Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BYU Library Catalog (ScholarSearch)
Search engine for books, journals, articles, databases, and other electronic materials and information. The search box is at the top of the page. Carry out a simple keyword search or used the advanced search options for more refined and precise results. Alphabetic browsing available by Title, Subject headings, Call numbers, Genres, Journals, and Creators.
Can't find an item in BYU's catalog? Look in WorldCat! WorldCat allows you to search the collections of libraries around the world to find items you need. WorldCat is available as a standalone website or through the HBLL's list of databases.
y accessing WorldCat through the HBLL's web page, you can automatically see if BYU has an item that appears in your WorldCat search. This allows you to connect with the HBLL's Interlibrary Loan service with the click of a mouse and request the item you're looking for. If you're on campus you are automatically routed to BYU's version of WorldCat when you go to www.worldcat.org. If you're off campus you'll need to sign in using your BYU Net ID and password to get to BYU's version of WorldCat.
Interlibrary Loan Services
Once you identify books from other libraries, you can order them online, through Interlibrary Loan Services. Fill out an online request for the materials, and be sure to allow enough time for arrival. Physical books take about a week to arrive while electronic materials are available within a few days after your request. Please note that, in addition to books, you can also request Articles, Book Chapters, Media Items (videos, audio recordings, etc), Conference Papers, Theses & Dissertations, Microfilms, and Newspapers through ILL.
Theses & Dissertations
CRL's Foreign Dissertations Database (Advanced Search) This link opens in a new windowThrough this growing database, the Center for Research Libraries provides access to over 800,000 foreign doctoral dissertations from more than 90 countries and over 1200 institutions. Search by author, title, institution name, the year the dissertation was defended, language, subject/keywords, and/or translated title.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1861 - Current. With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.
Electronic Theses and Dissertations - BYU This link opens in a new windowElectronic versions of works submitted to the BYU School of Graduate Studies