The contributions of the different presidents of Brigham Young University to the institution's remarkable history can be uncovered through many of the collections held in the University Archives. In addition to the secondary sources above, the following source materials can get you started on your exploration of Brigham Young University’s heritage.

• Office of the President records (UA 1085-UA 1087, UA 1089-UA 1094, UA 1030, UA 925, UA 1073). Records document the activities of Brigham Young University Presidents from Karl G. Maeser through Merrill J. Bateman. These records are restricted according to the restriction policy. Call numbers and associated presidents follow: Karl G. Maeser (UA 1094), Benjamin Cluff (UA 1093), George H. Brimhall (UA 1092), Acting President Christen Jensen (UA 1091), Acting President L. John Nuttall (UA 1090), Franklin S. Harris (UA 1089), Howard S. McDonald (UA 1087), Ernest L. Wilkinson (UA 1086), Dallin H. Oaks (UA 1085), Jeffrey R. Holland (UA 1030), Rex E. Lee (UA 925), Merrill J. Bateman (UA 1073), and Cecil O. Samuelson (UA 5514).
• Jan C. Izatt recollections of Ernest L. Wilkinson (UA OH 14). Interview by Hollis Scott with Jan C. Izatt, secretary to Ernest Wilkinson. Includes comments about Wilkinson’s personality and work habits, and about her experiences working for Wilkinson.
• Annual University Conferences, 1952-1999 (UA 790). Incomplete collection of addresses, printed programs, and audiocassette and videocassette (VHS) recordings of annual university conference meetings, 1952-1999. Includes addresses by presidents of Brigham Young University and by General Authorities of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Meetings generally held for university employees immediately before the start of each new school year.
• Brigham Young University inaugural speeches and responses, 1921-1989 (UA SC 19). Contains inaugural speeches and responses by presidents Harris, McDonald, Wilkinson, Oaks, Holland, and Lee. (Rex Lee, October 27, 1989; Dallin Oaks, May 4, 1971; Jeffrey Holland, November 14, 1980; Ernest Wilkinson, October 8, 1951; Howard McDonald, November 14, 1945; Franklin Harris, October 17, 1921).
• BYU centennial flashbacks [scrapbook], approximately 1975 (UA 880). Collection of newspaper articles from the Daily Herald pertaining to events on campus since the time of its creation. Includes stories about various presidents of BYU, accomplishments of students and athletes, groups and clubs, and photographic images of Brigham Young Academy as well as significant persons in the university’s history.

Additional sources can be found searching in our finding aids database or in the library ScholarSearch tool by the name of the president, or under the "Office of the President".

In addition to institutional records, the University Archives also includes the personal and professional papers of university faculty members. Below is a sampling of papers associated with some prominent faculty members:

A. O. Smoot

• Abraham Owen Smoot: A Testament of his Life (BX 8670.1 .Sm7685n 1994). A biography of A. O. Smoot. It examines his early life, his involvement with the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and his association with the Brigham Young Academy. Section IV deals specifically with the Brigham Young Academy.
• Abraham Owen Smoot, Pioneer Mormon Leader (BX 8670.1 .Sm791b 1955) Describes the leadership of A. O. Smoot in the church and in the community. Includes a description of his involvement with Brigham Young Academy and his influence on the academy’s growth. Chapters five, six and seven specifically talk about the involvement of A. O. Smoot with the building of the Academy.​
• Smoot family papers, 1836-1947 (MSS 3843). The Smoot Family papers consists of correspondence, publications, genealogy records, journals, account books, receipts, and related ephemera. The collection covers several generations and family members of the Smoot Family.
• A. O. Smoot papers, 1837-1892 (MSS 574). Photocopies of handwritten and printed certificates, letters of appointment, letters, an invitation, and a patriarchal blessing. The materials include a missionary recommendation dated 1851 when Smoot was called on a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Britain; a patriarchal blessing from Joseph Smith Sr., the father of the first president of the Church, Joseph Smith, Jr.; two appointments as an agent for the Perpetual Emigration Fund for the Church; a letter from Brigham Young, second president of the Church; and an invitation to a "Grand Military Ball."
• A. O. Smoot papers, 1837-1894 (MSS 896). Diaries, correspondence, financial records, and biographies dealing with personal, business, Church, and Brigham Young Academy matters. Smoot kept diaries from 1837 to 1838 and from 1844 to 1845 while serving as a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Southern States. Also included are diaries for 1856 and from 1885 to 1893. Also with the collection are biographies of Smoot’s wives, Margaret Smoot and Diana Eldridge Smoot. 
• A. O. Smoot letters, 1866-1872 (MSS 3175). One letter written from the Salt Lake City Mayor's Office, from A. O. Smoot to Brigham Young. Also, a letter from Margaret T. Smoot, one of A. O. Smoot’s wives, to a person whose identity has not been determined.

Alice Louise Reynolds

• ​Autobiography of Alice Louise Reynolds (AME BX 8670.07 .R331a).
• A Lighter of Lamps: The Life Story of Alice Louise Reynolds (AME BX 8670.07 .R331L).
• The Story of My Life, by Alice Louise Reynolds (AME BX 8670 .A1a no. 593).
• Our Alice Louise (AME BX 8688 .A1a No. 440).
• Alice Louise Reynolds papers, 1912-1938 (MSS 120). Correspondence, diaries, lecture notes, and autobiographical materials. The materials document various aspects of Reynolds’ career and life.

Carl F. Eyring

• Carl F. Eyring papers, 1943-1950 (UA 507). Includes correspondence concerning research projects, annual department budgets, personal opinions as to the future of BYU. Also includes records of a farewell reception and address given in behalf of President and Mrs. Howard S. McDonald.
• ​Carl F. Eyring laboratory notes, 1909-1911 (UA 8). Includes handwritten class and laboratory notes for a class in electrical and optical measurements. Class taken at BYU. Chester Snow, instructor.
• Carl F. Eyring papers, 1912 (UA 106). Collection includes a holograph draft of a thesis concerning electric waves, written while attending Brigham Young University.
• Carl F. Eyring class notes, 1912-1913 (UA 11). Includes handwritten class notes on mechanics and wave motion, taught by Harvey Fletcher Sr.

Edwin S. Hinckley

• ​Edwin Smith Hinckley papers, 1888-1959 (UA 1126). Correspondence of Edwin S. Hinckley with family members and associates and notes on gospel topics as well as letters of condolence received by the family upon Hinckley's death. Also includes a folder of correspondence of Hinckley’s descendants, dated 1953-1959.
• Edwin S. Hinckley correspondence, 1904-1929 (UA 484). Eight loose letters are to and from William Morris Davis. The bound volume contains a variety of items all relating to Edwin Hinckley ( i.e., genealogy, correspondence, newspaper clippings, tributes).
• Edwin S. Hinckley papers, 1927 (UA 243). Collection includes an article published in the Provo Evening Herald entitled: "Prosperity and Future Possibilities of Provo Emphasized by C. of C."
• Edwin S. Hinckley papers, 1892-1962 (MSS 352). Contains correspondence, speeches, reports, and biographies. These materials relate to Hinckley's work at Brigham Young University as a faculty member and on the Alumni Association Board of Directors, as superintendent of the Utah State Industrial School, and as secretary of the Provo Chamber of Commerce. The biographies are eulogies given by Hinckley’s friends and associates.
• Edwin Smith Hinckley, Pioneer, Educator, Churchman, Humanitarian, Civic Builder: Centennial Tributes (AME BX 8670.1 .H591e 1968).

Eugene L. Roberts

• ​Eugene L. Roberts collection (UA 562). This collection includes correspondence, reports, photographs, and other materials documenting Roberts’ life.  Also includes information on the Timpanogos Hike.
• Eugene L. Roberts letters and diary excerpt (MSS 901). This collection contains typewritten copies of letters and an excerpt from a diary.  The letters related to Roberts’ efforts to write biography of Benjamin Cluff Jr.  The diary is an excerpt from Cluff’s diary of 1904.
• The Life and Educational Contributions of Eugene Lusk Roberts, by Marva Hodson Gregory (BX 8670.1 .R542g).
• Eugene Lusk Roberts: An Architect of Physical Education in the American West, 1910-1950, by Jonathan N. Romine (378.22 R664 1984).
• Athletic Hall of Faith (378.2 A1 no. 87)
• Eugene L. Roberts: A Study in Leadership, by Gertrude Roberts Cash (BX 8670.1 .R542c).
• Biography of Eugene L. Roberts, by Leo J. Muir (BX 8670 .A1a no. 33).

Gerrit de Jong Jr.

• ​Gerrit de Jong Jr. miscellaneous writings, 1924-1977 (UA 1167). This volume contains miscellaneous writings (articles, papers for classes at the University of Utah, addresses, etc.) of Gerrit De Jong.
• Gerrit de Jong Jr. papers, 1949-1978 (MSS 1837). Correspondence, musical scores, essays, and speeches. The materials relate to family matters and to education and religious topics.
• Gerrit de Jong Jr. papers, 1950s-1970s (UA 722). Includes professional correspondence, publications, teaching materials, speeches, and musical drafts and publications.
• Gerrit and Thelma de Jong papers, 1972-1979 (MSS 6815). The collection contains bound volumes of materials written or collected by Gerrit and Thelma De Jong from 1972-1979.
• Selected writings (BX 8688.4 .D368s 1971). A collection of articles, poetry, and hymns written by Gerrit de Jong, Jr.

Harvey Fletcher

• ​Harvey Fletcher papers (MSS 1233). This collection includes correspondence, reports, publications, and other materials documenting Fletcher’s life.
• Oral history interview with Harvey Fletcher, September 19, 1968 (UA OH 6). Interview by Hollis Scott with Harvey Fletcher, scientist and teacher, concerning his experiences in Provo, Utah, as a graduate student at the University of Chicago, as a teacher at BYU, and as a bishop and stake president in the New York Stake.
• Addresses in Honor of Harvey Fletcher (UA 129). This collection includes typewritten, edited and final drafts of speeches about Fletcher written and given by William L. Woolf and George H. Hansen, a memorandum concerning a speech from Ernest L. Wilkinson to George H. Hansen, a record of Fletcher’s professional experience, and biographical information submitted to Who’s Who in America.
• Good and Great: A Biography of Harvey Fletcher, by Michael Fletcher Perry (D 1.023 .P477 2006).
• Autobiography of Harvey Fletcher, by Harvey Fletcher (BX 8670.1 .F634a 1967).
• The Caroling of Atoms: The Life’s Work of Dr. Harvey Fletcher, by Maureen Meyer Fletcher (PN 1619.021. F62 1996).
• Science and Religion, by Harvey Fletcher (BX 8647 .B76m 1960).

T. Earl Pardoe

• ​T. Earl Pardoe scrapbook, 1910-1915 (UA 988). This scrapbook contains newspaper clippings and other memorabilia collected by Pardoe. Materials are mostly cultural: musical performances, plays, speeches.
• T. Earl Pardoe scrapbook, 1912-1920 (MSS 3283). The scrapbook contains newspaper clippings commenting on Dr. Pardoe’s performances from 1912 to 1920.
• T. Earl Pardoe papers, 1930-1970 (UA 557). Includes correspondence with associations and organizations, (e.g. Rotary Club, Boy Scouts). Also includes correspondence with servicemen and veterans, personal, professional and travel correspondence, and a collection of slides documenting his travels throughout the world.
• T. Earl Pardoe scrapbook, 1955-1961 (MSS 131). Scrapbook compiled by T. Earl Pardoe of newspaper clippings, typewritten speeches, pamphlets, photographs, and miscellaneous items relating to the dedications of monuments and historical sites relating to the early years of the first president of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Joseph Smith (1805-1844).
• T. Earl Pardoe scrapbook, 1959-1961 (MSS 321). Christmas cards glued into a scrapbook. There are about a hundred of these items in the book. These cards were received by Pardoe from 1959 to 1961 and were signed by various friends and associates including David Oman McKay, president of the Mormon Church, and J. Reuben Clark, an Apostle in the Mormon Church.
• Interview with T. Earl Pardoe, approximately 1971 (MSS OH 1903). In an interview with Merrill Bradshaw, T. Earl Pardoe discusses pantomime, the basics of singing, speech, and the dramatic arts. He also discusses some of the fine arts performers and artists of early Provo including Anton Lund, John J. McClellan, Willard Andolin, Charles Miller, John Hafen, J. B. Fairbanks, Samuel Jefferson, William King Driggs, Willard Weighe, and Dean de Jong.

Thomas L. Martin

• ​Thomas L. Martin papers, 1924-1950 (UA 98). Includes correspondence, scrapbook items, published writings, and copies of photographs.
• Thomas L. Martin photographs, 1924-1950 (UA 1065). Photographs of Thomas L. Martin and photographs apparently taken by Martin.
• William Martin photograph of Thomas L. Martin, 1950 (MSS 3687). Photograph is of Thomas L. Martin in a group with two other men and three other women. It was taken in December 1950 by Thomas L. Martin's son, William.
• Thomas L. Martin: Funeral Sermon Delivered by President Ernest L. Wilkinson, June 20, 1958 (BX 8670 .A1 no.182). Includes the address given by President Wilkinson, which gives a brief history of Martin’s life and honors him as both an intellectual and spiritual man.
• My Life Story, publication date unknown (BX 8670.1 .M367m). An autobiography that spans into the early 1950s, detailing the activities, services, and feelings experienced throughout his life.

Wayne B. Hales

• ​My Life Story, Recorded for his Children and Grandchildren (BX 8670.1 .H137). This autobiography describes his childhood, family, years at BYU as an undergraduate student, marriage, time at various universities as teacher and administrator, church callings.  Considered to be unique because nearly 250 photographs are included.
• Wayne B. Hales classroom photographs, 1930-1971 (MSS 3304). This collection contains books, negatives (restricted access), plates, a photograph of BYU campus, Kodak materials, and classroom related photographs.
• Brigham Young University photographs, approximately 1926-1940 (MSS 2199). Six photograph albums, accompanied by ten boxes of photograph negatives, which document Brigham Young University faculty, students, buildings, and events, including dramatic and musical productions. The images, collected by Hales, were taken by himself, Walter Cottam, and others.
• Thought Journal of Wayne B. Hales: Began January 1, 1967 (BX 8648 .H137t 1973). Includes quotes from his favorite literature, quotes by people he respected, and his own original thoughts regarding a wide variety of topics such as the gospel, gratitude, commitment, family.
• Wayne B. Hales oral history interview, May 25, 1978 (UA OH 30). An interview by Edwin R. Kimball with Wayne B. Hales, concerning his experiences as a BYU student, and as a member of the BYU Athletic Council, his family and his experiences with other faculty and administrators at BYU.
• Selected Addresses, Short Conference Talks and Tributes (BX 8647 .H137s). A compilation of formal and informal addresses given by Wayne B. Hales at BYU and church meetings.  Also includes tributes given and received during his lifetime.

Information on university faculty members may also be found in Collection on University Faculty and Staff (UA 909) and the Brigham Young University Personnel Photographs (UA 947). Additional sources may be found by searching our finding aids database or the library's ScholarSearch tool using the terms "Brigham Young University" and "faculty", or by the name of individual faculty members.

The colleges at Brigham Young University make important contributions to faculty development, curriculum, and programs. Below is a sample of collections associated with the history of the university's colleges:

College of Family, Home, and Social Sciences

• ​Records, 1918-1962 (UA 464). Includes correspondence, memoranda, faculty load reports, budget reports, curriculum, catalog material, registration, scholarship and fellowship information. Also includes information concerning various departments, data processing reports, college enrollment and grades, and faculty personnel files.
• Records 1954-1972 (UA 309). Includes general College records, and files from the office of the Dean.
  College of Family, Home and Social Sciences records, 1957-1976 (UA 568). Includes correspondence and records from the office of the Dean of the College of Social Sciences.
• Records, 1959-1964 (UA 515). Includes minutes of College meetings, teaching and testing materials for human development and family relations classes, homemaking education, child development, marriage, and clothing and textiles classes.
• Deans' files, 1941-1980 (UA 692). Records of the College of Family, Home and Social Sciences.
  College of Family, Home and Social Sciences records, 1952-1998 (UA 661). This collection includes correspondence, annual reports for the college and departments, budget information, meeting minutes, faculty files, dean’s files, and recordings. 
• Dean's office records, 1979-1998 (UA 1201). This collection contains correspondence to the Dean’s office, files on different departments within the college, meeting minutes, information on college convocations and university commencements, and other information documenting the activities of the Dean's office.
• Dean's office records, 1990-1991 (UA 907). Contains information on faculty, staff awards, class schedules, associations, committees, reports, convocations, programs, courses, funds, research, equipment, and applications.

College of Fine Arts and Communications

• ​Correspondence and records, 1949-1983, 1970-1980 (UA 666). Includes correspondence of Dean Lael Woodbury.
• Performance photographs, approximately 1960s (UA 1282 box 1). Nine images from performances put on by the College of Fine Arts and Communications. The performances were Othello, Joan of Lorraine, and The Man who came to Dinner.
• Files, approximately 1968-1989 (UA 821). Contains outlines, handouts, and packet materials relating to communications courses; brochures, programs, form letters, forms, and advertisements concerning Department of Communications; advertisements for High School Press Workshops; four issues of Comm World magazine, 1986-1989; two issues of Communications Newsletter, 1972; two issues of Alumni Update, 1982-1984; KBYU-FM Radio brochures, circulars, and correspondence; KBYU TV brochures, logo, report, and promotions; sequence coordinators meeting minutes; faculty meeting minutes; and Publication Workshop's yearbook, "Encounter", 1972-1973.
• Miscellaneous film clips and audio tapes, 197-? (UA 741). Contains various identified and unidentified rolls of video and audio tapes, some labeled as theater productions, talks, interviews, recitals. The bulk of films are labeled "A Shade of Difference."
• Deans' office records, 1938-1994 (UA 1056). This collection contains correspondence from the deans’ office, building records, faculty files, and other general files related to the functioning of the College of Fine Arts and Communications.
• Deans' office files, 1952-1975 (UA 567). Includes files and correspondence of the administration of the College of Fine Arts and Communication. Includes records of the Mormon Arts Festival, Banyan, Daily Universe, and other facets of the College.
• College of Fine Arts and Communications dean records, 1988-2002 (UA 1353). Collection includes correspondence and meeting minutes created by the dean’s office of the College of Fine Arts and Communications between 1988 and 2002.

College of Humanities

• Records, 1918-1962 (​UA 464). Records of the College of Family, Home and Social Sciences. Humanities and Social Sciences were, from 1954-1965, the College of Humanities and Social Sciences. Includes correspondence, memoranda, faculty load reports, budget reports, curriculum, catalog material, registration, scholarship and fellowship information. Also includes information concerning various departments, data processing reports, college enrollment and grades, and faculty personnel files.
• College history, 1965-1987 (UA 628). Notes, memoranda, newsletters, programs, lectures, announcements, news items, correspondence, and miscellaneous materials relating to the College of Humanities at Brigham Young University.
• Records, 1972-1988 (UA 1117). This collection contains the correspondence, class material, and annual reports of the department.
• Records, 1960-1997 (UA 1217). This collection contains correspondence, reports, notes and schedules which detail the activities of the College of Humanities and the departments composing it.
• Dean’s office records, 1964-1991 (UA 1123). This collection contains correspondence, department files, administrative files, meeting minutes, reports and other materials that document the functioning of the Dean’s Office of the College of Humanities.
• College of Humanities records (UA 5390). The collection contains correspondence, reports, and minutes from the College of Humanities dated 1991-2006. The materials pertain to College Administrative Council meetings and retreats, Joseph F. Smith building information, commencement, and Dean Jones’s records.

College of Life Sciences

• ​College of Biology and Agriculture records, 1917-1986, 1950-1975 (UA 702). Contains records, minutes, publications, etc. of the College of Biology and Agriculture, the Benson Institute, and the departments of the College. Restricted; Permission required from the University archivist.
• College of Biology and Agriculture annual reports, 1982-1994 (UA 729 box 1). Includes annual reports 1982-1990; special report of 1988; reports on scholarly/research productivity 1990-1994.
• Dean’s office records, 1989-2000 (UA 1337). The collection contains information about the College of Biology and Agriculture Dean’s Office. The collection is divided into three series. I. Curriculum Papers (1996-2000). II. Self-Study Documents (1994-1998). III. Files and Reports (1989-1998). The curriculum papers series contains department correspondence concerning curriculum requests and changes. The self-study documents series contains departments’ information about the self-study program. The files and reports series contains Professional Developmental Committee and National Advisory Board materials, annual reports, and academic statistics from different departments. 

College of Nursing

• ​Records, 1950-1964 (UA 524). Includes general files of the College, policy statements, statistics and reports.
• Printed matter files, 1963-1987, 1966-1977 (UA 653). Contains college and committee minutes, and a few course syllabi for historical interest.
• A Descriptive, Analytical, and Evaluative Self-Study Report on the Baccalaureate, Master, and Continuing Education Programs, 1990 (UA 767). Report detailing the organization, administration, students, faculty, curriculum, continuing education program, resources, facilities, and services of the nursing program. Includes twenty-one appendices. The report was submitted to the National League for Nursing.
• 50th Anniversary Celebration records, 2002 (UA 1028). Collection includes materials from the Brigham Young University College of Nursing’s 50th Anniversary Celebration in October 2002. Materials include greeting cards with College of Nursing images, a program for the 50th Anniversary Celebration, a video entitled “The Healer’s Art” and a print entitled "I would learn the healer's art."
• Records, 1957-1993 (UA 1144). This collection is divided into four series, namely College of Nursing Scholarship Material, College of Nursing Grade Rolls, College of Nursing Advisement Center Material, and College of Nursing Yearbooks.
• Records, 1978-1991 (UA 1207). This collection contains budget information for the years 1984-1989, and meeting minutes for the years 1978-1991.

College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences

• Printed matter files, 1953-1980 (UA 659). Files of the College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences. Contains College and Departmental minutes.
• Photographs of the Rededication of the Carl F. Eyring Science Center, 1998 (UA 1292). Thirty-six photographs of the rededication of the Carl F. Eyring Science Center in 1998. Includes shots of the audience, the performers, and the speakers at the rededication. Speakers included President Merrill J. Bateman, Elder Henry B. Eyring and President Thomas S. Monson. Also includes shots of the exterior of the building.
• Records, 1954-1974 (UA 574). Records of the College of Industrial and Technical Education. Includes department minutes, reports, correspondence, a historical report of the College, and other information originating from the office of the dean.
• Records, 1956-1992 (UA 1303). Records of the College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences. This collection contains information from the College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences. Materials include college administration and departmental correspondence, annual budgets, college history, student information.

David M. Kennedy Center for International Studies

• ​Culturgrams and other intercultural publications, 1975-1989 (UA 721). Includes correspondence, research, and publications relating to the creation and publication of the Culturgrams.
• Records, 1979-1995 (UA 1297). This collection contains informational pamphlets (Culturgrams) on a variety of countries from various years, as well as programs from the opening of the Kennedy Center.
• Records, 1957-2002 (UA 959). Records of R. Lanier Birthsch, a BYU professor from 1966 to 2002. This collection includes some Kennedy Center records.
• Records, 1965-1990 (UA 1290). This collection contains correspondence and meeting minutes, as well as information on the history, organization, and international associations of the Kennedy Center.

David O. McKay School of Education

• ​Records, 1930-1959 (UA 93). Collection includes examinations given to students from 1930 to 1959, including accounting, agricultural economics, chemistry, economics, English, educational psychology, speech, and history classes.
• Dean’s files, 1938-1983 (UA 700). This collection includes awards, research notes, conference minutes, financial records, correspondence and bulletins.
• Papers, 1953 (UA 385). A study of the college concerning its administration including faculty and students, correspondence concerning the study, and preliminary report on the college’s physical plant.
• College of Education records, 1960-1983 (UA 822). This collection contains information on secondary education, educational administration, special education, student teaching, and educational psychology as well as annual reports from the College of Education. 
• Institutional report of basic programs (UA 733). Volume 1: College of Education basic programs — Volume 2: Secondary education — Volume 3: College of Education advanced programs — Volume 4: Faculty exhibits.
• Records, 1942-1992 (UA 559). Includes correspondence, minutes, reports, comparative graphic charts, booklets, manuals, studies, catalogues, student publications, policy statements, memoranda, bulletins, news clippings, and payroll schedules.
• Teacher Education records, 1973-1995 (UA 1245). This collection contains correspondence and information about the restructuring of the elementary program.

Ira A. Fulton College of Engineering

• Centennial History of the College of Physical and Engineering Sciences, Brigham Young University (LD 571 .B672 H36x). Describes the history and growth of the College of Physical and Engineering Sciences at Brigham Young University starting with the administration of Karl G. Maeser and ending with that of Dallin H. Oaks. Focuses on each of the different departments that make up the college.
• Records, 1954-1963 (UA 546). Includes various records of the College, and blueprints for the Eyring Science Center.
• Printed matter files, 1955-1989 (UA 663). Contains Annual Symposium proceedings, College records and correspondence/meeting minutes, faculty meeting minutes of the departments.
• 5-year development plan: for the period 1978-1983, 1978 (UA 883). Outlines plans, anticipated growth, objectives, etc. for the BYU College of Engineering Science and Technology from 1978 to 1983.
• ​​Records, 1971-2001 (UA 1299). The College of Engineering and Technology collection contains minutes from various departments, lecture series information, a history of the department, financial records, and correspondence of the leaders in the college.
• Department files, 1977-1987 (UA 1032). Contains correspondence from 1977-1987 of the following people in the College of Engineering and Technology: L. Douglas Smoot, David M. Ward, Paul O. Hedman, Dee H. Barker, Kent E. Kohkonen, Michael R. King, Cliff S. Barton, and S. Olani Durrant. 
• Convocation records, 1980-1990 (UA 1278). Contains the records of the convocations held by the College of Engineering Sciences and Technology from 1980 to 1990. Also contains commencement programs from 1982 to 1990. 

J. Reuben Clark Law School

• The Founding of the J. Reuben Clark Law School (KF 292 .J34 H38 1999). Gives a history of the founding of the Law School and the years following.  Discusses the decision and motivation behind its founding, key appointments, faculty recruiting, preparations, student recruiting, accreditation, progress through the years.  The author concludes with his personal reflections of the era.
• Speech given at opening of law school, August 27, 1973 (378.2 a1 no.77). Addresses given by Dallin H. Oaks and Marion G. Romney.
• J. Reuben Clark Law School history files, 1974-1998 (MSS 2185). Information compiled in preparing his book, "The Founding of the J. Reuben Clark Law School," published in 1999. Includes memoranda, letters, speeches, news articles, brief history essays, and magazines such as "The Clark Memorandum" and "Brigham Young Magazine.”"Also includes a videocassette and an audiocassette.
• Law School Dedication remarks, September 5, 1975 (UA 839). Recording of the remarks at the dedication of the J. Reuben Clark Law School. Tape 1 contains the remarks of Dallin H. Oaks and Tape 2 contains the remarks of United States Chief Justice Warren Burger.

Marriott School of Management

• Records, 1921-1976 (UA 170). Records of the College of Business. Collection includes correspondence, memoranda, speeches, minutes, reports and surveys from deans, Brigham Young University presidents, personnel, students, Latter-day Saint Church General Authorities, committees, councils, universities, and corporations.
• Brochures and publications of the Marriott School of Management, 1947-1987, 1965-1975 (UA 674). Contains brochures, newsletters and other publications. Contains little in the way of official correspondence and minutes.
• Executive lecture series, 1954-1975 (UA 943). Contains copies of the College of Business Executive Lecture Series from 1954-1975.
• Application of Brigham Young University College of Commerce for membership in the American Association of Collegiate Schools of Business, 1958 (UA 882). Completed questionnaire for accreditation with the American Association of Collegiate Schools of Business, 1958.
• Records, 1970-1979 (UA 1279). Records of the College of Business. This collection contains correspondence, information on awards (Jesse Knight Industrial Citizen Award and Distinguished Alumni Award), meeting minutes, productivity reports for various departments, an annual report for 1975, and other information related to the College of Business.
• Executive lecture series (UA 718). Collected by the Marriott School of Management. Includes Executive lectures/Entrepreneur lectures/Financial lectures/International lectures/ Real Estate lectures.
• Records 1952-1983 (UA 1131). Records of the College of Business. This collection contains information about the Business College.
• Marriott School of Management records, 1962-1986 (UA 711). Includes correspondence and records from the office of the Dean, the departments, graduate programs, and other School of Management organizations and projects. Also included are audio cassettes with course lectures on them.

Graduate School

• Christen Jensen papers, 1903-1961 (UA 96). Papers of Christen Jensen, the Graduate School dean from 1929-1948. Collection includes correspondence, reports, memoranda, minutes, and examinations concerning Brigham Young University transfer credits, awards, faculty meetings, graduate school, Franklin S. Harris, Ernest L. Wilkinson, history, political science, and public administration.
• Graduate Council minutes, 1946-1973 (UA 875). Graduate Council minutes, 1946-1973; Graduate School report, August 1962; and Graduate School procedures manual, September 1972.
• History and mission, 1949, 1969 (UA 296). Contains a brief history by Christen Jensen, and two papers describing the administrative responsibilities and mission of the Graduate School.
• Records, 1952-1968 (UA 118). Collection includes correspondence to and from Deans Christen Jensen (1953-1954), George H. Hansen (1954-1957), and A. Smith Pond (1957-1959) concerning the graduate programs, policies and requirements for admittance. Also includes memorandums concerning graduate awards, nominations for honorary degrees and the religious influence and standards of Brigham Young University.
• Records, 1954-1993 (UA 1101). This collection contains correspondence, meeting minutes, committee assignments, information on graduate programs, information supporting a review of graduate programs, and other files documenting the history of the Graduate School from 1954 to 1993.
• Chauncey C. Riddle records and correspondence, 1970-1979 (UA 710). Records of Chauncey Riddle, the Dean of the Graduate School.
• Records, 1983-1986 (UA 1199). This collection consists solely of Graduate Council meeting minutes from 1983-1986.

For more information on the history of individual colleges at the university, search by college name in our finding aids database of the library's ScholarSearch tool.

Curriculum development and class instruction, as well as faculty research activities, happen primarily at the department level of the university. A selection of departments with a sample of available archival materials are listed below: 

Department of Business Management

• Records, 1947-1948 (UA 43). Collection includes weekly newspaper readership studies based on representative Utah newspapers, conducted by the department of marketing and journalism.
• First Annual Marketing Symposium discussions, 1949 (UA 22). This is a compilation of speeches delivered at the 1st Annual Marketing Symposium at BYU, sponsored by the Department of Business Management, in 1949.
• Records, 1980-2006 (UA 5451). Contains department records from the Department of Business Management and reports on the Department of Business Management’s accreditation.

Department of Chemical Engineering

• A Half Century of Progress: The History of Chemical Engineering at BYU, 1952-2002 (LD 571 .B6765 C49 2002). A history of the study of chemical engineering at Brigham Young University beginning in 1952 and ending in 2002. Includes an examination of the development of the Department of Chemical Engineering.
• Records, 1953-1991 (UA 375). Includes correspondence and memorandum from the chairman’s office, minutes of meetings, building floor plans, and information concerning policies and activities of the department.
• Annual reports, 1967-1983 (UA 965). This collection contains the annual reports documenting the activities of the Department of Chemical Engineering from 1967 to 1983. It also includes some accreditation reports and grant proposals.
• Faculty meeting minutes, 1964-1986 (UA 964). The Chemical Engineering Department was organized within the Chemistry Department in the fall of 1954. At the same time Civil, Electrical, and Mechanical Departments were also formed but as separate departments, each with its own department chairman. All four departments offered a five-year degree in bachelor of engineering science. The departments were organized within the existing college of physical sciences and the college name was changed to the College of Physical and Engineering Sciences. The Department of Chemical Engineering was removed from under the control of the Department of Chemistry and became a separate department in the fall of 1958. In 1972 the College of Physical and Engineering Sciences was divided and the engineering programs became a part of the new College of Engineering Sciences and Technology.

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

• Chemistry at Brigham Young University, 1879-1995 (UA 1304). A manuscript history of the teaching of chemistry at Brigham Young University covering 1879-1995. It was compiled by Reed M. Izatt and Patricia Zitzman.
• A Brief history of the Chemistry Department of Brigham Young University (UA SC 69). Gives a brief history of the department from its inception.
• Records, 1928-1964 (UA 510). Includes the general department files, and files of the department chair and faculty.

Department of Counseling Psychology and Special Education

• Brigham Young University, Department of Counseling Psychology and Special Education: A Chronological History (LC 571 .B6765 C697 2008). Provides a brief history of the department from its inception, detailing its evolution though the years.
• Department files, 1968-1991 (UA 1051). This collection contains Counseling Psychology and Special Education Department Files from 1968-1991. The collection includes correspondence, faculty files, department files, National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education & Certification files, National Commission on Accreditation of Teacher Education files, and general files.
• Department of Educational Psychology records, 1968-1991 (UA 855). There are 13 boxes in this collection containing accreditation/reaccreditation reports, research tests and results, communicative disorder articles, student files, and department correspondence.
• Educational Psychology Department negatives, 1972-1973 (MSS 3819). This collection contains negatives of students and projects for the Brigham Young University Educational Psychology Department. There are also some contact print sheets of the negatives.
• Department information, 1987-1991 (UA 900). Contains admissions procedures, course outlines and syllabi, program descriptions, handouts, examinations, handbooks, minutes, forms, accreditation reports, faculty vitae, policies, class schedules, and College of Education booklets.

Department of Dance

• A History of Ballroom Dance at Brigham Young University from 1875 to 1998: Focusing on the Significant Contributions of Selected Directors (378.2 W784 1998). Gives a chronological history of the Ballroom Dance program at Brigham Young University focusing on its many directors and the contributions made by them throughout the program’s development.
• The History of Ballet at Brigham Young University (318.2 Sm64 1986). A history of the ballet program at Brigham Young University covering the years 1964 to 1984. Includes information on the inception of the program.
• Records, 1959-2000 (UA 1140). Collection concerning the Department of Dance, and includes dance instructions for a wide variety of dances, Mutual Improvement Association files, meeting minutes, reports, surveys, reviews, memoranda, correspondence, and other materials for the period between 1959 and 2000.

English Department

• Records, 1934-1935 (​UA 20). Collection includes typewritten essays, stories and poems written by members of an English class taught by Alice Louise Reynolds.
• Department files of English Composition, 1975-1983 (UA 1050). English Composition is a branch of Brigham Young University’s English Department. This collection contains English Composition’s history from 1975-1983. The collection includes scrapbooks, papers, publications, poetry, etc.
• Test booklets, 1986 (MSS 1876). Test booklets on various topics from the English Department.
• Department chair records, 1951-1972 (UA 573). Includes correspondence, minutes, financial reports, grades, curriculum, etc. Restricted access; permission required from the University Archivist.
• English Composition records, 1976-2003 (UA 1338). English Composition is a branch of Brigham Young University’s English Department. This collection contains information pertaining to the English Composition Department. The collection is divided into five series. I. English Research Files (1998-2003). II. Syllabi (2001-2003). III. General Files (1991-1999). IV. Grade Rolls (1992-2002). V. Student Essays (1976-1978). The Research series contains research proposals and materials from both the faculty and students. Syllabi series contains syllabi from English 115 and Advanced Writing classes during the given years. General Files series contains evaluations and other information pertaining to the department. Grade roles series contains grades from English 115 and Advanced Writing during the given years. Student essays series contains essays from English 115 and Advanced Writing during the given years.
• Records, 1978-2006 (UA 1343). This collection contains information and materials concerning three faculty members of the Brigham Young University English Department, namely Leslie Norris, Louise Plummer, and Sally Taylor. Some of their writing samples, memos, newspaper clippings, and paperwork are included in this collection.
• Records, 1987-1990 (UA 1208). This collection consists mainly of syllabi from various English classes from 1987-1990. There is also a folder of correspondence dated from the same time period.

Department of French and Italian

• Records, 1962-1997 (UA 1043). This collection has four series. The first series–Karen Pierotti–contains records kept by the department secretary. It includes correspondence of the Dean, old French exams for French 101, 102, and graduate students. There are also pamphlets and reports regarding language instruction in the schools and at the Missionary Training Center. Karen Pierotti also kept records of the department faculty meetings and the advisory council meetings. The second series–Jennifer Malroney–were kept by another department secretary. This series has correspondence with BYU, other universities, prospective faculty, and students. It also holds the department chair records for Thomas (Tom) Brown. The third series–Madison U. Sowell–holds the records of his career as a professor and as department chair of the French and Italian Department. His professional records includes student letters of recommendation; correspondence with BYU administration, department faculty, students, other universities, and professional correspondence with publishing companies; the Italian Club Newsletter L’Aurora; Honors Program class notes and information; and notes and information for the General Education Council he served on. The fourth and final series–L. Gary Lambert–contains research notes on French authors and French literature, course and teacher evaluations for both French and Religion classes, French course drafts and manuals written by Lambert, Correspondence–personal and professional, study abroad notes, and doctoral dissertation notes and research.
• Records, 1960-1999 (UA 1190). This collection includes test information, meeting minutes, GPA summaries, class lists, and correspondence.
• Records, 1960-2002 (UA 1366). This collection contains information pertaining to faculty members of the Department of French and Italian. Included are Department memos, correspondence, and personal faculty information.

Department of Geological Sciences

• Laboratory Manual for Physical Geology (UA 31). Topographical maps concerning common minerals, rocks, and basic geology.
• Laboratory Manual for Historical Geology (UA 426). Includes a student manual for an introductory class in historical geology at BYU.
• Pamphlet, 1959 (UA 55). Collection includes a list of student publications in the Brigham Young University Research Studies, Geology Series produced from 1954-1958 under the supervision of the Geology faculty.
• Glass lantern geography slides, approximately 1945-1951 (MSS P 644). Glass lantern geography slides, circa 1945-1951 collection contains 29 boxes of geology related glass lantern slides. Glass slides are not accessible for patron use.
• Records, 1971-1991 (UA 1196). This collection pertains to the Department of Geology and includes meeting minutes, scholarship information, TA contracts, geology newsletters, photographs, negatives, slides, annual reports, and theses.

Department of Linguistics and English Language

• Records, 1957-2004 (UA 1222). Collection includes a history of the department, correspondence, concordance of Mormon scriptures, documents from the Translation Sciences Institute, commencement, internships, scholarships, and graduate school materials. Topics include course syllabi, lecture notes, exams, newspaper clippings, student internship records, commencement exercises, and graduation lists.

Department of Mechanical Engineering

• Records, 1957 (UA 397). Course outline, final examination, and letters concerning grade requirements and student absenteeism.
• Records, 1980-1982 (UA 1383). This collection contains files regarding the Engineering CAM (Computer Aided Manufacturing) Lab, including financial records, correspondence, budgets, annual reports, time card records, and awards.
• Records, 2001-2006 (UA 5288). This collection contains: news clips of competitions and events that Mechanical Engineering students participated in; details about the ME Capstone program- what it’s about, what students learn in the program, sponsors & projects; 2006 ME Dept Profile; ME Dept Self-Study Report 2002 ABET Visit; ME Dept Strategic Plan 2005-2008; State of the Dept: Presentations made at the annual faculty retreat 2001-2006; and ME Dept Annual Dept Review 2006. 

Department of Military Science

• Records, 1918-1919 (UA 110). Records of the BYU Reserve Officer’s Training Corps. Collection includes reports, memoranda, schedules, lists, statements and correspondence concerning construction, Utah States War Department, George H. Brimhall, and Brigham Young University students in the United States Army.
• Air Force ROTC records (UA 5537). This collection contains historical records from the Brigham Young University Air Force ROTC. The collection includes photographs, newsletters, biographical sketches, and scrapbooks.
• Records, 1954-1957 (UA 392). Records of the Department of Military Science. Contains sample course outlines, exams, recruitment letter, and enrollment guidelines.
  Brigham Young University war service letter, 1954-1961 (UA 813). Newsletters contain information on what BYU has to offer to the returning service man, information on the activities of service men who attended BYU and other interesting bits of news.
• Minutes, 1991-1993 (UA SC 104). Records of the Department of Military Science. Contains the department meeting minutes for 1991-1993.
• Records (UA 5549). This collection includes student records, correspondence, minutes, and faculty files of the Brigham Young University Department of Military Science.

Department of Physiology and Developmental Biology

• Records, 1960-1994 (UA 1195). The collection contains the meeting minutes of the Department of Zoology from 1960-1978 as well as miscellaneous awards from 1984-1994. These awards include the Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Teacher Award, the Karl G. Maeser Research and Creative Arts Award, the Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Teaching Award, the Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award, and the Phi Kappa Phi Faculty Award.

Department of Political Science

• Records, 1952-1965 (UA 526). Includes correspondence of the Department Chair, examinations, class outlines, and student term papers selected by the Department.
• Records, 1955-1956 (UA 267). Collection includes multiple choice and essay examinations administered to senior students majoring in political science.
• General College records, 1959-1961 (MSS 581). Newspaper clippings, surveys, articles, reports, brochures, and statements that were collected by the Political Science Department of Brigham Young University. The materials relate to the issues involved in “Proposition Nr. 1” which would repeal the “council-manager” form of government for the city of Provo, Utah.
• Department of Government records, 1968-1981 (UA 705). The Department of Political Science existed briefly as the Department of Government, ca. 1971-1981.
• Records, 1965-1993 (UA 1200). This collection consists of three series. The first is simply correspondence with those in the Political Science Department and also meeting minutes. The second and third consist of student papers and student files.

Department of Psychology

• Clinical psychology records (UA 5440). This collection includes American Psychology Association accreditation reports, accreditation handbooks, annual self-study reports, and a newsletter from the Association of Psychology Postdoctoral and Internship Centers.

Department of Recreation Management and Youth Leadership

• Records, 1982-1997 (UA 1192). Included in this collection are accreditation reports, scholarly journals, symposium notes and programs, course outlines, leave of absence forms, minutes, evaluations, and surveys.

Department of Sociology

• Records, 1940-1970 (UA 554). Includes records and correspondence of the department chair, department meeting minutes, general department information, and a brief history of the department, 1906-1954.
• Records, 1955-1989 (UA 1251). This collection is made up of two series. The first consists of department meeting minutes, faculty class schedules, and faculty load reports, along with other miscellaneous reports, self-studies, and correspondence. The second series consists of part-time faculty files. 

Department of Teacher Education

• Records, 1973-1995 (UA 1245). This collection contains correspondence and information about the restructuring of the elementary program. 

School of Accountancy

• School of Accountancy and Information Systems 1876-1990, J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott School of Management, Brigham Young University (HF 5001 .W66x 1991). Gives a history of the School of Accountancy, including its origins and evolution over time.
• School of Accountancy records, 1976-1995 (UA 5305). Series I: Contains budgets, audits and memorandums from the School of Accountancy. Series II: Contains faculty files and department meeting minutes. Series III: Contains reports, letters and minutes of the Institute of Professional Accountancy from Department Chair K. Fred Skousen.

School of Family Life

• Records, 1978-1998 (UA 1206). This collection consists of annual reports of the Marriage and Family Therapy Department, correspondence, meeting minutes, admissions information, and student records.

School of Music

• Biographical Sketches of BYU Music Department Faculty, undated (UA 305). Contains brief biographical sketches of Gustav Buggert, Don L. Earl, George W. Fitzroy, Joseph Keeler, Lawrence Sardoni, John Wakefield, Franklin Madsen, and Gerrit de Jong.
• John R. Halliday papers (MSS 4105). The collection primarily tracks Halliday's career in music education at Brigham University; it includes course materials, memory and photo scrapbooks, sheet music, choral instruction manuals, and microfilm recordings of individual student recitals, group concerts.
• School of Music faculty historical information files (UA 5538). This collection contains histories of faculty members who taught in the Brigham Young University School of Music between 1925 and 2008. The histories consist of oral histories, scrapbooks, reminiscences, and musical performances. The oral histories are in both DVD format and printed. The music is on DVDs.
• Records 1931-1971 (UA 522). Contains files of the department chair, and general department and faculty records, including correspondence, minutes, procedures, publications, and a sampling of class outlines and examinations.
• Music programs, 1948-2000 (UA 761). Annual compilations of programs distributed at music performances. Each volume contains programs for a given school year. Collection lacks volumes for 1982-83 through 1995-96; also 1997-98 and 1998-99.
• A. Harold Goodman papers (MSS 6931). The A. Harold Goodman papers contains notes regarding the revision of the Mormon hymnbook, agendas regarding meetings of the Music Department, a program for a production put on by the church, and two copies of sheet music called "I Heard Him Come."
• Records, 1973-1996 (UA 1226). This collection contains documents outlining music classes given at BYU, different musical teaching opportunities, how to teach children music, and various files on primary and the Music Department.
• Compiled Information on the Alfred Newman Concert at Brigham Young University, [1987] (UA 835). Concert sponsored by the BYU College of Fine Arts and Communications in memory of Alfred Newman and Ken Darby, film composer and film music arranger, respectively. Includes program; advertisement; article from "The Cue Sheet"; and twenty-eight photographs of Ken Darby, performers, guests, and recording equipment. Compiled in 1997 by James V. D'Arc.

Alumni Association

• Alumni Association deceased alumni records, 1875-2006 (UA 636). This collection contains information on deceased alumni gathered by the Alumni Association. It consists primarily of obituaries and student information sheets which contain vital information on the deceased. Birth dates, marriage dates, death dates, dates of attendance at BYU. Spousal and family information should be recognizable by viewing the obituary and included student information of each deceased alumni.
• Records, 1893-1975 (UA 541). Includes constitution, by-laws, and procedures of the Association. Also includes lists of officers, members, and organizations; also records of fund drives, activities and projects. Also includes receipt books, minutes, correspondence, surveys, news clippings, press releases, and class and club histories.
• Record of life memberships, approximately 1900-1950 (UA 975). One bound volume listing the life members of the Brigham Young Alumni Association. The memberships appear to have been purchased in the early to mid-twentieth century.
• Records, 1905-1922 (UA 130). Collection includes handwritten and typewritten summary lists of donations, endowments and contributions to the Karl G. Maeser Memorial Building exclusive of the property in deed of trust and the appropriations of the trustee-in-trust, and a brief financial history of Brigham Young University.
• Historical records, 1937-1987 (UA 1006). This collection includes periodicals and records of alumni activities including Homecomings and Founder’s Day celebrations.
• Alumni Relations records, 1955-1983 (UA 1133). This collection contains various records, correspondence, and articles relating to Alumni Relations. Contains information pertaining to Aspen Grove, Athletic Activities, Development, Faculty, and other files.
• Records, 1967 (UA 450). Contains information and addresses about Founder’s Day at BYU. Also includes two addresses by Harold B. Lee and Karl Maeser.
• Activity files, 1967-1988 (UA 968). This collection includes files and correspondence from the Alumni Association's activities for Founders' Days, homecomings, and reunions.

BYU Broadcasting

• KBYU: BYU Broadcasting: The Beginning: An Autobiographical Sketch, written by Owen Rich (BX 8670.1 .R375 2010). Includes several chapters regarding the creation and service of KBYU radio and television in its early years, as well as chapters relating to its later history and success.
• Personal histories of Owen S. and Ora Rich, 1922-2006 (MSS 5784). Owen S. Rich was a pioneer of radio and television programming at Brigham Young University. He taught in the Department of Communications and was the founder of KBYU-FM and KBYU television. This collection includes information relating to the communications courses that Rich taught at BYU. It also includes an autobiography of his career in broadcast education.
• Audiotapes and related records, 1934-1983 (UA 1311). KBYU reel-to-reel tapes, program logs, photos, negatives, and slides.
• BYU-related photographs and material, 1940-1960 (UA 1142). This collection contains photographs and other materials related to the history of KBYU television and radio.
• Owen S. Rich papers, 1949-1998 (MSS 2127). This collection includes information relating to the communications courses that Rich taught at BYU. It also includes an autobiography of his career in broadcast education.
• Department records, 1962-1987 (UA 1017). Records of the Broadcast Services Department. The records were organized into six series: I. Correspondence, 1969-1985; II. Meeting Minutes, 1976-1987; III. Committees and Councils, 1976-1979; IV. KBYU, 1962-1987; V. Organizations, 1972-1985; and VI. Broadcast Services General Files, 1962-1985.
• Records, 1964-1967 (UA 282). Records of the Learning Resource Division (since the 1970’s, the Resources Division has been known as Broadcast Services). Collection includes files of the director, assistant directors and departments, and a brief history of the division.
• Records, 1975-1989 (UA 1209). Records of the Broadcast Services Department.  This collection consists of correspondence for KBYU, agendas and schedules for radio and television broadcasts, and minutes of meetings.
• William Rolfe Kerr files, 1976-1983 (UA 933). Administrative files of W. Rolfe Kerr, executive vice president at BYU, 1980-1984. Includes files relating to KBYU (radio and television and other topics. Includes correspondence, reports, and other information, some predating Kerr’s appointment.
• Speech and videos on KBYU, 1987-1990 (UA 989). This collection contains a speech given by Rich on the establishment of KBYU. It also includes a video documenting Rich’s career at KBYU.

Additional sources on other university-related topics can be found in the following tabs, or by searching in our finding aids database or in the library ScholarSearch tool by department name.

In addition to the secondary sources above, the University Archives houses collections related to student life. These include the records of student organizations, as well as personal papers of former students. Below is a sampling of the materials available in the archives:

General Sources

• Associated Students of Brigham Young University histories, 1922-1986 (UA 1081). The volumes in this collection contain meeting minutes, photocopies of newspaper articles, correspondence, brochures, pamphlets, and other miscellaneous items that were deemed to have a historical nature.
• "Coeds living on fifty cents a day, 1958" (UA 384). Articles and correspondence regarding several coeds who fed themselves for fifty cents daily.
• Brigham Young Academy minutes of the Committee of the B.Y. Academy, January. 18, 1878 (UA 342). Contains minutes of a social committee planning a party for BYA students of 1878.
• Brigham Young University single photo file, 1890s-1980s (UA 869). Contains images of students, faculty, activities, and organizations at Brigham Young University. Includes images of alumni; student officers; Alpine Summer School; assemblies; devotionals; BYU Bookstore; BYU-Hawaii; campus royalty; views of campus, including aerial views; building dedications; cheerleaders and other pep groups; Cosmo, the school mascot; individual colleges; dance groups; live cougars; exhibits; faculty; Board of Trustees; homecoming parades; Leadership Week; Education Week; ROTC; instrumental and vocal performing groups; dramatic productions; school registration; Program Bureau; clubs; debate team; Benjamin Cluff’s South American expedition; Timp Hike; and Y-Day.
• Brigham Young University ephemera, 1931- (UA 829). The ephemera files contain flyers and mailings given to students and faculty on campus dealing with upcoming events, bookstore sales, clubs, and off-campus activities.

Clubs

• Records, 1880-1895 (UA 226). Records of the Polysophical Society. Collection includes meeting minutes, programs, membership records, and party invitations. Also includes a brief history and correspondence from Herald Clark to Ernest Wilkinson concerning Polysophical Society as forerunner of lyceum course.
• Records, 1903-1905 (UA 188). Records of the Railto Club, Brigham Young University Chapter. Collection includes bound 76 page journal of the club and materials concerning debate topics. This club was a student debate organization.
• Records, 1912-1916 (UA 190). Records of the College Club. Collection includes Valentine card, club membership list, correspondence, cancelled check, and bound volume of club records.
• BYU Women records, 1914-2004 (UA 545). Collection contains scrapbooks and minute books that document the history of BYU Women. The scrapbooks include news clippings, announcements, programs, newsletters, membership directories, photographs, minutes, invitations, reports, constitution and by-laws, and the correspondence of various presidents of the club from between 1914 and 2004. BYU Women’s club included BYU women faculty and faculty wives.
• Intercollegiate Knights records, 1922-1990 (UA 810). This collection contains minutes of meetings, national newsletters, pictures, guidebooks, correspondence, and other various tokens from the national organization of the Intercollegiate Knights from between 1922 and 1990. The Intercollegiate Knights is a national service fraternity.
• Records, 1926-1961 (UA 461). Records of the Gamma Phi Omicron, Brigham Young University Chapter. Includes the constitution, history, minutes, membership lists, financial records, scrapbooks, photo albums. Gamma Phi Omicron was the honorary sorority of Home Economics.
• Scrapbook collection, 1927-1982 (UA 872). Collection contains photographs, letters, announcements, and memorabilia from various campus groups and clubs.
• Brief descriptions of some BYU clubs and social organizations (UA SC 39). Includes descriptions of the Faculty BYU/Women’s Organization, Y.X. Lady Missionaries, Blue Key National Honor Fraternity, Beta Beta Beta, Future Teachers Society, White Key and Gold Y.
• Records, 1932-1977 (UA 465). Records of the Alice Louise Reynolds Club.  Includes minutes, correspondence, scrapbooks, programs, financial reports, and study courses of various chapters. Also includes news clippings, tributes, an autobiography, and correspondence concerning Reynolds, and records of a project for a room in the library in remembrance of Reynolds.
• Records, 1935-1975 (UA 415). Records of the Society of the Sigma Xi, Brigham Young University Chapter. Includes petitions, correspondence, constitution and by-laws, membership lists, minutes, reports, and a copy of the Sigma XI Half Century Record and History 1886-1936.
• Papers, 1935-1979 (MSS 2087). Papers of Oliver R. Smith, an instructor and faculty member at Brigham Young University, 1938-1942, and 1946-1978. Includes files on BYU student clubs, including Delta Phi, Kappa Tau Alpha, Omega Nu, and Sigma Delta Chi. Also includes files relating to organizations with which he was affiliated, including US Air Force Reserve, Association of Educators of Journalism, Rocky Mountain Collegiate Press Association, National Council of College Publications Advisers, Red Cross, and Sons of Utah Pioneers.
• Records and minutes of the Associated Men Students of BYU, 1941-1945 (UA 376). Includes minutes of meetings concerning Y-Day plans, social and activity surveys, tuxedo bureau, rules for song contests, ice carnival, skits, and radio programs.
• Records, 1943-1962 (UA 462). Records of Y Calcares, a student service club: includes pledge book, minute book, and histories.
• Constitution of the "Y" Psychological Society (UA 369). One page constitution that defines the purpose of the society, the roles of officers and faculty advisors, membership eligibility, fees, and meeting schedules for the society.
• Brigham Young University chapter records, 1947-1954 (UA 1248). Ledger containing the meeting minutes of the Brigham Young University chapter of the Phi Eta Sigma Honor Society.
• Gold Y Chapter records, 1947-2002 (UA 742). Collection includes minutes, correspondence, reports, scrapbook pages, photographs, and financial records from the Gold Y Chapter from between 1947 and 2002. Also includes some minutes and correspondence from the national Intercollegiate Knights organization. The Gold Y Chapter of the Intercollegiate Knights was founded on the Brigham Young University Campus in 1941. Gold Y was the 23rd college service fraternity to associate itself with the national organization.
• Records, 1963-1969 (UA 1213). Records of Dileas Chalean, a campus organization for women interested in doing service. This collection contains a compilation of official documents, correspondence, minutes, photographs, and records detailing the organization and activities of Dileas Chalean.
• Cycling Club records, 1969-1972 (UA 1323). This collection contains copies of the bylaws of the BYU Cycling Club, a brief history of the club written by Keith M. Cottam, files related to the club, and materials related to the League of American Wheelman, Inc.
• Square Root Club records (MSS 6829). The Square Root Club collection contains the records concerning the Square Root Club, which was established in 1956 and lasted until 1985. These records include meeting minutes, scrapbooks, and ephemera records. The ephemera collected from the years of the Square Root Club’s existence, with bulk dates beginning in 1971 and ending at 1985.
• YUSA Clubs papers, 1972-2005 (UA 5405). This collection contains materials concerning clubs on campus administered by Brigham Young University Student Association (BYUSA).
• Records, 1987-1991 (UA 899). Phi Kappa Phi Records, Brigham Young University Chapter. Records include annual reports, correspondence, meeting minutes, financial records, agendas, election information, member information, and newspaper clippings.

Devotionals and Forums

• Brigham Young University multimedia records, 1941-2000 (UA 1197). This collection contains audiotapes and videotapes of commencement exercises, annual university conferences, theatre and musical performances, devotionals and firesides, and other addresses given at Brigham Young University.
• Brigham Young University reel-to-reel tapes, 1948-1995 (UA 1300). This collection contains reel-to-reel tapes of forums, devotionals, commencement addresses, Education Week classes and devotionals, General Conference addresses and other on-campus conferences, seminars and lectures from April 6, 1948 to July 23, 1985.
• Devotional and fireside speeches of the year, 1951-1996 (UA 995). This collection contains copies of speeches given at Brigham Young University devotionals and firesides from 1951-1996 and copies of the “Speeches of the Year” booklets.
• Speeches on audio cassette tapes, 1954-1988 (UA 994). Audio cassette tapes of speeches made during BYU devotionals, firesides, and other meetings. Most are recordings of General Authorities of the LDS Church.
• Correspondence, 1955-1971 (UA 440). Records of the University Publications Department. Includes correspondence with devotional and forum speakers regarding the publication of their addresses by BYU Extension Services.
• Brigham Young University forum records, 1970-1998 (UA 1148). This collection contains materials dealing with the Brigham Young University forum assemblies for the years 1970 through 1998. This includes speaker nomination and review files, speaker background files, copies of forum addresses, and related correspondence.

Honor Code

• Domestic Department records, 1879-1881 (UA 239). Collection includes domestic department records with typewritten transcript of minutes and description of organization for maintaining honorable conduct.
• Domestic Department records, 1879-1900 (UA 195). Collection includes minutes of meetings and lists of students involved. The Domestic Organization, created by Karl G. Maeser, concerned itself with regulating student life through a self-policing system. It concentrated on curfew times, boarding house regulations and adherence to the Word of Wisdom. The 1884-1885 volume also includes minutes of the missionary meetings and the general theology class.
• B Y and You!, 1950-1951 (UA 5285). Pamphlet produced by Brigham Young University to orient new students to campus. It includes information on the honor code, student life, songs and yells, and athletics as well as messages from campus leaders.
• History of the formal honor system at Brigham Young University during the first ten years, 1950-1960 (UA 64). Collection includes a report on the history of the Honor System at Brigham Young University since its formal adoption and an analysis of its major problems.  It also discusses the attitudes of students and faculty and methods of operation used by the Honor Council.
• Miscellaneous items on the BYU honor system, 1957-1960 (UA SC 56). Includes student handbooks and two recommendations to the faculty council on the honor code.
• Tributes, 1969-1979 (UA 971). This collection contains tributes to Brigham Young University that were gathered during the administration of President Dallin H. Oaks.  Topics include the cleanliness of the campus, the honor code and the appearance of students and faculty.
• Pamphlets concerning the Honor Code, 1974-1994 (UA 1022). This collection contains pamphlets from the Honor Code office, the student associations, and from the Athletic Department explaining the Honor Code.

Housing

• Joseph Nelson blueprints of Amanda Knight Hall, 1939 (UA 444). Collection includes 5 blueprints of Amanda Knight Hall created by Nelson in 1939.
• Records of the director of married student housing, 1949-1971 (UA 537). Includes sampling of correspondence, memos and other materials relating to the operation of this office.
• Student housing pamphlets, 1950-1966 (UA SC 60). Includes pamphlets issued to students about the housing policies and etiquette.
• Records of naming and dedicating Heritage and Helaman Halls, 1956-1958 (UA 409). Includes internal correspondence about the naming and dedication of Heritage and Helaman Halls. Also includes correspondence with the family organizations representing those individuals whose names are associated with each Hall.

Student Government

• Associated Women Students of Brigham Young University: Report (UA 592). This report lists the officers of the Associated Women Students of BYU for the years 1922-1956.
• Histories, 1922-1986 (UA 1081). The volumes in this collection contain meeting minutes, photocopies of newspaper articles, correspondence, brochures, pamphlets, and other miscellaneous items that were deemed to have a historical nature regarding the Associated Students of Brigham Young University.
• Constitution of the Associated Students of Brigham Young University, 1935 and 1962 (UA 433). Includes ASBYU constitutions for 1935 and 1962.
• Records and minutes of the Associated Men Students of BYU, 1941-1945 (UA 376). Includes minutes of meetings concerning Y-Day plans, social and activity surveys, tuxedo bureau, rules for song contests, ice carnival, skits, and radio programs.
• BYUSA records, 1988-1991 (UA 1329). The collection contains one series. I. BYUSA Student Files, 1988-1991. The series contains information related to the Multicultural Services and BYUSA. The series has reports, financial reports, letters, pamphlets, and scholarship information.

Homecoming Week

• Women’s Office History, 1975-1982 (UA 908). This collection contains information on the Homecoming Queen pageant that was an important part of early Homecomings.
• Brigham Young University, 1875-1987 (UA 1164). Includes a list of home-coming queens, school songs and traditions, and other statistical and historical information.
• Single photo file, approximately 1890s-1980s (UA 869). This collection includes photographs of Homecoming parades as well as other campus events.
• Brigham Young University Homecoming Queen photographs (UA 5398). Collection of photographs and hand-tinted photographs of Brigham Young University Homecoming Queens. Each photograph is 25 by 21 inches in size and documents the Homecoming Queens from the years 1937-1942, 1944-1960, 1964-1975, and 1977-1987.
• Historical records, 1937-1987 (UA 1006). Records of the Brigham Young University Alumni Association. This collection includes periodicals and records of alumni activities including Homecomings and Founder’s Day celebrations from 1968 to 1974 as well as information on other Alumni Association programs.
• Activity files, 1967-1988 (UA 968). Files of the Brigham Young University Alumni Association. This collection contains information on Homecoming events from 1975 to 1981 as well as information on Founders Day events from 1967 to 1979.
• Homecoming Parade construction slides (MSS 6754). This collection contains color slides from the Brigham Young University 1970 Homecoming Parade floats construction.

Newspapers

• Editors and business managers of the Daily Universe and predecessors, 1898-1957 (UA 451). Includes the names of editors and business managers of the Daily Universe and its predecessors. Also includes a newspaper article relating the reminiscences of Alvin G. Hubbard, first editor of the Y News.
• Student publications, 1884-1896 (UA 1108). Includes complete runs of the Academic Review and the BYA Student. Also contains copies of other student publications including The Normal, The Journal of Pedagogy, and The Business Journal.
• White and Blue (Provo, Utah) (UA 5328). Collection contains various issues of the Brigham Young University newspaper, White and Blue. Issues are both loose and bound reference copies.
• Records, 1932-1933 (UA 126). Collection includes budget reports, bids, audits, contracts and correspondence between Franklin S. Harris, Brigham Young University President, 1921-1945, Ralph W. Jenson, Brigham Young University Banyan editor and photographers, printers and designers concerning the preparations of the Banyan and the "Y" News.
• Daily Universe records, 1970-1988 (UA 1371). This collection contains Daily Universe newspaper clippings, financial records (including advertisements, payroll information, and bills), whole copies from the Daily Universe from Sept. 1987 to Jan. 1988, photographs taken for use by the Daily Universe (including an alphabetized collection of prominent Mormons, church leaders, faculty, and other famous people), and proof sheets. 

Performing Groups

• A History of Ballroom Dance at Brigham Young University from 1875 to 1998: Focusing on the Significant Contributions of Selected Directors (378.2 W784 1998). Gives a chronological history of the Ballroom Dance program at Brigham Young University focusing on its many directors and the contributions made by them throughout the program’s development.
• T. Earl Pardoe scrapbook, 1912-1920 (MSS 3283). The scrapbook contains newspaper clippings commenting on Dr. Pardoe’s performances from 1912 to 1920. T. Earl Pardoe was a faculty member at Brigham Young University in the College of Fine Arts and the first head of the drama program. He was also a distinguished musician.
• Dee Winterton collection, 1935-1984 (MSS 2378). This collection consists of nine journals spanning the years from 1971-1984, which chronicle Dee Winterton’s experience as a professor at Brigham Young University, his work with the Ririe-Woodbury dance company, touring with the Brigham Young University Young Ambassadors, and his life with his family in those same years. Also included in the collection are personal papers, correspondence, and photographs relating to Dee’s teaching career, family life, and touring experiences.
• Music programs, 1948-2000 (UA 761). Annual compilations of programs distributed at music performances. Each volume contains programs for a given school year. Collection lacks volumes for 1982-83 through 1995-96; also 1997-98 and 1998-99.
• A History of Folk Dancing at Brigham Young University (378.21 W52). Gives the history of Brigham Young University's Exhibition Folk Dance group including information on leadership, administration, teaching, finance, club membership growth, facilities and equipment, academics and the European tour during the years of 1956-1969.
• Performance photographs, 1960s (UA 1282). Nine images from performances put on by the College of Fine Arts and Communications. The performances were Othello, Joan of Lorraine, and The Man who came to Dinner.
• Liu Yanping photographs, 1972-1996 (MSS SC 3010). Collection of photographs taken by Liu Yanping. Included are images of the Brigham Young University ballroom, folk, and other dance groups, and the Young Ambassadors, performing in Shanghai-Hong Pu, 1972, 1979, 1992, and 1995.
• BYU Young Ambassadors, June 23-August 19, 1973, Central-South America tour (BX 8666.5 .B768). Includes a brief history of the group and the tour, itinerary, tour highlights, diary excerpts of members while traveling, pictures of the tour, newspaper articles about the performers and fan mail.
• BYU Sounds, June-August 1974, South Africa-Rhodesia tour (BX 8666.5 .B767). Includes the performance schedules, quotes documenting press and public response to performances, diary entries from group members, pictures of the tour, etc.
• "Eight weeks of miracles" : the Lamanite Generation tour of Mexico/Central/South America, Summer, 1975 (BX 8648.1 .T374e). A recollection of the tour of this performing group, documenting their travels and the miracles experienced as they were abroad.  Includes pictures from this tour.
• The Dancers Company of Brigham Young University: Its Organization and Management (378.21 P254). Describes the establishment of the Dancer’s Company at Brigham Young University and its activities during its first year of existence.
• China and the Orient 1983 (UA SC 71). Describes the tour of the Brigham Young University Folk Dancers.  Includes program notes and schedules, newspaper articles about the dancers, dairy excerpts of group members while abroad, and pictures of the tour.
• Compiled Information on the Alfred Newman Concert at Brigham Young University, [1987] (UA 835). Concert sponsored by the BYU College of Fine Arts and Communications in memory of Alfred Newman and Ken Darby, film composer and film music arranger, respectively. Includes program; advertisement; article from "The Cue Sheet"; and twenty-eight photographs of Ken Darby, performers, guests, and recording equipment. Compiled in 1997 by James V. D’Arc, curator of Arts and Communication Archives at BYU.

Songs and Yells

• Brigham Young University, 1875-1987 (UA 1164). Includes school songs and traditions and other statistical and historical information.
• Old BYU traditions and accompanying songs (UA SC 36). Item 1. The history of the "Y" Bell and the "Old Y Bell" song. — Item 2. The College Song and revision. — Item 3. The history of the block Y and "The trail of the Y" song. — Item 4. The Athletic Carnival and the Timpanogos song.
• Yells and songs of Brigham Young University, 1900-1960 (UA 330). Includes articles about BYU songs and traditions. Also includes the original BYU yells and songs, and musical scores relating to BYU.
• Brigham Young University hymn (BX 8688 .A1 no.123)Music by Gerrit de Jong, Jr. and text by Clinton F. Larson; publishing date unknown.
• "Brigham Young University" march (AC 901 .A1 no.688). One score by Robert Sauer; published c. 1909.
• Y college yells (BX 8608 .A1 no.4072). Pocket booklet: The Star Spangled Banner — College song — Our glorious banner — When a body — Ach du lieber — Silver bell.
• College song: Brigham Young University (M 1959 .B74 C65 1927). One score by Annie Pike Greenwood, sung to an old melody arranged by William F. Hanson; published in 1927.
• Sing the songs of B.Y.U. (BX 8608 .A1 no.1629). College song — Alma Pater — The old "Y" bell — The trail of the "Y".
• Alma Pater: Brigham Young University pep song (BX 8608 .A1a no.1963). Words by Glenn S. Potter and music by Walt Daniels; published in 1931.
• The Cougar song of Brigham Young University (AC901 .A1a no.4263a). Words and music by Clyde D. Sandgren; published c. 1947.
• Music of the "Y" (AC 901 .A1a no.457). Produced by the Associated students of Brigham Young University, February, 1958 Score and phonodisc: College song — The cougar song — The old “Y” bell — The trail of the “Y” — Alma Pater.
• The Cougar song of Brigham Young University: rise & shout (AC 901 .A1a no.4263b). Words and music by Clyde D. Sandgren; published c. 1975.

Library

• Brigham Young University Library centennial history, 1875-1975 (LD 571 .B672 K58x). An exploration of the first one hundred years of Brigham Young University’s Library, including facilities, budget, staff, collections, reports, etc.
• The early development of library service at Brigham Young University: a fifty year history, 1875-1925 (Z 669 .B75 A1 1972 vol.2 no.4). An exploration of evolution of the library system that occurred within the first fifty years of its creation.  Includes pictures of facilities, librarians, and students at the library.
• Meeting minutes, 1917-1945 (UA 209). Includes minutes of the Library Committee. The Committee was chaired by Alice Reynolds, and included Sidney Sperry, Anna Ollerton, and the University President. Includes small tribute to Annie Gillespie and Alice Reynolds.
• Harold B. Lee Library records, 1954-1976 (UA 549). Includes files of the various departments within the library. Contains correspondence, reports, news clippings, publications, statistics and minutes. Also includes information concerning the J. Reuben Clark, Jr. Library and Brigham Young University Library.
• Harold B. Lee Library files, approximately 1955-1993 (MSS 2207). Collection contains files dealing with collection acquisitions for Brigham Young University Special Collections. Contains records for collection development; integrated library system; Alice Louise Reynolds and other collections; different library departments’ papers; library annual reports, 1955-1985; budgeting requests and records; insurance values reports; library policy and procedure manuals; and other miscellaneous papers.
• A survey of the library of Brigham Young University (027.7792 D759s). A broad survey taken in 1969 upon the invitation of Library Director Donald K. Nelson, with findings based upon interviews with individuals and groups at the university and documentation provided by library staff.  Survey findings are given in regards to recommendations, facilities, financial support, public services, personnel, student use, etc.
• Collected articles about the Harold B. Lee Library, 1991-1995 (UA SC 61). Collected articles concerning electronic advancements, services, donations, etc.
• Harold B. Lee Library 1995 reaccreditation self-study (UA SC 52). A study conducted in 1995, prepared by the Strategic Planning Steering Committee, examining the state and role of the library, its organization, operation, facilities, collections,  and challenges.

Alpine Summer School

• Campus photographs, approximately 1880-1958 (UA 919). Includes views of Aspen Grove, the Alpine Summer School, and the Timpanogos Hike.
• College of Biology and Agriculture photographs, approximately 1891-1969 (UA 823). Includes images of the Alpine summer school botany classes, 1922-1924 and Alpine summer school faculty, 1928-1930 and 1941.
• John R. Stewart letter to Franklin S. Harris, 1921 (UA 254). Letter confirming donation of Aspen Grove to BYU from John R. Stewart, Scott P. Stewart, Joseph Nelson, Rose Young Stewart, and Melissa R. Stewart.
• Franklin S. Harris Office of the President records, 1921-1945 (UA 1089). Includes the records generated by Harris during his service as president of Brigham Young University. Includes some information on Aspen Grove.
• Papers, 1924-1929 (UA 132). Papers of Harrison R. Merrill.  Collection includes correspondence, essays and clippings (photocopies) to and from Merrill concerning his publications in newspapers and periodicals, the Alpine Summer School, Brigham Young University athletics, curricula and religious atmosphere.
• Wayne B. Hales photographs, approximately 1926-1940 (MSS 2199). This collection includes images relating to the Alpine Summer School, Mount Timpanogos, Aspen Grove, Utah Lake, and the city of Provo.
• Highlights of the B. Y. U. summer school, Alpine term (BX 8605.1 .W41 vol.2). Includes a brief description of special courses of study, meetings, visits of General Authorities, excursions, recreation, etc.
• The Alpinian, 1939 (UA SC 107). This was the yearbook for the summer school students of Brigham Young University held at Aspen Grove.

BYU Store

• Records, 1952-1995 (UA 1223). Records of the Student Auxiliary Services. This collection details the workings of the Brigham Young University Department of Student Auxiliary Services. It is comprised of staff minutes, programs, clippings, and reports outlining the various objects and activities which the Student Auxiliary Services dealt with.  It also includes information on the bookstore.
• New Brigham Young University Bookstore Due in Two Years (082 A1 no.41). A brief article in the "Publisher’s Weekly" journal discussing the BYU Bookstore as it existed in the 1950s and the plan to begin construction on a new store in 1961.
• Records, 1994-1998 (UA 1149). This collection contains correspondence, meeting minutes, reports, policies, subject files, and other items necessary to the functioning of the Administrative Vice President’s office. Includes information on the BYU Bookstore.

Student Health Center

• Records, 1940-1959 (UA 499). Records of the McDonald Student Health Center. Includes reports, records, and correspondence concerning the operation of the Health Center.
• McDonald Student Health Center reports, 1966-1989 (UA 819). Eleven reports concerning various topics such as student and faculty views of BYU counseling and health centers; quality of clinical services; statistics of marital status, age, dependents, year in college, gender, employment status, and other factors; insurance coverage; and finances. Also includes a brief chronology of the history of the McDonald Health Center.
• Student Health Center minutes (UA 5312). This collection contains minutes from meetings of the Brigham Young University Health Center from 1975 to 1984.

Timpanogos Hike

• Timpanogos Summit Club pin-back buttons, 1912-1962 (MSS SC 2994). Buttons given to participants in the annual Timpanogos Hike held 1912-1971.
• Eugene L. Roberts papers, 1912-1972 (UA 562). This collection documents Eugene L. Roberts’ life and includes information on the Timpanogos Hike from 1912 to 1914. 
• Records, 1914-1968 (UA 563). Records of the Recreation Department. This collection includes a series that documents the Timpanogos Hike from 1923 to 1970.
• Postcard, approximately 1920 (UA 1040). This postcard was taken sometime in the 1920s or 1930s of Mount Timpanogos. In the foreground is the old Brigham Young University stadium used for track and football until the 1960s when it was destroyed in order to make room of the Richards Building.
• Lantern slides of a Timpanogos hike, circa 1920s-1950s (MSS P 676). Lantern slides of a Timpanogos hike, circa 1920s-1950s collection contains 26 glass lantern slides of a group hike up Mount Timpanogos.  Requires 24 hours advance notice to access collection.
• Timpanogos hike programs, 1922-1940 (UA 48). Collection includes various printed programs, On the Trail to Timpanogos, 1922-23; the Timpanogos Trail, 1924-26; letterhead Timpanogos Hike, 1928; and a souvenir program Timpanogos Hike, 1940.
• Timpanogos Trail : thirteenth annual hike, July 18 and 19, 1924 (AC 901 .A1a no.4895). A booklet comprised of articles about the Mt. Timpanogos, including an article that provides a brief history of the hike and other articles representing different perspectives of the mountain and hike.
• The annual Mount Timpanogos hike: its origin, background, and development (378.2 Sm6834 1955). This thesis describes the history of the Timpanogos hike up until 1955.

For additional information on aspects of student life at the university, search in our finding aids database or the library's ScholarSearch tool using the terms "Brigham Young University" and "Students", or by topic.

The university has a rich tradition of athletic competition, which is documented in the University Archives. Below is a sampling of materials related to some of the sports on campus:

Written Sources

• A History of the Rocky Mountain Skyline, and Western Athletic Conferences: 1909-1976 (378.22 P225 1976 vol.1-2). Describes the history of the Western Athletic Conference and its two predecessors, the Mountain States Intercollegiate Athletic Conference and the Rocky Mountain Faculty Athletic Conference. Focuses on men’s athletics.
• BYU Sports (GV 691 .B75x). A collection of journals including season rosters, schedules, records, game analyses, interviews and articles.
• The History of Intercollegiate Baseball at Brigham Young University (378.2 Ob6). A history of the intercollegiate baseball program at Brigham Young University from 1900 to 1961. Discusses the development of the program and important participants (both coaches and players).
• The History of Intercollegiate Wrestling at Brigham Young University (378.2 C462 1971 no.2). History of intercollegiate wrestling from 1911 to 1971. It examines three main areas: historical development, contributions of significant wrestlers, and complete won lost records of coaches and teams.
• The History of Intercollegiate Basketball at Brigham Young University (378.2 St357). Describes the development of the basketball program at Brigham Young University. Discusses the university’s involvement with the Rocky Mountain Conference beginning in 1918.
• The History of Intercollegiate Football at Brigham Young University, 1921-1959 (378.2 P65). A history of the intercollegiate football program at Brigham Young University covering the years 1921 to 1959. Describes the reinstatement of football at the university and includes information on the success of the team as well as information on the coaches.
• The History of Intercollegiate Tennis at Brigham Young University (378.2 N588). A history of the intercollegiate tennis program at Brigham Young University. Includes information on the development of the program and important participants in the program (both coaches and players).
• A History of Brigham Young University Track and Field in State, Division, and Conference Contests (378.2 B791). A history of the Brigham Young University track and field teams. Contains information on prominent coaches, team members, and events.
• A History of the Men’s Intercollegiate Gymnastics Program at Brigham Young University (378.2 D924). A history of men’s gymnastics at Brigham Young University. Includes brief biographies of coaches and information on the development of the program
• Cougar Tales (GV 691 .B75 J36x 1984). Paul James, a Utah sports broadcaster, writes about his experiences broadcasting Brigham Young University sports over a twenty year period.
• Greatest Moments in BYU Sports (GV 691 .B75 R62x 1984). Describes some of the greatest moments in Brigham Young University’s football, basketball and golf teams before 1984.
• Cougarmania: A Book of Notes, Quotes, Anecdotes, Commentaries, Frivolity, Lore, and More About BYU Sports (GV 691 .B75 C34 2005). This book examines Brigham Young University athletic program from the fans’ perspective with particular emphasis on football and basketball. It contains a long chapter that is comprised of quotes about the athletic program by individuals associated with it as well as a detailed description of the results of the BYU-Utah football games from 1988 to 2004.

Archives

• Mascots
  • Joseph C. Nelson photographs of Brigham Young University, circa 1920s (UA 1007). This collection consists of forty-seven photographs that document campus life in the 1920s. Subjects include Cleo and Tarbo, the early BYU cougar cub mascots.
  • Records, 1925-1928 (UA 62). This collection includes typescript news release and a program announcing the acquisition of two cougar kittens to become mascots; it also includes their disposition and names.
• Football
  • Athletic Media Relations records on football, 1946-2012 (UA 769). Media guides, player records, photographs, subject files, bowl game records.
  • ​Scrapbooks, [1979-1981] (UA 836). Two volumes relating to Brigham Young University football and basketball. Volume one includes quotes from members of the 1979 football team; images of old Cougar Stadium, the team, and individual players; caricatures and reproductions of photos of coaches LaVell Edwards, Norm Chow, Dick Felt, Garth Hall, Dave Kragthorpe, Mel Jay Olson, Tom Ramage, Doug Scovil, and Fred Whittingham; and newspaper clippings.
  • Brigham Young University basketball and football historical data, 1982-1986 (UA 753). Two volumes about BYU basketball and three volumes about BYU football, containing information about playing facilities, coaches, athletic conferences, individual players, tournaments, won/loss records against different opponents, yearly won/loss records, and individual game scores. The football volumes also include information about homecoming and bowl games. Includes several photographic images.
• Basketball
  • ​University Relations Division scrapbooks on football and basketball, 1979-1981 (UA 836). Two volumes relating to Brigham Young University football and basketball. Volume one includes quotes from members of the 1979 football team; images of old Cougar Stadium, the team, and individual players; caricatures and reproductions of photos of coaches LaVell Edwards, Norm Chow, Dick Felt, Garth Hall, Dave Kragthorpe, Mel Jay Olson, Tom Ramage, Doug Scovil, and Fred Whittingham; and newspaper clippings.
  • Collection of basketball media guides, 1950-2011 (UA 786). Media guides include season schedules, player rosters, season outlooks, profiles of Brigham Young University coaches, coaches of opposing teams, players, and other athletic personnel, lists of BYU lettermen, team won-loss records, tournament results, and other statistics.
• Track and Field
  • ​Photograph of a track meet, approximately 1910 (​UA 1010). The field in this photo was built in 1904 on the site where the present Joseph Smith Memorial Building now stands. It was used for sporting events until April 15, 1932 when it was destroyed by fire.
  • Track meet, April 29-30, 1927 (UA 1219). Two videotape copies of footage of a track meet held at Brigham Young University in 1927.
  • Program for the Mountain States Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Track and Field Meet, 1940 (UA SC 27). The program includes the schedule and finishing statistics of the events.
  • Brigham Young University track and field photographs, 1950-1980 (MSS 3299). This collection contains 54 negatives of the BYU track team and 54 prints made from those negatives. Also in the collection is a slide of the Monte L. Bean Museum and a negative of the BYU stadium.
  • Records of BYU Invitational Track and Field meets, 1936-1960 (UA 443). Includes news clippings of track events, official announcements, some correspondence, and scrapbook memorabilia and pep club records.

For more information on the history of individual colleges at the university, search by college name in our finding aids database of the library's ScholarSearch tool.

The development of the physical layout of campus is documented in the University Archives as well. In addition to the general sources above, a sample of the publications and collections that contain information on the buildings of Brigham Young University follows:

Written Sources

• Karl A. Miller, History of Buildings and Grounds, Development and Maintenance of Brigham Young University: Brigham Young Academy 1875-1903, Brigham Young University 1903-1947, Including Brief Sketches and Additions of Physical Plant Maintenance 1947-1973 (Provo, UT (?): s. n., 1989?)
• Ephraim Hatch, Brigham Young University: A History of the Campus and the Department of Physical Plant, 1875-1975 (Provo: Brigham Young University Physical Facilities Division, 2001)
• Ephraim Hatch, Brigham Young University: A Pictorial History of Physical Facilities, 1875-2001 (Provo, Utah: Physical Facilities Division, Brigham Young University, 2005)

Archives

• Campus building photographs, approximately 1875-1975 (UA 827). Collection includes photographs of most campus buildings, arranged alphabetically by building name. Includes views relating to the Alpine Summer School, athletic stadiums, student housing, and temporary buildings.
• Building dedications, 1892-2001 (UA 877). Collection of flyers, programs, invitations, speeches, dedicatory prayers, and other memorabilia associated with various building dedications on the Brigham Young University campus.
• Collected articles about BYU buildings, ca. 1970-ca. 1989 (UA 626) Collection includes articles concerning the history, dedication and completion of various campus buildings. Articles collected during the 1970s and 1980s.
• Views of campus development, approximately 1974-1991 (UA 923). Collection includes pictorial histories of building construction at Brigham Young University, 1875-1975, arranged chronologically by university president; pictorial survey of BYU Physical Plant Dept., 1974; pictorial histories of individual campus structures built and remodeled during 1970s and early 1980s; and photographs, slides, and negatives of campus buildings and personnel, and other schools operated by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Also includes views of construction of Provo and Jordan River temples as well as views of BYU-Hawaii campus, Ricks College campus, Jerusalem Center for Near Eastern Studies, and Missionary Training Center adjacent to BYU. Materials mostly compiled as part of Ephraim Hatch’s work in BYU Physical Plant Department.
• Janet J. Rex, "BYU Physical Facility Building Histories, 1998" (UA 779). Compiled by Janet J. Rex of Public Communications at Brigham Young University, the document gives summary information about each structure on the BYU campus, including date of construction, its uses, departments housed therein, dates of renovation (if applicable), and, in some instances, anecdotal information.

To examine the complete collection inventory (and any other additional manuscript materials related to this topic), search our finding aids database or the library's ScholarSearch tool by building name or using the terms "Brigham Young University" and "Buildings".