Subject Guides: Philosophy, Logic, and Ethics: Additional Resources

Philosophy and Church History/Doctrine Librarian

Contact:

Click the button to set up a short research consultation with me or feel free to email me your questions. I will help in whatever way I can!
gerrit_vandyk@byu.edu

Subjects: Religion & Philosophy

Background on a Philosopher or a Topic

Use these additional encyclopedia to learn more about a philosopher or philosophical topic. These sources can help give you background on your topic but also provide a very valuable bibliography which you can use for further sources for your research.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online This link opens in a new window

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online encyclopedia through the University of Tennessee at Martin, written and peer-reviewed by philosophy scholars.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Macmillan) This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric This link opens in a new window The Encyclopedia of Rhetoric is a comprehensive survey of one of the Western world's oldest disciplines. Its 150 entries, written by leading scholars, bring together expertise in classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, and communications in a comprehensive treatment of the art of persuasion. The Encyclopedia is the most wide-ranging reference work of its kind, combining theory, history, and practice, with a special emphasis on public speaking, performance, and communication.

Find an Article on a Topic or a Philosopher's Work

Enter your keywords to search these additional databases for peer reviewed articles on your topic or about a philosopher's work.

PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
Index of over 2 million works of philosophy scholarship. Browse by topic on the main page or search by keyword.
ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Theological Library Association. ATLA indexes hundreds of religion and philosophy journals. Best used for any philosophy of religion topic.
Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Religion and Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This database offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the database. he majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Gale Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines of interest to both researchers and general users. The database offers balanced content that covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.

Find a Digital Copy of a Classic Text

Use these databases to find a digital scan of a text by a major thinker who published their book before about 1930.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains English & foreign language titles published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.150,000 works covering the American Revolution, French Revolution, and Industrial Revolution.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) - Texts This link opens in a new window
Over 125,000 titles published between 1475-1700. Includes publications in all subjects and music & provides the facsimile of each work.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale) This link opens in a new window
NCCO includes full text images of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages from the late 18th century into the early 20th century.

Newspapers.com
An online archive of searchable scans from newspapers spanning 1690-2019. Broadest coverage in the early to mid-20th century.

Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This ProQuest database provides full text of more than 700 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title but typically back to 1980.

Internet Archive
Vast collection of digitized books predating 1923. Simple navigation and search inside capability.