Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

JFC Harrison Collection: Home

Guide to the JFC Harrison Collection at L. Tom Perry Special Collections

About the JFC Harrison Collection

 

J.F.C. Harrison (John Fletcher Clews Harrison) is a contemporary British social historian who has published many books on Victorian England and 19th century social movements. He served as professor of history of the University of Wisconsin and University of Sussex. In 1987 the Mormon History Association (an organization of scholars and enthusiasts interested in the history of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints) held their conference at Oxford University where Mr. Harrison was the Tanner Lecturer. At that time, Mr. Harrison showed an interest in selling his library to the Harold B. Lee Library, partly because of his association with Dr. Malcolm Thorp, a BYU history professor, and also because of the BYU Victorian Collection (and other related 19th century holdings from and about England). The J.F.C. Harrison Collection contains over 5,400 items. Most of the items are books published in England during the 19th century which cover social conditions, history, religion, politics and government. The collection also contains a number of pamphlets and serials.

Curator

Profile Photo
Maggie Kopp
Contact:
1130 HBLL
(801) 422-6276

Visit Special Collections