Government & Other Reliable Sources
-
Occupational Outlook Handbook The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information, for 325 occupational profiles, covering about 4 out of 5 jobs in the economy
-
CareerOneStopIncludes America's Job Bank, America's Career InfoNet, and America's Service Locator. The tools were developed and are maintained through the leadership of the U.S. Department of Labor and in partnership with state workforce agencies, local workforce service delivery providers and education and training institutions and private sector organizations.
-
Dictionary of Occupational Titles 20,000+ listings
-
Career Journal from the Wall Street JournalCareer Information By Wall Street Journal
-
America's Career InfoNet America's Career InfoNet (ACINet) is ideal for job seekers, employers, human resource specialists and workforce development specialists to: learn more about typical wages and employment trends across occupations and industries; check education, knowledge, skills and abilities against requirements for most occupations; search for employer contact information nationwide; obtain cost of living data; call up state profiles with labor market conditions
-
Cost of living index (Previously ACCRA) Council for Community and Economic Research) Council for Community and Economic Research. Provides measures of living cost differences among urban areas. Print Only. HD 6983 .C67x Floor 1–C, Harold B. Lee Library Bookshelves
-
Wages by Area and Occupationby U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.
-
Employment Projections. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Provides tables of statistics on the outlook for numerous occupations.
Useful Sites
-
America's Career InfoNetInformation about educational levels for various occupations, as well as average wage ranges by occupation and geographical area.
-
Glassdoor.comFind jobs and see company salaries, reviews, and interviews – all posted anonymously by employees.
-
Homefair.comIncludes multiple calculators that compare the salary, cost of living, city reports, and school reports in most large cities in the US.
-
Money Geek Cost-of-living Calculator "The MoneyGeek cost of living calculator provides quick insights into how much you’ll pay in housing, utilities, groceries and other expenses in a given city. That information is particularly helpful if you’re offered a job that requires you to relocate, or you’re daydreaming about moving somewhere new for a change in weather or atmosphere. MoneyGeek’s cost of living calculator lets you compare your current expenses against what you’ll pay in another city, and it provides comparisons to U.S. median costs as well. That way, you can determine if your potential new home is affordable compared to your current lifestyle. Use the calculator to run a cost of living comparison by city to determine how much more or less income you’ll need to maintain your current standard of living." (moneygeek.com)
-
Occupational Employment Statistics Homepageby U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. (Includes national and metropolitan wage estimates)
-
Salary.comIncludes a "Salary Wizard" that provides a benchmark for salaries by industry and zip code.
-
Wages by Area and Occupationby U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.
HR Career Resources
-
Vault Online Career Library (Firsthand) This link opens in a new windowOnce you register for Vault, at the search box simply write HUMAN RESOURCES, you will find career guides and internship information
Articles
-
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window An intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos, and more.
-
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Business Source Ultimate is a collection of popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications, including the Harvard Business Review. Business Source Premier covers accounting, banking, finance, international business, management, marketing, real estate, regional studies, sales, trade and technology.
-
Vocational and Career Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and public libraries. The collection provides full text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for over 600 journals. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.
Recommended Books
*Other print books available at HBLL, 1st floor, south HF 5549.5 I6
-
-
-
Case in Point: Complete Case Interview Preparation
by
Call Number: HD69.C6C645 -
-
Powerful Phrases for Successful Interviews
by
The job market is awash with qualified applicants. Yet employers rarely select based solely on merit. Instead, most hiring decisions are gut-level evaluations made in the first few minutes of an interview. What people say determines who lands a job and who does not. Hiring expert Tony Beshara knows the words that trigger “yes” in the minds of employers—and in his handy new book, he arms candidates with hundreds of ready-to-use responses to even the toughest interview questions. Covering entry-level to executive positions and encompassing all industries, this quick-reference guide propels job seekers through every stage of the process. Readers learn power phrases to: • Get their foot in the door • Clearly communicate their skills, strengths, and experience—and why they would be a perfect fit • Make a great impression at the crucial opening and close • Score high on the likability factor • Dispel lingering concerns about work history • Give follow-up emails real impact • Negotiate a strong job offer • And more After all, when it's time to choose between a candidate who is perfect on paper and one who is persuasive in person, there's no contest. Powerful Phrases for Successful Interviews gives you the right words to make the difference every time.
ISBN: 9780814433553Publication Date: 2014-02-15 -
Mastering the Job Interview and Winning the Money Game by MASTERING THE JOB INTERVIEW AND WINNING THE MONEY GAME is for every job hunter who wants to ace the interview…to turn that interview into a job offer…and to maximize the salary potential. Learn how to beat the competition and negotiate the best salary, whether you're looking for $20,000 or $500,000. This book will teach you to gain more power in the job interview, find out who your competitors are and how you stack up, use the follow-up checklist to turn interviews into offers, make reference checking work in your favor, communicate effectively during salary negotiation, start out on the right foot in your new job. MASTERING THE JOB INTERVIEW AND WINNING THE MONEY GAME is based on the highly successful methodology used at The Five O'Clock Club, where the average job hunter finds a new satisfying job in half the time of those who are not using our program.
ISBN: 9781285753508Publication Date: 2013-01-01
