Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ways to Search For Books
Alphabetical searching, call number searching, etc. of the library collection can be done here along with keyword searching.
Once you identify books from other libraries, you can order them online, through Interlibrary Loan Services. Fill out an online request for the materials, and be sure to allow enough time for arrival (about a week).
Other Libraries - Try WorldCat
Search catalogs of other libraries. You can search specific libraries (academic or public) or national consortia of libraries such as Worldcat.
Versatile search for books, journals, articles, databases and other electronic materials and information. Search Box is at the Top for a Simple or Advanced Search!
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library is a collection approaching 17 million volumes of searchable books, journals, and government documents, including around 7 million available as full-text online.
BYU has joined more than 100 international academic and research libraries as a partner in HathiTrust. For more details about the kinds of content in HathiTrust and to visualize by call numbers, languages, or dates, see Statistics and Visualizations.
The Wiley Language & Linguistics Reference offers you a number of handbooks & encyclopedias ranging from language acquisition to syntax, from phonetics to writing systems, from English to Japanese.
Theses & Dissertations
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1861 - Current. With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.
Electronic Theses and Dissertations - BYU This link opens in a new windowElectronic versions of works submitted to the BYU School of Graduate Studies
CRL's Foreign Dissertations Database (Advanced Search) This link opens in a new windowThrough this growing database, the Center for Research Libraries provides access to over 800,000 foreign doctoral dissertations from more than 90 countries and over 1200 institutions. Search by author, title, institution name, the year the dissertation was defended, language, subject/keywords, and/or translated title.