Description
Course Description: Critical analysis of dance as a cultural and expressive art form, studied through lecture, reading, research, multimedia presentations, and practical movement experiences.
Dance in Video (and Audio)
-
Dance in Video (ASP) This link opens in a new window Dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
-
OntheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window On the Boards provides access to a growing catalog of 45 full-length performance films by the world's leading contemporary artists. Featuring dance, theater and multi-disciplinary works.
-
Qwest.tv This link opens in a new window Qwest TV now has dance content! Qwest TV is “The world’s first subscription video-on-demand (SVOD) service dedicated to jazz and beyond. Concerts, documentaries, archives, interviews.” Qwest TV includes jazz, soul, funk, world music, classical music and dance.
-
BYU Library Streaming Media This link opens in a new window Course or BYU streaming videos for current faculty, staff and students.
-
BroadwayHD (ASP) This link opens in a new window The library package includes 19 Broadway plays, including a few musicals.
-
Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window Site requires individual accounts within the larger BYU account. To find dance videos, search "youth ballet" or "dance project"
-
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window Over 200 live full length productions – including Digital Theatre’s own recordings alongside collections such as BBC, Royal Shakespeare Company, Broadway Digital Archive, Royal Opera House, London Symphony Orchestra, Shakespeare’s Globe etc… And including audio radio-plays from LA Theatre Works. Over 140 in-depth interviews with industry professionals including actors, directors as well as all backstage staff: lighting technicians, fight coordinators, stage managers et al.
-
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window The world's leading Performing Arts DVD distributor brings you an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and artists perform on demand!
-
Swank Streaming Video This link opens in a new window Includes feature films, documentaries, and international films.
-
International Folk Dance (Audio)
Audio files of music from around the world for folk dancing that has long been out of print. Most of it consists of 78RPM transcriptions. Many of the vinyl recordings are actually transcribed from older 78s.
-
UBUweb Dance
UbuWeb Dance is presented in partnership with and is largely curated by Contemporary Dance Video Database -
Jacob's Pillow
An ever-growing collection of dance videos filmed at Jacob’s Pillow from the 1930s to today.
-
Jacob's Pillow Post-Show Talks (via YouTube)
Post-Show Talks are held on Fridays in the Ted Shawn Theatre and Thursdays in the Doris Duke Theatre and offer an opportunity for audiences to gain more insight into performances directly from the artists themselves.
-
Videos to accompany "Dance Instruction Manuals"
by
75 video clips that illustrate portions of the Dance Instruction Manuals, selected from two events: "Society Dances and Parlor Amusements in The Great Hall," on October 15, 1997; and on April 14, 1998. All time periods are represented in these videos.
Useful information
Performing Arts Librarian
Get Help
Music & Dance Help Desk
4432 HBLL - Level 4
Music & Dance Web Page
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm
Phone: 
(801) 422-1725
E-mail: music_reference@byu.edu
