Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The tabs above offer various types of resources for your research in iconography, including dictionaries and encyclopedias of specific symbols, books about symbols in art, journal articles, image databases, websites, and important print indexes with examples of works depicting objects used as symbols. Be sure to consult other related subject guides in the areas of Art & Art History, Classical Mythology, Classical Studies, etc.
Jan van Eyck. The Arnolfini Portrait, 1434.
Guides to the Study of Iconography
Dictionaries of Symbols
Oxford Art Online Comprehensive encyclopedia of art, with authoritative and comprehensive reference sources for all visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, design, and decorative arts. Includes links to images from libraries and museums. Contains: Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford, and The Dictionary of Art Terms. We have 8 simultaneous users.
Chevalier and Gheerbrant. A Dictionary of Symbols. 1994. HumRef GR 931 .C4413 1994
Hall. Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols. 1974 HumRef N 7560 .H34
Jobes. Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore, and Symbols. 1961. 3 vols. HumRef GR 35 .J6
Liungman. Dictionary of Symbols. 1991. HumRef BL 603 .L5413 1991
McLerran. Old Age in Myth and Symbol: A Cultural Dictionary. 1991. HumRef PN56 .O4 M34 1991
Moon. An Encyclopedia of Archetypal Symbolism. 1991. HumRef BL 603 .A72 1991
Click on the Live Chat box below:
Humanities Help Desk