Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Archives: Accessing Records

Guide to the University Archives at L. Tom Perry Special Collections

Using the Archives

The University Archives are located in the L. Tom Perry Special Collections, on the first floor of the Harold B. Lee Library. University publications and unrestricted materials may be accessed directly at the reference desk. Access to restricted materials requires prior approval through the University Archivist. 

University Archives is in the process of reviewing all archived material to ensure collections do not contain personal information that cannot legally be shared. The Archives can still accommodate research requests, but at least 30 days' notice is appreciated. More time may be needed for larger requests. Please submit requests through the Aeon system.

Finding Aids

A Finding Aid is a document that places a collection's materials in context by consolidating information about the collection, such as acquisition and processing; provenance, including administrative history or biographical note; scope of the collection, including size, subjects, media; organization and arrangement; and an inventory of the series and the folders.

To search all University Archives finding aids, visit our finding aids website or try the library's ScholarSearch tool.

Restriction Policies

Access restrictions for University Archives materials are listed in the finding aid. According to university policy, university records are restricted from general use for a period of time after they are created. After that time, they are available to researchers. There are no restrictions on university publications.

University Archivist

Profile Photo
Cory Nimer
Contact:
1130 HBLL
801-422-6091

Visit Special Collections