Skip to main content

Marketing: Keeping Current

Keeping Up In Your Field

Topics and Trends by Major gathers feeds from thought leaders, trade, and industry publications. Think Accounting Today, Advertising Age, or Harvard Business Review. Organized by field of study, it's an attempt to help you keep up with what's happening in your industry or profession.

New: Mintel Trends

 

Announcing Mintel Trends!

What's cool, new, or quirky, and how will it impact the markets you care about?

Mintel’s researchers examine 80 trends affecting consumers today, swapping out old trends for new ones regularly.

Mintel Trends is a great way to spot innovations and opportunities. We're pleased to add it to the in-depth market research we already get through Mintel Reports.

Recent Reference Titles in Marketing

 

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies

Essays describing significant marketing campaigns of recent years, like Priceline's "Negotiator" (William Shatner) and Apple's "Moment of Silence" for Steve Jobs.

 

Gale Business Insights Handbook of Social Media Marketing

From making a case for social media to building a strategy, providing consistency, and measuring impact, this handbook provides practical advice and recommendations.

 

Gale Business Insights Handbook of Global Marketing

Introductory essays on identifying opportunities, building a brand, watching out for cultural differences, product distribution, global economic realities, etc. Accessible for the novice.

 

Dictionary of Advertising and Marketing Concepts

This slim but surprisingly engaging book is described by its author as being a "dictionary of cultural analyses and critiques of advertising". In other words, expect explanation and sometimes idiosyncratic commentary, rather than a basic dictionary.

 

More Library News

Recent Articles from BYU Faculty

Faster-Better-Cheaper Projects: Too Much Risk or Overreaction to Perceived Failure?
By Dillon, R.L.; Madsen, P.M.
IEEE Transactions on Engineering Management 62.2, 141-149, May 2015

Acquirer Valuation and Acquisition Decisions: Identifying Mispricing Using Short Interest.
By Ben-David, I.; Drake, M.S.; Roulstone, D.T.
Journal of Financial & Quantitative Analysis 50.1/2, 1-32, Apr 2015

A Sign of Things to Come: Behavioral Change through Dynamic Iconography
By Cian, L.; Krishna, A.; Elder, R.S.
Journal of Consumer Research 41.6, 1426-1446, Apr 2015

Operational and Strategic Information Processing: Complementing Healthcare IT Infrastructure
By Gardner, J.W.; Boyer, K.K.; Gray, J.V.
Journal of Operations Management 33-34, 123-139, Jan 2015

Materializing Strategy and Strategizing Materials: Why Matter Matters
By Dameron, S.; Lê, J.K.; Lebaron, C.
British Journal of Management 26.S1, S1-S12, Jan 2015

I Tie Flies In My Sleep: An Autoethnographic Examination of Recreation and Reintegration for a Veteran with Posttraumatic Stress Disorder
By Price, W.D.; Lundberg, N.R.; Zabriskie, R.B.; Barney, K.W.
Journal of Leisure Research 47.2, 185-201, 2015