Skip to main content

University Archives: Brimhall Essay Contest

Guide to the University Archives at L. Tom Perry Special Collections

About the Contest

Each year the descendants of former Brigham Young University president George H. Brimhall honor the founders of the university by sponsoring the Brimhall Essay Contest. Held in conjunction with the university's Homecoming celebrations, the contest is designed to introduce students to the individuals who have helped to shape Brigham Young University’s unique institutional character.

The L. Tom Perry Special Collections preserves and makes available a range of manuscript and archival resources documenting the contributions of the university's founders. A bibliography of related materials is available below. If you would like to learn more about the resources available for this year's founder, contact the University Archivist.

LaVell Edwards Bibliography

Archival Materials

BYU football motivational seminar: Lavell Edwards, Dale Murphy, Frank Layden, Derwin Gray, 1995 (Intercollegiate Athletics films, UA 5426 Series 2 Item 1122 box 367).

Collection of football media guides, 1952-2009 (UA 785; digitized copies available from Athletic Media Relations, http://byucougars.com/m-football/football-media-guide-downloads-pdf)

Edwards, R. Lavell, 1950-2000 (Collection on university faculty and staff, UA 909 Series 1 box 57 folder 2-3).

Lavell Edwards: The Spirit of Football, 2000 (Intercollegiate Athletics films, UA 5426 Series 2 Item 1468 box 372).

Motivational seminar: Lavell Edwards, Lee Johnson, Vern Law, Gifford Nelson, 1996 (Intercollegiate Athletics films, UA 5426 Series 2 Item 1125 box 367).

Tribute: LaVell Edwards football, 2000 (Intercollegiate Athletics films, UA 5426 Series 2 Item 1431 box 371).

Publications

A Father's Legacy: Prominent Athletes and Coaches Talk about the Impact of their Fathers (Springville, Utah: Cedar Fort Publishing & Media, 2014).

Benson, Lee, "LaVell Edwards," This People 11 (Fall 1990): 13-18.

----------------, "Consistency Counts," BYM (November 1994): 47-51.

BYUtv Sports, "LaVell Edwards: In His Own Words," YouTube, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tln53ADUyxY

Cannon, Ann Edwards, "LaVell: BYU's Leading Man, a Personal Interview," Utah Holiday 14 (September 1985): 41-50, 68.

Edwards, LaVell, Achieving: A Guide to Building Self-Esteem in Young Men (Salt Lake City, Utah: Randall Book, 1985).

----------------, Secrets of Success in Football, Family, and Home (Salt Lake City: Covenant Recordings, 1988).

Edwards, LaVell and Lee Benson, LaVell: Airing It Out (Salt Lake City: Shadow Mountain, 1995).

Edwards, LaVell and Norman Chow, Winning Football with the Forward Pass (Boston: Allyn and Bacon, 1984).

Edwards, LaVell and Lee Nelson, LaVell Edwards: Building a Winning Football Tradition at Brigham Young University (Provo, Utah: Council Press, 1981).

Edwards, Patricia, I Married a Football Coach (Salt Lake City: Randall Book, 1985).

"The End of an Era: A Special Section of the Daily Universe," Daily Universe, November 17, 2000.

Hale, Val, "LaVell Edwards: His 100th Is Passed History," This People 5 (February 1984): 42-43.

Harmon, Dick, "LaVell Edwards: The Heart of the Hidden Man," BYU Today 39 (February 1985): 22-26, 40.

KUED 7 Productions, Ron McBride and LaVell Edwards: Legends of the Rivalry (Salt Lake City: University of Utah Press, 2010).

Last Miracle for LaVell: The Story of LaVell Edwards' Last Season (Orem, Utah: Mitchell Productions, 2002).

"LaVell: The Legend," Deseret News, December 4, 2000.

LaVell Edwards: BYU's Football Classic (Salt Lake City: Deseret News, 198?).

"LaVell Edwards interview for Education Week," Daily Universe, August 21, 2002, http://universe.byu.edu/2002/08/21/lavell-edwards-interview-for-education-week/

Phillips, Bob, "The Man Behind B.Y.U.'s Passing Fancy: Coach of the Year LaVell Edwards Tells Us the Way It Was and the Way It Is at B.Y.U.," Scholastic Coach 54 (May/June 1985): 42-44, 92-93.

Robinson, Doug, "LaVell Edwards: And Then There Was One," This People 6 (February-March 1985): 20-27.

"Take Upon Yourselves the Whole Armor of God" (LaVell Edwards Devotional) (Provo, Utah: Brigham Young University Media Services, 2001).

Tittle, Duff, What It Means to Be a Cougar: LaVell Edwards, Bronco Mendenhall, and Brigham Young University's Greatest Players (Chicago: Triumph Books, 2011).

"Unforgettable: Stadium Renamed in Honor of Edwards," Daily Universe, November 20, 2000.

"Ute Fans Honor LaVell," Daily Universe, November 27, 2000.

University Archivist

Cory Nimer's picture
Cory Nimer
Contact:
1130 HBLL
801-422-6091

Visit Special Collections