Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

William A. Wilson Folklore Archives: Folklore Finding Aids

Welcome to the BYU Folklore Archives

Student Folklore Manuscript Collections

Folklore students at Brigham Young University explore different genres of folklore for the purpose of the folklore archives these are divided into 15 genres collections and a collection of BYU student folklore projects. At this time each of these genres has its own index. The index includes a call number and a brief description of the collections. The collections are divided into series.

Physical manuscripts (1960-2019) may be viewed in the L. Tom Perry Special Collection's reading room or digital scans can be requested for individual items. 

Digital manuscripts (2019-present) can be found on the online repository

 

FA 01 Students Project                                                                                                                                                                                                                    Folklore papers written by Brigham Young University students as their final course project.

FA 02 Supernatural Religious Legends                                                                                                                                                                                                  Legends with distinct religious themes.

FA 03 Supernatural Non-religious Legends                                                                                                                                                                                Legends about supernatural events of a non-religious character.

FA 04 Human Condition Legends                                                                                                                                                                                                Legends about various aspects of the human condition, including legends on war, ethnic religious encounters, stereotypes, slaver, migration, poverty and wealth, the law, occupations and avocations, courtship, marriage, family, polygamy, animals, nature, wealth, sickness, human traits and family characters.

FA 05 Character Legends                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Legends about notable characters throughout time.

FA 06 Etiological Legends                                                                                                                                                                                                              Legends that explain the origin of supernatural or social phenomenon.

FA 07 Contemporary Legends                                                                                                                                                                                                                Often contemporary legends are told as having occurred among family or friends, sometimes referred to as a friend of a friend legend.

FA 08 Personal Narrative                                                                                                                                                                                                           Narratives told from a first-person perspective.

FA 09 Folktales and Jokes                                                                                                                                                                                                                Stories that are passed down from generations to generation, often orally.

FA 010 Beliefs                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      Beliefs that are passed down from generation to generation, often informally.

FA 011 Speech                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           The traditional or expressive use of language by ordinary people, including dialect and style.

FA 012 Riddles                                                                                                                                                                                                                                Questions or statements with a double veiled meaning. Riddles also include visual puzzles.

FA 013 Songs                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            Traditional songs often passed down through families or other folk groups.

FA 014 Customs                                                                                                                                                                                                                          Traditional practices passed down from generation to generation, often orally.

FA 015 Games                                                                                                                                                                                                                              Traditional games passed down from generation to generation, often by children.

FA 016 Material Lore                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Refers to objects that people design, create, collect or use, includes the beliefs and practices of the people who use them.

Folklore Manuscript Collections

FA 20 William A. Wilson and John B. Harris Missionary Folklore Collection                                                                                                                       17 Seventeen volumes with more 4,000 LDS folklore missionary items, 1933-2016

MSS 1798 Thomas E. Cheney Papers                                                                                                                                                                                                  Twenty reel-to-reel tapes which record folk songs, typescripts of the recorded folk songs in two volumes, four volumes of folk songs, and one volume of Mormon folk tales. The materials relate largely to Mormon folklore and Mormon folk songs.