It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UpToDateThis link opens in a new windowUpToDate covers more than 7,700 topics in 15 medical specialties and includes more than 80,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 260,000 references, and a drug database.
For educational use only.
Micromedex Healthcare SeriesThis link opens in a new windowAlternate title: Thomson Healthcare Academic Program. Micromedex provides a comprehensive knowledge base that will prepare you for success in clinical practice. This clinical knowledge solution offers a reliable, one-stop, easy-to-use resource for pinpointing clinical answers. Access to the following: AfterCare Instructions, AltCareDex, AltMedDex, AltMedDex Points, AltMedDex Protocols, AltMed-REAX for the Patient, CareNotes, ClinicalPoints, Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer, DISEASEDEX Emergency Medicine, DISEASEDEX General Medicine, DRUGDEX, DrugPoints, DRUG-REAX, Herbal Medicines, A Guide for HealthCare, IDENTIDEX, Index Nominum, IV INDEX, Lab Advisor, Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS), P&T QUIK Reports, PDR, POISINDEX, REPRORISK, TOMES, ToxPoints.
Encyclopedia of Life SciencesThis link opens in a new windowELS is a comprehensive encyclopedia of all subjects in the life sciences. Each article is written by experts in the discipline of the biological subjects. About 20% of the articles are updated each year.
Excellent resource to find articles, reviews or case studies
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science Core Collection accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 9,300 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, cited work, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic. Updated weekly 1974
Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Scopus (Elsevier)This link opens in a new windowScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
EmbaseThis link opens in a new windowEmbase covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.
Agricola (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowAGRICOLA This is an agricultural sciences database that contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library including journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports from the USDA agencies and the U.S. State Agricultural Colleges and Universities. Over 2,000 journals and publication series are indexed and it covers the years from 1979 to the present. The database is updated monthly.
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowContains topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals. The journal provides access to far-reaching clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics.
"A Concise Manual of Pathogenic Microbiology is a quick and concise source of information on the causal agents of common infectious diseases. Divided into chapters based on broad taxonomic groupings or similarities between the causal agents, A Concise Manual of Pathogenic Microbiology lists important pathogenic taxa in each group, their natural habitats, the diseases they cause, microbiological highlights, laboratory diagnosis, and measures of prevention and control, including availability of vaccines and effective therapeutic agents"
The text takes a systematic approach to medical microbiology, describing taxonomy of human pathogens and consideration of organisms within specific taxonomic groups. The text tackles main clinical infections caused by different organisms, and supplements these descriptions with clinical case studies, in order to demonstrate the effects of various organisms.
Practical Medical Microbiology is an invaluable resource for students, teachers, and researchers studying clinical microbiology, medical microbiology, infectious diseases, and virology.
Have a Question?
Search to see if your question has already been answered!
Find Magazines and Journals at BYU
Search here to find electronic or print journals at the HBLL.