The coverage of the book includes ferrous and non-ferrous metals, polymeric materials, and ceramics and composites. The text first presents the terminology, and then proceeds to covering the test methods. The next nine chapters discuss the properties of various engineering materials, including copper, magnesium, nickel, and titanium. Next, the book presents the comparative properties table and materials index. The book will be of great use to both students and practitioners of engineering, especially materials engineering.
This resource allows you to search by properties, types, keywords. You can perform basic searches without registering. To search on multiple criteria (advanced search) you will need to register (free). Other functionality is available for a fee.
This resource contains "Yellow Card" safety and quality information for various materials that have been UL tested. Search polymers by regional availability, generic symbols or trade names and manufacturer. You will need to sign up for a free account to use this resource.
The classes of materials described in this handbook are as follows: (i) metals and their alloys; (ii) semiconductors; (iii) superconductors; (iv) magnetic materials; (v) dielectrics and insulators; (vi) miscellaneous electrical materials (e.g., resistors, thermocouples, and industrial electrode materials); (vii) ceramics, refractories, and glasses; (viii) polymers and elastomers; (ix) minerals, ores, and gemstones; (x) rocks and meteorites; (xi) soils and fertilizers; (xii) timbers and woods; (xiii) cement and concrete; (xiv) building materials; (xv) fuels, propellants, and explosives; xxxviii Introduction (xvi) composites; (xvii) gases; (xviii) liquids.
polymeric materials and composite materials. It contains a section with thought-provoking questions as well as a series of useful appendices. Tabulated data in the body of the text, and the appendices, have been selected to increase the value of Materials for engineering as a permanent source of reference to readers throughout their professional lives.
principles and materials properties of engineering importance. It is intended as a general source of typical materials property data, useful for first pass materials selection in process design problems.
- enabling them to make better decisions for materials selection for engineering designs. While providing an understanding of metallurgical structures and how they relate to the mechanical properties of engineering alloys, the text also offers information on how various heat treatments and processing techniques cause changes in the structure and property of alloys. In addition, students will find some impoortant numerical computation practice relating to metals and alloys.
and applications of various classes of metals, polymers, ceramics and composites. It aims to simplify the materials selection process and show how to lower materials and manufacturing costs, drawing on such sources as vendor supplied and quality control test data
Materials include ferrous and nonferrous metals, plastics, elastomers, ceramics, woods, composites, chemicals, minerals, textiles, fuels, foodstuffs and natural plant and animal substances --more than 13,000 in all. Properties are expressed in both U.S. customary and metric units and a thorough index eases finding details on each and every material.
Introduced in 1929 and often known simply as "Brady's," this comprehensive, one-volume, 1244 page encyclopedia of materials is intended for executives, managers, supervisors, engineers, and technicians, in engineering, manufacturing, marketing, purchasing and sales as well as educators and students.
This contains information also relevant to those who develop and market materials useful for these products.The work contains an extensive array of property and performance data, and explains fabrication tradeoffs.
The book invites its readers to distinguish between what is possible in principle for a certain process (as determined by physical law); what is possible in practice (the production method as determined by industrial state-of-the-art); and what is possible for a certain supplier.