Subject Guides: Microbiology and Molecular Biology: Find Articles

Librarian

Greg Nelson

Contact:

2313 HBLL
Provo, UT 84606
(801) 422-9066
greg_nelson@byu.edu

Subjects: Engineering & Technology, Life Sciences, Physical & Mathematical Sciences

Journal Article Databases

Check the boxes next to each database to run a multidatabase search. Enter search terms below in search box.

Best Journal Article Databases

MEDLINE (PUBMED) This link opens in a new window Alternate title: PubMed. MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 25 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. MEDLINE includes literature published from 1966 to present, and selected coverage of literature prior to that period. Currently, citations from more than 5,200 worldwide journals in about 40 languages are added to Pub Med 7 days a week.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Embase This link opens in a new window Embase covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science Core Collection accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 9,300 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, cited work, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic. Updated weekly 1974
Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

More Journal Article Databases

SciFinder This link opens in a new window Alternate title: Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder). First time users must complete an online registration with CAS. After you submit a registration request, CAS will send you an email message with instructions for completing the registration process. During registration, you must provide an email address that ends in byu.edu to be authenticated. Web-based version of SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more! Recommended web browsers: Microsoft Internet Explorer, Versions 6.x and 7.x Mozilla Firefox, Version 2.x Apple Safari 3 JavaScript, Java, and cookies must be enabled. Java runtime environment (JRE) is needed for structure drawing.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.
Agricola (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window AGRICOLA This is an agricultural sciences database that contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library including journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports from the USDA agencies and the U.S. State Agricultural Colleges and Universities. Over 2,000 journals and publication series are indexed and it covers the years from 1979 to the present. The database is updated monthly.
TAIR This link opens in a new window The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) is an online database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model plant Arabidopsis thaliana. TAIR is considered an indispensable resource for thousands of researchers around the world who work with Arabidopsis. TAIR is also commonly used by plant biologists working with other plants because the amount of information available for Arabidopsis is vast compared with most other plants and the research results from Arabidopsis are often directly relevant to other plant species.
Biotechnology Research Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers agricultural products involving both plants and animals, new applications across the food industry, and wide-ranging environmental developments.
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Contains topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals. The journal provides access to far-reaching clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics.
Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925 (Gale) This link opens in a new window This archive of documents covers one of the most vibrant and creative periods in scientific research and discovery, the long nineteenth century. The modern researcher can exploit the more than 3.5 million pages of journals, books, reports, and personal documents to explore the rapid acceleration of scientific, technical, and medical knowledge, tracing the changes from the Newtonian world to that of Einstein, from the horse to the automobile, from medical treatments based on humors and bloodletting to antiseptics and epidemiology. This archive covers every aspect of nineteenth-century science: electricity and electromagnetism, mathematics and engineering, astronomy and astrophysics, color theory and the theory of natural selection, geology and mineralogy, chemistry and medicine. This period was also considered the last great age of discovery, as explorers charted the interiors of the Americas, Asia, Africa, Australia, and the Arctic and Antarctic regions. The documents collected represent the most theoretical pursuits as well as practical applications and popular science. In Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO).
BioOne This link opens in a new window A Biological Sciences database. This database includes major research journals in the biological sciences. Full-text articles available for nearly 70 peer reviewed journals. Coverage is from 1998 to the present.

Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Significant findings and practical applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries are assembled in this journal.
Ingenta This link opens in a new window 1988+ Indexes articles and table-of-contents pages from both general and scholarly journals in all disciplines. Searches by author and keywords in article title and abstract. Check BYU holdings before placing on-line delivery orders. Updated daily.
International Pharmacopoeia This link opens in a new window The International Pharmacopoeia (Ph. Int.) constitutes a collection of recommended procedures for analysis and specifications for the determination of pharmaceutical substances, excipients, and dosage forms that is intended to serve as source material for reference or adaptation by any WHO Member State wishing to establish pharmaceutical requirements. The pharmacopoeia, or any part of it, shall have legal status, whenever a national or regional authority expressly introduces it into appropriate legislation.The history of The International Pharmacopoeia dates back to 1874 when the need to standardize terminology and to specify dosages and composition of drugs led to attempts to produce an international pharmacopoeial compendium.

American Society of Microbiology The home page for the American Society of Microbiology. Contains searchable archives and links to assist with microbiology research.

Zoological Record This link opens in a new window Zoological Record (1978+) indexes worldwide coverage of zoological literature, with particular emphasis on systematics, taxonomic and related information.

Examples of journal article access

Chocolate and cardiovascular disease: a sweet deal? Example of online article at publisher website
Chocolate: A Heart-healthy Food? Show Me the Science! Example of a print journal article
Bitemarks in chocolate: a case report Example of interlibrary loan material

Google Scholar

Have A Good Day!

Human endothelial cell, CD31 positive/ Podoplanin positive
Stained with anti-Podoplanin antibodies, counterstained with H & E

Get Reference Help

Have a Question?

Search to see if your question has already been answered!

Microbiology and Molecular Biology: Find Articles