Find and use statistics and data sets from other scholars and organizations.
Data Sets
ICPSRThis link opens in a new windowICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.
Roper Center iPollThis link opens in a new windowAlternate title: iPoll Databank. The iPOLL Databank is the most comprehensive, up-to-date resource for US public opinion data. Includes major U.S. commercial, media, and academic polls from 1935-present.
NLSY DatasetsThe National Longitudinal Surveys (NLS) are a set of surveys designed to gather information at multiple points in time on the labor market activities and other significant life events of several groups of men and women. For more than 4 decades, NLS data have served as an important tool for economists, sociologists, and other researchers
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Census Data: CurrentConnects to the U.S. Census Bureau, the major source of U.S. demographic, social and economic information. The CenStats File in this database requires and ID and password available at the Government Information Reference Desk.
Historical Statistics of the United StatesThis link opens in a new windowHistorical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition, a compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources last updated in the distant 1975, has been expanded to include over 37,000 data series -- three times more than in the previous edition -- and dozens of new topics, among them slavery, American Indians, and poverty. The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history.
International Statistics
CIA World FactbookThis link opens in a new windowProvides a country-by-country listing of basic statistical and factual information. A few miscellaneous areas such as Antarctica and the West Bank are also included. Entries average two pages in length. Updated annually.
Europa World PlusThis link opens in a new windowEuropa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
IMF International Financial StatisticsThe International Monetary's Fund's database of International Financial Statistics provides interactive access to data from 1945 to the present. Data series for individual nations cover GDP, imports, exports, employment, and many other economic indicators and national accounts. Additional data sets include consumer price indices worldwide, international interest rate data, and commodity price data. Statistics are downloadable to Excel, and pdf scans of the printed versions are also available.
UNdataThis link opens in a new windowThe replacement for the United Nations Common Database (UNCDB). Provides statistics on economics, demographics, trade, etc. for the nations of the world gathered from a variety of international organizations. Easy to compare multiple nations and export to Excel.
United Nations Comtrade DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThe UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database provides international trade statistics for free. However, data cannot be downloaded to non-subscribers.
Other Statistics
Family and Society Database (Heritage)The Heritage Foundation's familyfacts.org highlights social science research regarding the relationship between family structure and religion and the well-being of men, women, children, and society. The Database currently contains over 2,000 empirical findings drawn from more than 1,250 peer-reviewed journal articles published throughout the past 20 years.
Pew Research CenterPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
Gallup Poll and ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowThis is the official Gallup Poll site, conducted by the Gallup organization, and which includes a variety of polling data but not their entire poll archive. May contain selected political polls or popularity/approval ratings.
StatistaThis link opens in a new windowAn aggregator of statistics on almost any topic.
You can email me or click on "Schedule an Appointment". I am often available on short notice. Please feel free to text me at 801-362-9427 to ask about my immediate availability to assist you with your research questions.
