
The Employee Performance by
Everything you need to coach employees and get troubled performers back on track Confronting employees about poor performance is an ordeal dreaded by managers and HR pros everywhere. The possibility of emotional outbursts—and the specter of a lawsuit—leave many would-be disciplinarians at a loss. The Employee Performance Handbook is a complete how-to guide for employee discipline. Packed with practical and legal advice, this book offers smart strategies that will help you improve employee performance and avoid legal trouble. You'll learn how to: identify problems early on decide when discipline is necessary choose the right response to a problem engage employees in improving performance collaborate with employees to come up with solutions fire employees when necessary protect against wrongful termination lawsuits With Downloadable Forms You can download sample policies, sample forms, checklists, skills-building exercises, and more, at nolo.com (details inside).