Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Step 1: Find Background Information
These sources can guide you to general overviews of policies and help you find dates, names, and major players. Use the reference articles to better search for journal, newspaper and magazine articles as well as help find primary source material.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. Search or browse by topic and/or issue; 1991-present.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
TOPICsearch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
2,500 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled periodicals collection, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, government information and EBSCO's Current Issues database
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (formerly Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center) draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Thomson Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources, including selections from Bioethics for Students. The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics--the facts, as well as the arguments, of each topic's proponents and detractors. OVIC's unique features include Topic Overviews -- frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets -- and exclusive electronic access to Thomson Gale's Information Plus reference series of statistics, government data, information on legislation and more.
Step 2: Find Books
Books provide in-depth information. Find books with the Lee Library Catalog or search within eBooks with netLibrary, ebrary, PsycBOOKS and Google Books. (Google Books will NOT allow you to see the full book. For the full book search the Lee Library catalog or use Interlibrary Loan.)
BYU Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Library catalog keyword search.
APA PsycBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
PsycBook includes full text books from APA publications and archival works from other publishers, chapters from authored volumes and the Encyclopedia of Psychology. Items in PsychBooks are searchable through the Lee Library Catalog and in PsycINFO.
ProQuest Ebooks (ebrary) This link opens in a new window
Access to over 220,000 books, with concentrations in business and economics, computers and technology, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
EBSCO Electronic Books This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's ebook collection contains over 100,000 ebooks on a wide variety of subsjects.
Google Book Search This link opens in a new window
Google Book Search searches a growing "database" of digitized books with access to Full Text View, Sample Page View, and Snippet Views, depending on the title.
Step 3: Find Newspapers, Magazines and Historical Content
Find Newspapers and Magazines
You can search newspapers and magazines to find quotes or search for opponents and allies. Search for background material first so that you know the correct dates and names.
To find newspaper articles prior to the 1990s search Historical Newspapers.
Find Historical Information, Academic Articles and Primary Sources
Look for academic articles, books & book chapters.
Look for primary source material such as documents, letters and images.
Step 4: Find Government Documents
After finding names and dates you can more readily search government documents.
Search for U.S. Congress proceedings, hearings, debates & documents
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis Congressional Hearings (1789-present).
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Hein Online includes over 1,200 periodicals, All U.S. Treaties and Agreements, Every published U.S. Supreme Court decision as it appears in the official U.S. Reports, U.S. Federal Register Library, U.S. Treaties, legal classics, and more.
GPO Access (Government Printing Office) This link opens in a new window
Alternate title: Government Printing Office (GPO) Access, FDSys (Government Publications). Includes searchable government publications from all branches of the Federal Government, such as the Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Record, Federal Register, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, GAO Reports, congressional bills, hearings, reports, etc.
Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
Alternate title: U. S. Congressional Serial Set. The bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. With information from 1817-1994, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 13,800 volumes and over 12 million pages.
Read and trace bills in the House & Senate
Thomas (Legislative Information) This link opens in a new window
Listing of legislative resources including full text of major legislation, bill summary and status, and full text Congressional Record and index from 1989. Also includes congressional committee reports, public laws, historical documents, and links to other Congressional sites.
CQ Weekly Online This link opens in a new window
A database covering the United States Congress. This database provides accurate and detailed information on the activities of the US Congress. It provides detailed and non-partisan coverage and analysis of the status of bills in play, voting, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. Archives are searchable by topic, page number, committee, "exact phrases or words," bill number, byline or reporter and by Boolean full-text and date searches. Resources are full-text. Detailed coverage is from 1983 to the present.