Subject Guides: European Studies: Articles

Indexes for European Studies

Click on individual links to search within a specific database.
Within CSA or EBSCO, click on "Databases" to search multiple indexes simultaneously.

Recommended Indexes for European Languages & Literatures

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations about literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Linguistics/Language Behavior Abstracts -- LLBA (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window 1973+ Indexes and abstracts articles from 2,000 U.S. and foreign periodicals in language use, linguistics, and related disciplines. Updated twice a year.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.
Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft This link opens in a new window BDSL is an index to studies on German literature and language (all periods) covers the publications from 1985 to the present. A paper edition going back to 1945 is also available in Humanities Reference at HUM REF PT 3 .B5x.

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
Hum Ref PT 3 .B5x

Klapp, Bibliographie d'histoire littéraire française
Hum Ref PQ 105 .X1 K27

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1967+ ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Resource Information Center databases, contains indexing and abstracts from thousands of research and technical reports in the Resources In Education Index (RIE) and from more than 750 education and education-related journals in the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). In addition, selected full text articles are available for thousands of ERIC digest records. Updated quarterly.
Iter - Resources in European Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window Indexes citations of articles in over 600 journals covering the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

Recommended Indexes for European History and Politics

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1955+ Indexes and abstracts scholarly articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window 1975+ Indexes and abstracts 1,000 journals in political science and its complementary fields. Includes articles, dissertations, and book reviews. Updated monthly.
PAIS International (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The PAIS International database contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.

Bibliographie annuelle de l'histoire de France
Soc Sci Ref DC 38 .X1 B53

Sponza, Italy
Soc Sci Ref DG 467 .X1 S66

Iter - Resources in European Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window Indexes citations of articles in over 600 journals covering the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

Oesterreichische Historische Bibliographie The Austrian Historical Bibliography (with search interface in German) is a project documenting writings on Austrian history that is parallel to the online Jahresberichte fur deutsche Geschichte for German history. Secondary literature since 1945 is listed for all periods of Austrian history.

Oakley, Scandinavian History, 1520-1970: A List of Books & Articles in English
Soc Sci Ref DL 5 .X1 S32

General & Multidisciplinary Indexes

Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI): Web of Science This link opens in a new window A citation index for the Arts & Humanities. Database coverage includes the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and indexes individually selected relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1975 to the present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. By logging into Google Scholar from off-campus, the library holdings will be integrated into your search results allowing you to quickly find the full-text of scholarly materials.
Digizeitschriften This link opens in a new window Essentially a German parallel to JSTOR, a searchable and browseable collection of journals with facsimile images.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.

Electronic Journals Library The Electronic Journal Library offers fast, structured and standardized access to scientific and academic full-text journals. At the moment, it contains over 21,000 titles, among them around 2500 online-only journals, covering all subjects. Over 8,000 journals can be read free-of-charge. Additionally, the participating libraries offer full-text access to the respective journals they subscribe to.

International Bibliography of Periodical Literature (IBZ) This link opens in a new window Alternate title: International Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur (IBZ). 1989+ Indexes international periodicals in all scholarly disciplines. Updated twice a year.
Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Indexes the full-text of over 200 scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window Alternate title: Research Library (ProQuest). This multi-disciplinary database includes more than 4,050 titles - nearly 2,800 in full text - from 1971 forward.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science Core Collection accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 9,300 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, cited work, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic. Updated weekly 1974
Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.

Newspaper Indexes

Factiva This link opens in a new window Global news and business information service including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires, The Wall Street Journal, and thousands of other national and international newspapers in multiple languages. Also provides financial market data and company information.
No Systematic Downloading. Factiva may not be used for data mining, text mining, or trend analysis functions.
Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985) (Gale) This link opens in a new window Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper, 1785-1985, is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. This current database begins its coverage in 1990.

Newslink Newslink provides links to newspapers, magazines, radio, and TV networks both domestic and foreign.

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This ProQuest database provides full text of more than 700 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title.
CRL's Foreign Newspapers Database This link opens in a new window CRL's Foreign Newspapers Database provides access to The Center for Research Libraries' collection of more than 6,000 newspaper titles published outside the United States. Holdings from the various Area Study Microform Projects are included.

Database Search Tips (MIT Libraries)

Database search tips and tricks include Boolean operators, truncation, keywords, subjects, fields, phrases and stop words. Quick tab-by-tab reference from MIT.

Journal Information

Find publication or subscription information about specific journals or periodicals.

MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
1970+ Lists over 3700 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics and folklore, supplying addresses, publication information and guidelines for submission. Updated annually.
Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Online version of Ulrich's Periodical Directory. Provides publication & subscription information, indexing and abstracting information, article submission & advertising guidelines, addresses, etc.

RefWorks

You can easily input (and format) journal articles, books, websites, and other resources for your paper !

Use

RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that helps you collect and organize citations and access them from any computer with a Web connection.

RefWorks will even take your list and generate a bibliography of references, using APA, MLA, or any other format you select.

When gathering records from other databases, look for instructions for how to directly export your records to RefWorks.