It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Check the boxes next to each database to run a multidatabase search. Enter search terms below in search box.
Major Chemistry Databases
SciFinder (Web Edition)Alternate title: Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder). First time users must complete an online registration with CAS. After you submit a registration request, CAS will send you an email message with instructions for completing the registration process. During registration, you must provide an email address that ends in byu.edu to be authenticated.
Web-based version of SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more!
Recommended web browsers:
Microsoft Internet Explorer, Versions 6.x and 7.x
Mozilla Firefox, Version 2.x
Apple Safari 3
Reaxys (Elsevier)Reaxys is a unique web-based chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data, navigated and displayed via an actionable interface.
Web of Science (ISI)The Web of Science Core Collection accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 9,300 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, cited work, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic. Updated weekly 1974
Scopus (Elsevier)Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
SynOneSynOne offers search, browse, and discovery options across selected publications from the Thieme Chemistry portfolio (journals, reference works, and encyclopedias) and the results are linked via a systematic and unique hierarchy of compound classes, which has been put together by chemists for chemists.
SynOne is a discovery tool which can help you find relevant and reliable high-quality publications on organic synthesis and which will present your results in context.
SynOne is owned by the Thieme Group, a leading scientific and medical publisher headquartered in Stuttgart, Germany.
Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925 (Gale)This archive of documents covers one of the most vibrant and creative periods in scientific research and discovery, the long nineteenth century. The modern researcher can exploit the more than 3.5 million pages of journals, books, reports, and personal documents to explore the rapid acceleration of scientific, technical, and medical knowledge, tracing the changes from the Newtonian world to that of Einstein, from the horse to the automobile, from medical treatments based on humors and bloodletting to antiseptics and epidemiology. This archive covers every aspect of nineteenth-century science: electricity and electromagnetism, mathematics and engineering, astronomy and astrophysics, color theory and the theory of natural selection, geology and mineralogy, chemistry and medicine. This period was also considered the last great age of discovery, as explorers charted the interiors of the Americas, Asia, Africa, Australia, and the Arctic and Antarctic regions. The documents collected represent the most theoretical pursuits as well as practical applications and popular science. In Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO).
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
MEDLINE (PUBMED)Alternate title: PubMed. MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 25 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. MEDLINE includes literature published from 1966 to present, and selected coverage of literature prior to that period. Currently, citations from more than 5,200 worldwide journals in about 40 languages are added to PubMed 7 days a week.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
NO systematic downloading.
Use of the database is for personal, non-commercial use only.
EmbaseEmbase covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus.
DIPPRAlternate title: Design Institute for Physical Properties (DIPPR). Experimental and property data for over 1600 commercially important chemicals and substances. Published by the BYU DIPPR Thermophysical Properties Laboratory.
CAS Source Index (CASSI) search toolThe CAS Source Index (CASSI) search tool is a web-based resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. This new tool has been created as a free-of-charge resource that will enable researchers to confirm journal titles and journal title abbreviations in an easily accessible electronic format.
Chemical Engineering & Biotechnology [see Science/Maps Reference Desk]
American Chemical Society Web PageGeneral Web page of the American Chemical Society. Provides links to other chemistry-related Web sites. To search journals, see "American Chemical Society Journals and Backfiles."
American Chemical Society Journal ArchivesAlternate title: Journal Archives (ACS). A database for American Chemical Society journals. The database covers all of the more than 30 journals and periodicals of the American Chemicals Society. Full-text is available for all ACS periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue of each periodical to the present.
Since 1921, Organic Syntheses has provided the chemistry community with annual collections of detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. Some procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds of interest, while other procedures illustrate important synthetic methods with general utility. Each procedure is written in considerably more detail as compared to typical experimental procedures in other journals, and each reaction and all characterization data has been carefully "checked" for reproducibility in the laboratory of a member of the Board of Editors.
Get Reference Help
Have a Question?
Search to see if your question has already been answered!
Find Magazines and Journals at BYU
Search here to find electronic or print journals at the HBLL.