Print Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
These resources are available in the Music and Dance Library Reading Room (north end of HBLL 4th floor).
-
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance
by
With over 2,500 entries covering all aspects of dance, this unique dictionary is the only one of its kind available. It is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of dance in paperback, ranging from classical ballet to the cutting edge of modern dance. It provides all the information necessary for dance fans to navigate the current diverse dance scene.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1585 .C72 2000ISBN: 0198601069 -
International Encyclopedia of Dance
by
With nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, the Encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1585 .I58 1998ISBN: 019509462X -
Dictionnaire de la danse
by
La danse en Occident, de la Renaissance au XXe siècle En 4 000 entrées, ce dictionnaire rend compte de la diversité de l’aventure chorégraphique et fait une large place à la danse baroque et classique, ainsi qu’à la danse contemporaine et au modern jazz. Il prend également en compte la dimension cinématographique de la danse. Ce dictionnaire est composé de trois parties : - Le monde de la danse (chorégraphes, interprètes, compositeurs, librettistes, décorateurs, peintres et plasticiens, auteurs de traités, pédagogues, institutions et compagnies, réalisateurs de cinéma…) ; - Les œuvres chorégraphiques (à la scène et à l’écran) ; - Les mots de la danse (concepts esthétiques, danses de société, genres chorégraphiques, styles et courants, notations du mouvement, termes de métier…).
Call Number: MUS REF Quarto MD 1585 .D512 L4 1999ISBN: 2035113180
Dance Research Guide and Catalog
-
Research in Dance: A Guide to Resources
by
A reference to dance information in both electronic and print form, covering all forms of dance as well as activities that include teaching, writing reviews and essays, or conducting studies in dance kinesiology. All types of sources are cited, including encyclopedias, film and video catalogs, manuals, indexes, serial publications, and sources for book and performance reviews. The focus is on English-language sources.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1594 .X1 B65 1994ISBN: 0816190658
This research guide is a great first step for research into many dance sub disciplines. It will provide you with citations to other important resources for a large variety of topics.
-
G.K. Hall Bibliographic Guide to Dance by Latest issue 2001. Issued in two vols. per year. The G.K. Hall Bibliographic Guide to Dance is a comprehensive annual subject bibliography representing items cataloged by the Dance Division of The New York Public Library. This publication is also available as part of the CD-ROM: Dance on disc. Issued as 25th- supplement to: New York Public Library. Dance Collection. Dictionary catalog of the Dance Collection.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1594 .X1 N482ISBN: 0783821727
Online Dance Encyclopedias
-
Oxford Reference Online - Performing Arts This link opens in a new window
-
MusRef: An Online Guide to Print and Internet Resources for Music and Dance MusRef is a site devoted to music and dance bibliography and reference. The site consists of five main features: An online bibliography of music and dance bibliographies and reference sources (both print and online), A blog devoted to music and dance bibliography and reference, Basic introductions to reference tools intended to help students understand how reference sources can guide them to appropriate research materials, Links to unpublished bibliographies, A corresponding Facebook page designed as a forum for interested librarians, scholars, and students. At present the bibliography includes more than 7,300 bibliographies and reference sources (both print and online), approximately 1,880 of which are annotated with critiques on use, coverage, organization, and pros and cons (click here for guidelines on writing critiques).
-
American Ballet Theatre's Ballet Dictionary A unique interactive resource designed to bring dance to the Web and make it accessible to everyone. Dover Publications has graciously allowed the use of 170 terms from the Technical Manual and Dictionary of Classical Ballet, which are then demonstrated by ABT Company dancers.
Other Encyclopedias
-
Wikipedia Wikipedia is a free, collaboratively edited, and multilingual Internet encyclopedia supported by the non-profit Wikimedia Foundation. Its 22 million articles (over 4 million in English alone) have been written collaboratively by volunteers around the world. This resource is great for gathering background information that will have to be independently substantiated using other sources. Wikipedia has the potential to be a fantastic starting point for research, but requires additional work on the part of the researcher to critically evaluate the accuracy, currency, and possible bias(es) of the information presented there.
-
World Biographical Information System (WBIS) Online WBIS Online is the most comprehensive biographical database available, providing short biographical information on 5.49 Million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present.
-
Classical Music Reference Library (ASP) This link opens in a new window Classical Music Reference Library brings together more than 30,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker\\'s Dictionary of Music, Baker\\'s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker\\'s Student Encyclopedia of Music.
-
African American Music Reference (ASP) This link opens in a new window African American Music Reference from Alexander Street Press offers comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
-
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window Indexes the full text of the revised second edition of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the authoritative encyclopedia for all aspects of music. Includes links to digital sound, images, and related sites. Updated quarterly and annually. We have 10 simultaneous users.
-
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online (ASP) This link opens in a new window The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. It includes more than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world.