Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Patents (Worldwide) This link opens in a new window
Provides searching for over 30 million patents worldwide and links to the European, Japanese, and World Intellectual Property Organization databases.
FreePatentsOnline This link opens in a new window
This is a free patent searching site with PDF downloading, world patent searching, alerts, and other account functions.
Google Patent Search (Advanced) This link opens in a new window
Search U.S. and International patents by keyword, title, number, inventor, type, date, assignee, etc.
Official Land Patent Records Site This link opens in a new window
Official Land Patent Records Site provides live database and image access to more than two million federal land title records for the Eastern Public Land States, dating back to 1820. Search for land title records by patent number, patentee name, warrantee name, county, section number, township number/direction, range number/direction, and/or meridian.
Derwent (part of Thomson Scientific)
Supplier of patent and scientific information. Includes the Patent Reference Center (Introduction to Patents, Support Material and Training, samples search, search tips and other valuable information
Patent Information including United States patent, European patents and patent applications, PCT application data from the world Intellectual Property Office, Patent Abstracts of Japan, INPADOC family and legal status data and the IBM Technical Disclosure Bulletins and access to business research about patent applicants.
Patent cooperation Treaty (PCT) System
Newsletters, Press Releases, Conferences Information, Forms and Legal texts.
The Patent Information Users Group (PIUG)
Newsletter, Discussion list server and search tips and information on patent database vendor and producer developments.
Richard W. McKiney Engineering Library Patent Resources
Patent Depository Library. Includes: Patent & Trademark Information, Patent Searching Tutorial and a Trademark Searching Tutorial and links to additional information.
STO'S Internet Patent Search System.
Global Patent/Innovation Quality - Measure, Apply, Profit.
Includes the Global Patent Index (GPI)
Information directory [microform] United States. Patent and Trademark Office.
Location: U.S. Government Documents - Microform C 21.28/2:
Patent Searching for Librarians and Inventors by
Presents basic information on patents and their relation to copyrights and trademarks. Profiles seven steps to searching U.S. patents. Appendixes include "Thirty Often Asked Questions and Their Answers for the Amateur Inventor", patent libraries, and informative documents published by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.
Call Number: T 210 .W44 1995 Floor 2–S, Harold B. Lee Library Bookshelves
Search for Patents
Patents & Trademarks (U.S. PTO) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the U.S. Patents and Trademark Office website and the Patent and Trademark Depository Library Program.
The Lens This link opens in a new window
Alternate title: Lens. The Lens serves nearly all of the patent documents in the world as open, annotatable digital public goods that are integrated with scholarly and technical literature along with regulatory and business data. The Lens allows document collections, aggregations, and analyses to be shared, annotated, and embedded to forge open mapping of the world of knowledge-directed innovation. Ultimately, this will restore the role of the patent system as a teaching resource to inspire and inform entrepreneurs, citizens and policy makers.
Books about Patents
Protecting Your Ideas by
Intellectual property law is currently exploding, as demonstrated by the growth of technology transfer offices in universities. More and more scientists, companies, and institutions are rushing to secure intellectual property rights for their ideas and inventions. This process frustrates many people; patent laws are constantly changing, and most books about them are either overly technical or boring. Protecting Your Ideas: The Inventor's Guide to Patents is a succinct, straightforward guide to the system. This guide presents the steps involved in obtaining patent protection for inventions. It is easy to read and brimming with essential information and advice compounded from FAQs posed by the author's academic and industrial clientele. The text includes tips, warnings, and examples that guide the reader through the invention process so patent rights are not jeopardized. Checklists and other helpful information are provided to assist the inventor preparing to enter the patent process. The book includes valuable resource information and business guidance to protect the inventor from consumer fraud that is sometimes associated with the patent process. Protecting and Idea is a must read for every engineer, scientist, or amateur inventor. Key Features * Simple, easy-to-read format demystifies the patent process * Numerous example patents help to illustrate the issues involved * Provides an overview of the types of intellectual property protection * Incorporates up-to-date information about U.S. patent laws * Advises inventors about the do's and don'ts of patenting * Includes useful resources for helping inventors safeguard their ideas
Publication Date: 1998-10-08
How to Invent and Protect Your Invention by
<b>A straightforward guide to inventing, patenting, and technology commercialization for scientists and engineers</b><p>Although chemists, physicists, biologists, polymer scientists, and engineers in industry are involved in potentially patentable work, they are often under-prepared for this all-important field. This book provides a clear, jargon-free, and comprehensive overview of the patenting process tailored specifically to the needs of scientists and engineers, including:</p><ul> <li>Requirements for a patentable invention</li> <li>How to invent</li> <li>New laws created by President Obama′s 2011 America Invents Act</li> <li>The process of applying for and obtaining a patent in the U.S. and in foreign countries</li> <li>Commercializing inventions and the importance of innovation</li></ul><p>Based on lecture notes refined over twenty-five years at The University of Akron, <i>How to Invent and Protect Your Invention</i> contains practical advice, colorful examples, and a wealth of personal experience from the authors.</p>
Publication Date: 2012-08-28
Utah | USPTO - United States Patent and Trademark Office
Utah | USPTO - United States Patent and Trademark Office
Utah residents have access to a host of unique resources and assistance in their state. Expand the categories below to see what is available to you. Additionally, our Rocky Mountain Regional Office provides additional support and resources for customers in the Rocky Mountain region of the United States.