Subject Guides: Cell Biology and Physiology: Background and Reference Information

Subject Librarian

Greg Nelson

Contact:

2313 HBLL
Provo, UT 84606
(801) 422-9066
greg_nelson@byu.edu

Subjects: Engineering & Technology, Life Sciences, Physical & Mathematical Sciences

Library Book Collection

New Books in Physiology and Neuroscience Find out what is new in the library collection.

AccessNeurology

Access Neurology This link opens in a new window
AccessNeurology from McGraw-Hill Medical offers a new approach to neurology reference, research, and curricular instruction – all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online neurology resource covers the entire spectrum of neurology from the basics to specialty-specific content – optimized for viewing on any device.

Medical Texts

Try searching current medical texts for in depth info on your topic.

E-books
Include many biomedical texts with links to peer reviewed literature

Gale Health and Medicine

Databases of Clinical Information

UpToDate This link opens in a new window An evidence-based, peer reviewed database of clinical information.
For educational use only.
Micromedex Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window Provides a comprehensive, clinical knowledge base that will prepare you for success in clinical practice.

bioRxiv A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
Health & Wellness Resource Center Health & Wellness Resource Center offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.

Handbooks and Protocols, etc.

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols (CSH) This link opens in a new window Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is a definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database is fully searchable by keyword and subject, and it has many novel features,such as discussion forums and personal folders made possible by online publication. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols are presented step-by-step and edited in the style that has made Molecular Cloning, Antibodies, Cells and many other CSH manuals essential to the work of scientists worldwide. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques.
Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window Springer Protocols is the largest subscription-based electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics This link opens in a new window Web access to the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Searchable by keyword, property, and compound. A number of the tables may be sorted and rearranged to create customized tables.

Handbook of Proteolytic Enzymes The Handbook of Proteolytic Enzymes (2nd Edition) is a resource which includes information on over 1000 peptidases, including Aspartic, Metallo, Cysteine, and Serine & Threonine Peptidases. It is organized by catalytic type, clan, family and peptidase, with links to the MEROPS database and three-dimentional structures for many of the enzymes. It also includes two appendices with "other organisms mentioned" (including viruses) and commercial suppliers.

Lens This link opens in a new window US, European and World wide collections searchable in full text of the entire specifications, with links to global patent families. Single inventions may have dozens, hundreds or even thousands of related patent documents in up to 80 different jurisdictions. See and explore these relationships.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window Springer publishes millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.

Histology Image Sites

MedPix MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. Our primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others interested in medical knowledge. The content material is organized by disease location (organ system); pathology category; patient profiles; and, by image classification and image captions. The collection is searchable by patient symptoms and signs, diagnosis, organ system, image modality and image description, keywords, contributing authors, and many other search options.
Digital Histology Digital Histology provides an open educational resource that combines a digital atlas with extensive descriptive text. It is organized as a multi-hierarchy outline that reinforces broader histological concepts and parallels the content of most histology textbooks.
NTP Atlas of Nonneoplastic Lesions in Rats and Mice The NTP Nonneoplastic Lesion Atlas (NNLA) provides diagnostic guidelines for microscopic nonneoplastic lesions in rats and mice in order to improve the understanding of nonneoplastic lesions and their relevance to human environmental diseases.

Selected Health-related Web Sites

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Credible, reliable health information on a variety of topics.
Medline Plus Trustworthy consumer health information from the US National Library of Medicine.
National Center for Health Statistics Start here when looking for statistics.
World Health Organization Provides information and statistics on many global health issues.
The Community Guide A resource for community public health.
Cochrane Public Health Group

Online Encyclopedias and More

Acland's Anatomy This link opens in a new window The hardest challenge for anyone studying anatomy is trying to understand a complex three-dimensional structure without having three-dimensional learning tools. Few people can form a mental image that's three dimensional by looking at pictures in books or static images on a monitor. This Video Atlas provides an appreciation of the real human body and a direct understanding of the mechanics of body movement. The videos can be understood without any prior knowledge of anatomy. The narration is delivered in simple, everyday language, apart from the necessary use of the anatomical names of structures.

Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics, and Informatics Covers the basics and the latest in genomics, proteomics, genetic engineering, small RNAs, transcription factories, chromosome territories, stem cells, genetic networks, epigenetics, prions, hereditary diseases, and patents.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences This link opens in a new window Comprehensive encyclopedia of all subjects in the life sciences.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window Includes full text for a number of encyclopedias and handbooks, including many specialized life science and health resources.
Merck index This link opens in a new window The Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds.

Salem Health: Cancer This resource covers more than 800 topics of interest and help to students, patients, caregivers, and others who want to learn more about cancer.

Testing & Education Reference Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window TERC contains over 100 practice tests and courses to help students prepare for educational tests including the GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, MAT, NCLEX, and PRAXIS. Information about graduate schools and careers is also included.

JoVE- Journal of Visualized Experiments

JoVE - Bioengineering
Video journal articles for biomedical protocols and procedures
JoVE - Biology
Video journal articles containing techniques and experimental approaches in the fields of cellular, molecular, and organismal biology.
JoVE - General Laboratory Techniques
Videos that exhibit how to use standard pieces of laboratory equipment essential in many experiments
JoVE - Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology
Videos that demonstrate how to execute basic techniques commonly used in cellular and molecular biology