Book and Media Orders

To request the library order a book, journal, video, microfilm, or other format of material :

Contact your Librarian: Rachel_Wadham@byu.edu

Video

Education in Video (ASP) This link opens in a new window
Education in Video is the first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Upon completion, the collection will contain more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Academic Video Online (ASP) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online allows users to cross-search all of the video published by Alexander Street Press. Cross-search American History in Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video, Dance in Video, Education in Video, Ethnographic Video Online, Filmakers Library Online, Nursing Education in Video, Opera in Video, Theatre in Video, World History in Video.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 20,000 streaming videos
Public performance rights are included.

HBLL Video Resources

Assessing the Quality of Journals

Assessing the Quality of Scholarly Communication
An outline of Scholarly Metrics to use in judging the quality of journals

Evaluating Journals ACRL Toolkit

Journal Publication Aids

Cabell's Directories This link opens in a new window
Cabell Directories includes directories for the following areas: * Accounting * Economics and Finance * Management * Marketing * Curriculum and Methods * Educational Psychology and Administration * Psychology The goal of these directories is to help professors, graduate students and researchers to publish their manuscripts. To achieve this goal the Cabell's strives to maintain current information on the addresses, phone, fax, e-mail and websites for a large number of journals. Also, Cabell's seeks to provide information on publication guidelines, review information and circulation data.
Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Ulrichsweb is the online version of Ulrich's Periodical Directory. It contains a quarter-million records (journals, newsletters, newspapers, etc.) that are published world-wide. Each record provides publishing information, price, state date, where it is indexed, email links, etc. Updated daily.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
2002-present. JCR presents quantifiable statistical citation data that provides a systematic, objective way to evaluate the world's leading journals and their impact and influence in the global research community. Covers more than 7,000 of the world's most highly cited, peer-reviewed journals in approximately 200 disciplines. Includes Science Edition and Social Science Edition.
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI): Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanitites Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 8,500 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, citedwork, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic.
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

SCImago Journal & Country Rankings
Offers journal rankings and the SJR and H-index

Free Idex and Factor Calculators

These freely available calculators can help you compute index and factors used to judge the scholarly influence of journals and researchers. The numbers computed here are akin to the proprietary “impact factors.” By computing numerous indexes and factors you can also get a better idea at the true impact a work has.

Eigenfactor
Eigenfactor.org® is an academic research project designed for evaluating the influence of scholarly periodicals and for mapping the structure of academic research
Publish or Perish
Publish or Perish is designed to help individual academics to present their case for research impact to its best advantage.
Google Scholar Metrics

World Cat Discovery

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Unified catalog of research libraries and public libraries throughout the world. Includes books, serials, sound recordings, data files, musical scores, and visual materials. Search using Library Catalog commands. Updated daily. Interlibrary loan database. Look up book, and order it from interlibrary loan. Formerly FirstSearch.

Impact Factors

Impact Factors are proprietary numbers generated only by ISI, they can only be found in the database Journal Citation Reports (ISI). For other accessible and freely available numbers see the information above.

What are impact factors?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Impact_factor

Differences in impact factor across fields and over time by: Benjamin M. Althouse, Jevin D. West, Carl T. Bergstrom, Theodore Bergstrom Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology, Vol. 60, No. 1. (2009), pp. 27-34.

Why the impact factor of journals should not be used for evaluating research? by Per O Seglen, professor

Institute for Studies in Research and Higher Education (NIFU) Hegdehaugsveien 31 N-0352 Oslo Norway

http://www.bmj.com/cgi/content/full/314/7079/497

European Association of Science Editors Statement on the innapropaite use of impcat factors:

http://www.ease.org.uk/statements/EASE_statement_IFs_final.pdf

Open Access Textbooks

K-12 Open Textbooks & Open Educational Resources: Teacher Education Resources
This guide lists open textbook and OER sites for grades K-12 and pre-service teachers

Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals
Discover open access journals by discipline including education.
Scholarly Communications at BYU

Subject Guide

Rachel Wadham

Email Me

Contact:

1222 Harold B. Lee Library

(801) 422-6780

Subjects: Education

Education: Faculty