Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Family History/Genealogy: Genealogy Databases

Genealogy Resources

There are a myriad of online genealogy databases and resources to consult when looking for records for ancestors, depending on the locality and topic of research. The most important and voluminous overall are the four key databases below. For additional sites and resources, visit the BYU Family History Library alphabetical list and resources list

Latter-day Saint Databases

Saints by Sea (1840-1932) contains immigration records for Latter-day Saints coming to America. 

Missionary Database (1830-1930) has missionary records and information.

Pioneer Database (1847-1868) contains information on 61,000 pioneers. 

Joseph Smith Papers contains primary source documents for prominent early members. 

Key Family History Websites

FamilySearch is a shared family tree with numerous free genealogical resources and information.

Ancestry.com (available only on the BYU campus) is an extensive family history database that offers more than 1 billion names.

Findmypast offers more than 1.7 billion international family history records.

MyHeritage and MyHeritage Library Edition (BYU Campus) includes numerous records and more than 3 billion family tree profiles.

Additional Databases

Fold3 provides online access to US military records.

Accessible Archives has American County Histories. 

Online Searchable Death Indexes and Records: A Genealogy Guide

Family History Librarian

Profile Photo
Joe Everett
Contact:
2246 HBLL
Harold B. Lee Library
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT 84062
801-422-7661
Website