Welcome
Click on the tabs above to explore resources that will help you with your research in Language and Linguistics. These pages include reference sources (background information), journal articles and reviews, books, primary sources, and other scholarly websites.
There is also a tab for "Related Guides."
Note that a number of the resources listed are available only to the BYU community.
Reference Online
The Blackwell Linguistics Reference Online offers you a number of handbooks & encyclopedias ranging from language acquisition to syntax, from phonetics to writing systems, from English to Japanese.
RefWorks
You can easily input (and format) journal articles, books, websites, and other resources for your paper !
RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that helps you collect and organize citations and access them from any computer with a Web connection.
RefWorks will even take your list and generate a bibliography of references, using APA, MLA, or any other format you select.
When gathering records from other databases, look for instructions for how to directly export your records to RefWorks.
TellMeMore
TellMeMore is a language learning software database you can use to supplement your coursework, maintain and improve your language skills, or just learn a new language in ways that can be playful and fun, including virtual cultural excursions.
Most important for spoken language is the ability to engage with the computer and improve pronunciation through speech-recognition software.
Or... if you miss the way language was taught by your stern high school teacher (and feel you don't deserve fun) there are extra tools for rote learning and grammar explanations.
Current languages available for self-study or supplementing coursework
(in 13 different language interfaces) include:
American English - ESL
British English - ESL Cheers
French
Dutch
German
Italian
Latin-American Spanish
Castilian Peninsular Spanish
After connecting to the database using the link above, sign up for your own individual account.
Then log in, choose your level of language proficiency, and enjoy your language-learning experience!
Recent Acquisitions in Language and Linguistics
These are books in language acquisition and linguistics recently received in the Harold B. Lee Library:
Hyperborean, Native American and artificial languages

Contact Information |
Contact Info 5523 Harold B. Lee Library Brigham Young University Provo, UT 84602 USA phone 801.422.2374 Send Email |
Get Help
Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm
801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu






Loading...
