MT 68 - improvisation
MT 68 .A32 -- Jamey Aebersold Jazz series
MT 239 - jazz piano instruction
MT 1366 - jazz ensembles
ML 3506 - ML 3509 - jazz history and criticism
For individual instruments, use a keyword search. For example: Jazz Improvisation and Bassoon
Jazz Improvisation Using Simple Melodic Embellishment by 
The Real Jazz Pedagogy Book by Why reference books? topical summaries help you generate ideas / bibliographies point you to previous research
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz by
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz is the largest, most comprehensive and accurate reference work on jazz ever published, putting the world of jazz at your fingertips. Includes bibliographies and discographies.
The Penguin Jazz Guide by
Full of fascinating updated biographical information, new quotes and interviews and, of course, highly opinionated and wittily trenchant critical reviews, the result is an endlessly browsable companion that will prove required reading for aficionados and jazz novices alike.
Historical Dictionary of Jazz by
Covers the history of Jazz through a chronology, an introductory essay, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1,500 cross-referenced entries on significant jazz performers, band leaders, bands, venues, record labels, recordings, and the different styles of jazz.
A Biographical Guide to the Great Jazz and Pop Singers by
Here is the most extensive biographical and critical survey of jazz singers ever written, as well as an essential guide to the Great American Songbook and those who shaped the way it has been sung.
Jazz music research can involve historical, archival, ethnographic and even virtual methods.
Need ideas?
To come up with research questions for your project, ask yourself:
Music & Dance Help Desk
4432 HBLL - Level 4
Music & Dance Web Page
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm
Phone: 801.422.1725
E-mail: music_reference@byu.edu
