Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start here searching for background about your topic or philosopher, find an article or book about your topic or philosopher, or find the writings or speeches of a philosopher.
Philosophy and Church History/Doctrine Librarian
Background on a Philosopher or a Topic
Use this encyclopedia to learn more about a philosopher or topic.
Find an Article on a Topic or a Philosopher's Work
Enter your keywords to search this database for peer reviewed articles on your topic or about a philosopher's work.
Find a Book About a Topic or Philosopher
Use the search box dropdown, select Subject, then enter in a broad topic keyword or the name of the philosopher to find books written ABOUT a topic or a thinker (e.g., books about logic or a biography on Hume).
Find a Book by a Philosopher
Use the search box dropdown, select Author/Creator, then enter in the author's name to find books written BY an author (i.e., transcripts of their lectures, private letters, diaries, published books, etc.).
Find a Digital Copy of a Classic Text
Use this database to find a digital scan of a text by a major thinker who published their book between 1450 and 1850.
Making of the Modern World (Gale)
Provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works published from 1450 through 1850, including major philosophers of the time. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.
VIDEO: Using the Making of the Modern World Database
Use this short video tutorial to learn more about the Making of a Modern World Database to find digital copies of classic texts.
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm