Resources - ELing 324 - History of the English Language (Library Paper) - Subject Guides at Brigham Young University

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Remember to review the bibliographies at the end of encyclopedia articles to find more resources.

Corpora

LDS General Conference Corpus
This website allows you to quickly and easily search talks from General Conference of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (Mormons). This corpus (or collection of texts) contains 25 million words in 11,000+ talks from 1851 to Oct 2021
NOW Corpus (News on the Web)
The NOW corpus (News on the Web) contains 14.6 billion words of data from web-based newspapers and magazines from 2010 to the present time. The corpus grows by about 180-200 million words of data each month.

Primary Documents

Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A major archive of older scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Span more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Utah Digital Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Growing digital collection of early Utah newspapers.
19th Century U.S. Newspaper Digital Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains primary source newspapers from 19th century US. To only see Utah papers, do an advanced search and limit "Place of Publication" to Utah.
NewspaperARCHIVE This link opens in a new window
Find older news articles from 19th century for many Utah communities. Select Utah first from the map and then search either for people or keywords. (Set up a free account to begin)
Newspapers.com Basic This link opens in a new window
Only available on campus. First select "Papers" in upper part of screen, then click on Utah on the map on the left. Be sure to search in the box in the upper right labelled "Search within these papers."
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search the archives of the Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Wall Street Journal, and New York Times and more. Dates range from 1849 to 2005.

Historical Newspaper Archive (Finland) All Finnish newspapers published from 1771 - 1890 have now been digitized.

Historical Newspapers from Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
The Virginia Gazette: 1736 - 1780; African American Newspapers: The 19th Century; The Liberator 1831-1865; The Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800; South Carolina Newspapers: 1732 - 1780

Special Collections Digital Collections
Scanned images of journals, books, documents, photographs, and other materials, primarily from Special Collections, as well as research published by BYU faculty and students.
19th Century Mormon & Western Manuscripts
Guide leading to 19th century Mormon and western manuscripts in Special Collections, including journals, diaries, letters, minute books, speeches, photographs, drawings, and scrapbooks..
Trails of Hope: Overland Diaries and Letters, 1846-1869
Trails of Hope: Overland Diaries and Letters, 1846–1869 is a collection of the original writings of 49 voyagers on the Mormon, California, Oregon, and Montana trails who wrote while traveling on the trail.
Studies in Mormon History
This free online database includes citations to articles, books, and dissertations dealing with the history, culture, and doctrine of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Many entries have links to the full text of an article or dissertation.

Utah Division of State History Digital Collection
Since 1897, the Utah Division of State History/Utah State Historical Society has been preserving and sharing Utah's history. Over 275,000 of our photographs, manuscripts, and films are digitized.
Church History Library Archives
This searches the LDS Church History Library archival collections of diaries, correspondence, photographs, and other personal papers. Some material are available digitally.

Periodical Databases

Linguistics/Language Behavior Abstracts -- LLBA (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window 1973+ Indexes and abstracts articles from 2,000 U.S. and foreign periodicals in language use, linguistics, and related disciplines. Updated twice a year.
America: History and Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A database focusing on the History of the U.S. and Canada. This database includes scholarly articles, book reviews and dissertations dealing with history in the Americas from pre-history to the present. Publication coverage is from 1964 to the present.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1955+ Indexes and abstracts scholarly articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations about literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Alternate title: American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Religion Database (EBSCO). A Religious Studies database. This database produced by the American Theological Library Association includes information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. References come from more than 600 journals and other sources and are in 35 languages. Includes several Mormon journals. Coverage is from 1949 to the present.
Anthropology Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.

To find books, search using the Books & Ebooks function on the library home page, and click on the down arrow in the search box to do an advanced search. Enter terms for related concepts in one box AND utah in another AND other terms related to what you are researching.

Examples:
Box 1: swed* OR scandinavi* ; AND Box 2: utah; AND Box 3: immigrant* OR immigrat* Video Demo

Box1: Utah; AND Box 2: geograph* AND Box 3 Name* Results
Note: * is a truncation symbol.

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PQDT Global connects scholarship from 4,100 universities in over 60 countries, diverse voices, ideas, and perspectives can be viewed within a singular global context. : Each full text dissertation and thesis in PQDT is fully searchable providing an unparalleled resource for text and data mining analysis making connections that generate new insights.

Search for BYU Theses & Dissertations

Electronic Theses and Dissertations - BYU This link opens in a new window
Electronic versions of works submitted to the BYU School of Graduate Studies

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

ELing 324 - History of the English Language (Library Paper): Resources