Subject Guides: Family Sciences: Tests & Evaluation Measures

Finding Tests and Measurements in Behavioral Sciences Databases

Finding Tests and Measurements in Behavioral Science Databases

This guide will help you to find published and unpublished tests and measures in Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY), Tests in Print (TIP) and PsycINFO.

Search for Tests & Measures in PsycINFO

PsycINFO on EBSCOhost: In Search of Tests & Measures
This video will show you how to use the test and measures field in the PsycINFO database.

Finding Information, Tests & Mental Measurements on the Web

Finding Tests and Evaluation Measures

Find Tests & Measures Online

APA PsycTests (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window PsycTESTS, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), serves as a repository for the full text of psychological tests and measures as well as a source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycTESTS contains over 6,000 Master Profiles and nearly 4,500 instances of actual tests or test items. Coverage dates from 1910 to the present.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1887+ Indexes and abstracts over one million journal, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in 2,000 journals from over 50 countries in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Provided by the American Psychological Association. Updated weekly.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present. Also produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).

Test Collections

ETS Test Collection Database Alternate title: Educational Testing Service (ETS) Test Collection Database. This database contains over 25,000 tests and other measurement devices from the early 1900s to the present. Each entry includes information on the test availability, author, and abstract (if available). BYU has microfiche copies of some of these tests.

Find Tests & Measures in the Social Sciences Reference Collection

Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures by Jamison, Martin.
Call Number: Soc Sci Ref BF 431 J29
ISBN: 0838981747
Lists tests that often appear in journals. Instruments are often created by the authors of studies. A title index appears for Volumes 1-8.
Handbook of family measurement techniques by John Touliatos; Barry F Perlmutter; Murray A Straus (Murray Arnold), 1926-; George W Holden
Call Number: Soc Sci Ref HQ 728 .T68 2001 vol.1-3
ISBN: 0803972504
Includes abstracts of family measurement instruments cited in the published literature. Volume 3 contains 168 of the instruments abstracted in Volume 2, reproducing them in full along with their scoring instructions. Volume 3 also provides author, instrument title, and subject indexes for all three volumes.
Test critiques by Daniel J. Keyser 1935-; Richard C. Sweetland 1931-
Call Number: Soc Sci Ref BF 176 .T419
ISBN: 0961128666
This ten-volume set includes lengthy reviews of psychological, educational and business tests. Indexes include titles, authors, publishers, and subject. The volumes in this set were published between 1984 and 1994. The index in the latest volume indexes all ten volumes.
Tests in microfiche by Educational Testing Service
Call Number: LB 1131.5 .T47x Microfiche Set A-Z
Contains Unpublished tests in the ETS Test collection.

Family Science Librarian

Quinn Galbraith

Email Me

Contact:

You can email me or click on "Schedule an Appointment". I am often available on short notice. Please feel free to text me at 801-362-9427 to ask about my immediate availability to assist you with your research questions.

Subjects: Social Sciences