It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Victorian Literature: Victorian Literature Resources
For the most part, this collection was assembled by David B. Magee for sale with printed materials of Victorian and Edwardian authors. Mr. Magee scoured England and the United States for books, manuscripts, and other materials of interest in documenting the Victorian period in England and eventually published a three-part catalog entitled Victoria R. I., in which he listed many of these items. In 1969, Brigham Young University purchased the entirety of these catalogs, which is now the core of the Harold B. Lee Library’s Victorian Collection. In subsequent years, the library purchased additional Victorian and Edwardian materials from Mr. Magee, whose individual slips describing these materials are housed in the L. Tom Perry Special Collections. The Magee numbers listed herein refer to the numbers assigned by Mr. Magee in both his published and unpublished listings of Victorian materials.
Over time, the library also purchased a few manuscripts to augment the fine collection assembled by Mr. Magee. These items appear in this finding aid with the designation "NA," indicating they have no Magee numbers. The records for these purchases are missing.
19th Century UK Periodicals (Gale)19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others.
Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985) (Gale)Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper, 1785-1985, is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
19th Century British Library Newspapers (Gale)The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)Alternate title: 19th Century Collections Online (Gale). NCCO includes British Politics and Society; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; and British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture.
Victorian Literary ManuscriptsVictorian Manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of The New York Public Library. Authors represented in this collection include: Matthew Arnold, The Brontes, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Robert Browning, Wilkie Collins, Joseph Conrad, Charles Dickens, George Eliot, George Gissing, Thomas Hardy, Henry James, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, John Ruskin, Alfred Tennyson, and William Makepeace Thackeray. Unpublished poems, working notebooks, holograph manuscripts and drawings trace the inspiration and genesis behind the period's greatest works. Researchers and students can trace the close interconnection of these Victorian authors â€“ and subsequently their texts â€“ through the mass of personal correspondence between them, revealing the close circles in which the Victorian literary world moved. From Adam Matthew Digital.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index (ProQuest)C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC), The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, Periodicals Index Online and the Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811â€“1849 to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.7 million books and official publications, 70,000 archival collections and 20.9 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. C19 Index now provides integrated access to 13 bibliographic indexes, including more than three million records from British Periodicals Collections I and II, together with the expanded online edition of the Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism (DNCJ).
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (ASP)A Historical Primary Source database. This database includes diaries and letters from British and Irish women. All types of women's diaries are included. Features the writings of famous as well as "ordinary" women of the time period. Covers 300 years of personal writings.
May make a limited number of print or digital copies for research, education, or other non-commercial use.
May not alter, remove, or obscure copyright notice.
Victorian Women Writers ProjectTranscriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century: including anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children's books, and volumes of poetry and verse drama.
Victorian Popular CultureFrom Adam Matthew Digital, an essential resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Includes spiritualism, sensation, magic, circuses, sideshows, freaks, music hall, theatre, and popular entertainment.
Queen Victoria Journals (ProQuest)High-resolution, colour images of every page of the surviving volumes of Queen Victoria's journals, from her first diary entry in 1832 to shortly before her death in 1901, along with separate photographs of the many illustrations and inserts within the pages.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB) contains 55,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2002.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
NO systematic downloading.
Use of the database is for personal, non-commercial use only.
Literature Resource Center (LRC)(Gale)Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, critical analysis, and Web resources of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Search by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
For personal, non-commercial, educational, and research purposes only.
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Lang. & Literature)An English Literature database. This database contains monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations from around the world on the topic of English literature. British, American and Commonwealth writings are represented. Includes full-text versions of 120 literature journals. Coverage is from 1920 to the present.
Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.
RefWorks 3.0The new RefWorks lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
Help documents for using this version can be found at this link.
ZoteroA free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.