It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MEDLINE PlusThis link opens in a new windowThis website is created and maintained by the NLM (National Library of Medicine). The Health Topics option has a list of over 600 topics that provide a variety of types of information about the topic. The information is written by professional health experts. There are full text information, references, and links to additional websites on each topic. This information will provide excellent background information along with much specific information for the topics included. More topics are being added each month.
Encyclopedia of Life SciencesThis link opens in a new windowELS is a comprehensive encyclopedia of all subjects in the life sciences. Each article is written by experts in the discipline of the biological subjects. About 20% of the articles are updated each year.
Databases of Clinical Information
UpToDateThis link opens in a new windowUpToDate covers more than 7,700 topics in 15 medical specialties and includes more than 80,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 260,000 references, and a drug database.
For educational use only.
Micromedex Healthcare SeriesThis link opens in a new windowAlternate title: Thomson Healthcare Academic Program. Micromedex provides a comprehensive knowledge base that will prepare you for success in clinical practice. This clinical knowledge solution offers a reliable, one-stop, easy-to-use resource for pinpointing clinical answers. Access to the following: AfterCare Instructions, AltCareDex, AltMedDex, AltMedDex Points, AltMedDex Protocols, AltMed-REAX for the Patient, CareNotes, ClinicalPoints, Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer, DISEASEDEX Emergency Medicine, DISEASEDEX General Medicine, DRUGDEX, DrugPoints, DRUG-REAX, Herbal Medicines, A Guide for HealthCare, IDENTIDEX, Index Nominum, IV INDEX, Lab Advisor, Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS), P&T QUIK Reports, PDR, POISINDEX, REPRORISK, TOMES, ToxPoints.
Journal Article Databases
MEDLINE (PUBMED)This link opens in a new windowAlternate title: PubMed. MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 25 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. MEDLINE includes literature published from 1966 to present, and selected coverage of literature prior to that period. Currently, citations from more than 5,200 worldwide journals in about 40 languages are added to PubMed 7 days a week.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science Core Collection accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 9,300 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, cited work, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic. Updated weekly 1974
Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
EmbaseThis link opens in a new windowEmbase covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus.
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowContains topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals. The journal provides access to far-reaching clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics.
Search to see if your question has already been answered!
RefWorksThis link opens in a new windowThe new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
ZoteroThis link opens in a new windowA free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.
Mendeley (Elsevier)This link opens in a new windowMendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network. Make your own fully-searchable library in seconds, cite as you write, and read and annotate your PDFs on any device.