Subject Guides: Folklore: Reference

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Folk Heroes by Graham Seal
ISBN: 1576072169
Publication Date: 2001-12-11
Folklore by Charlie T. McCormick (Editor); Kim Kennedy White (Editor)
ISBN: 9781598842418
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature by Bruce A. Rosenberg (Editor); Mary E. Brown (Editor)
ISBN: 1576070034
Publication Date: 1998-09-02
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales by Donald Haase
ISBN: 9780313334412
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
World Folklore for Storytellers by Josepha Sherman
ISBN: 9780765681744
Publication Date: 2009-09-03

Folklore & Myth

World Folklore and Folklife This link opens in a new window

Clowns & Tricksters : an Encyclopedia of Tradition and Culture - Humanities Reference GR 524 .C48 1998
Kimberly A. Christen. Denver, Colo. : ABC-CLIO, c1998.
Encyclopedia of Greco-roman Mythology - Humanities Reference BL 715 .D56 1998
Kimberly A. Christen. Denver, Colo. : ABC-CLIO, c1998.
Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism : Sacred Ceremonies of North America - Social Sciences/Education Reference E 98 .M4 L98 1998
William S. Lyon. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1998
Folklore : an Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art - Humanities Reference GR 35 .F63 2011
edited by Thomas A. Green. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1997.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairytales
more...less...
Provides entries on themes and motifs, individuals, characters and character types, national traditions, and genres of folk and fairy tales from around the world.
Penguin Dictionary of American Folklore - Humanities Reference GR 105.34 .A94 2000
Allen Axelrod and Harry Oster. Penguin, 2000.
Encyclopedia of Creations Myths
print version available at Humanities Reference: BL 325 .C7 L44 1994
A to Z World Superstitions and Folklore
Encyclopedia Mythica
Oxford Dictionary of English Folklore
A Dictionary of African Mythology (Oxford): Print at HUM REF BL 2400 .S24 2000

Folklore & Literature

Encyclopedia of Fable - Humanities Reference PN 980 .S66 1998
Mary Ellen Snodgrass. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1998.
Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature - Humanities Reference PN 41 .E48 1998
editors: Mary Ellen Brown, Bruce A. Rosenberg ; editorial assistants: Peter Harle, Kathy Sitarski. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 1998.
Folklore and Literature in the United States : an Annotated Bibliography of Studies of Folklore in American Literature - Humanities Reference PS 169 .F64 X65 1984
Steven Swann Jones. New York : Garland Pub., 1984.
Motif-index of folk-literature : a classification of narrative elements in folktales, ballads, myths, fables, mediaeval romances, exempla, fabliaux, jest-books, and local legends - Humanities Reference GR 67 .T52 1966
Rev. and enl. ed. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 1966.
more...less...
.

Folklore Characters

Encyclopedia of Folk Heroes - Humanities Reference GR 35 .S4 2001
Graham Seal. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2001.
more...less...
A wide-ranging and detailed investigation of folk heroes, both fictional and historical, from the earliest times to the present, taken from societies throughout the world as they exist in folktales, folksongs, customs, speech, and other folklore genres.
Spirits, Fairies, Gnomes, Goblins : an Encyclopedia of the Little People - Humanities Reference GR 549 .R65 1996
Carol Rose. Santa Barbara, CA : ABC-CLIO, c1996.

Storytelling

Storyteller's Source book: A Subject, Title, and Motif Index to Folklore Collections for Children - Juvenile Reference GR 74.6 .M6
Margaret Read MacDonald. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research, 1995.
Storytelling : an Encyclopedia of Mythology and Folklore - Humanities Reference GR 35 .S76 2008
Josepha Sherman, editor. Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c2008.
more...less...
A collection of informative entries providing a definitive and fascinating study of the wide world of storytelling.
Storytelling Encyclopedia : Historical, Cultural, and Multiethnic Approaches to Oral Traditions Around the World - Humanities Reference GR 72 .S76 1997
general editor, David Adams Leeming ; project editor, Marion Sader. Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 1997.
World Folklore for Storytellers: Tales of Wonder, Wisdom, Fools, and Heroes
Josepha Sherman. Armonk, N.Y. : Sharpe Reference, c2009.
Available in print at Humanities Reference GR 72.56 .W67 2009.

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

Bibliography Managers

Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.

RefWorks This link opens in a new window The new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
Zotero This link opens in a new window A free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.

Style Manuals

Chicago Style - Basic
more...less...
Chicago documentation style basic guidelines for citing print and online sources. This style is used in researching History and some fields in the Humanities.

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
18th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style

Turabian Style - Basic
more...less...
Turabian documentation style basic guidelines for citing print and online sources.