Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

19th Century Latter-day Saint Movements & Western Manuscripts: Home

Guide to the 19th Century Latter-day Saint Movements & Western Manuscripts Collection at L. Tom Perry Special Collections

Curator, 20th Century Mormon and Western Manuscripts

Profile Photo
John Murphy
Contact:
John Murphy, Curator
1130 HBLL
L. Tom Perry Special Collections
Brigham Young University
Provo, Utah 84602
(801) 422 - 6370

Visit Special Collections

Related Subject Guides

About the 19th Century Latter-day Saint Movements & Western Manuscripts Collection

From the prayerful utterances of an obscure boy in the Sacred Grove near Palmyra, New York, in 1820 to today’s worldwide Church of several million members, the Mormon experience has embraced many peoples and cultures. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints was formally organized on April 6, 1830. From that time until now, the Church has encouraged its members to keep a record of their life’s activities and accomplishments.

In tandem with a record-keeping and “remembering” people, 19th-Century Western and Mormon Manuscripts seeks to document the experiences and accomplishments of Latter-day Saints from all walks of life by collecting as many of their written records as possible. Hence, the collection of 19th-century manuscripts is composed of virtually every kind of written record, including journals, diaries, letters, minute books, speeches, photographs, drawings, and scrapbooks.

In addition to collecting the records of individuals and families, another major goal embraced by this collection is to enhance our understanding of the beginnings and early development of Mormonism and its interactions with the world. With this goal in mind, we especially seek to document the Mormon role in the settlement of the American West. These materials provide an important context for the Mormon experience in the world of 19th- century America, with a specific focus on the history of the American West. Our collections include such topics as westward migration, American Indian history, mining and related activities, the environment, religion, literature, and other topics that help establish the Mormons in the larger history of the region and nation.

Search the Collections