Lateral reading is a technique for researching a publication, website, or author of unknown credibility.  It involves exploring the site, its owner, and the author of the information before reading the article itself. Remember to Stop, Investigate the source, Find better coverage, and Trace claims. (SIFT). It is called  "lateral reading" because instead of staying on a webpage or reading the whole article first, the user looks at multiple tabs across a browser to gain more context. 

Evaluating Sources: SIFT method created by Mike Caulfield. 

The SIFT method helps analyze information, especially news or other online media. It consists of four moves: Stop, Investigate the source, find better coverage, and trace the original context.

Stop

Before you read or share media, stop and ask yourself if you know the source of the information. Check the facts and the reputation of the claim and the website. Check the publication's reputation, and verify claims in a newspaper and industry article. As you research, stop periodically and reevaluate your reaction and search strategy.

Investigate the source

the idea here is that you want to know what you're reading before you read it. The source's expertise and agenda are crucial to your interpretation of what they say. Taking sixty seconds to figure out where the media is from before reading will help you decide if it is worth your time, and if it is, it will help you to understand its significance and trustworthiness better.

Find better coverage

Find out if the article's claim is true and if it represents a consensus viewpoint. Look for trusted reporting or analysis on the claim, find the best source on this topic, or, just as importantly, scan multiple sources and see what the expert consensus seems to be. Find the more trusted, in-depth, or maybe more varied. You do not need to agree with the consensus; you need to understand the context and history of a claim to evaluate it better and form a starting point for future investigation.

Trace claims, quotes, and media back to the original context

Much of what we find on the internet has been stripped of context. Trace the claim, quote, or media back to the source to see it in its original context and get a sense that the version you saw was accurately represented.

It's about REcontextualizing

Reconstruct the necessary context to read, view, or listen to digital content effectively. Who the speaker or publisher is. What's their expertise? What's their agenda? What's their record of fairness or accuracy? Investigate the source and context when you encounter something on the web. A key piece of context includes whether they are broadly accepted or rejected or something in-between. By scanning for other coverage, you can see the expert consensus on a claim, learn the history around it, and ultimately land on a better source. Finally, when evidence is presented with a certain frame — whether a quote, video, or scientific finding — sometimes it helps reconstruct the original context.

Not every source will be appropriate for your paper. Once you have done background research and located specific sources, review your sources to decide which are most dependable, helpful, and appropriate for your topic. Below is an explanation of the types of sources you’ll come across. Check the parameters of your assignment to find out which types will work best for you. Go to the tab FINDING ARTICLES  and search using  ProQuest One Business and/or Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO) to find reliable sources for your business article.

Peer-Reviewed Sources

Peer-reviewed sources are sometimes referred to as scholarly or academic in library databases. Researchers or experts write these sources in a particular field and are often grounded in research; these sources have been analyzed and substantiated by experts in the field. This makes this type of secondary source the most credible. Scholarly articles use specialized vocabulary, have extensive citations, and are often peer-reviewed. Most articles found through library databases have been peer-reviewed, but to filter out non-reviewed sources, you can check the “peer-reviewed” box during your search.

How to Read a Peer-Reviewed Article

1. Read the Abstract.
2. Read the Introduction.
3. Skim the body of the paper, including the research methodology, sample sizes, statistical methods, etc.
4. Skim the Discussion.
5. Read the Conclusion.

Non-Peer-Reviewed Sources

These sources can help you get practical information on your topic. 

To understand your topic before starting your research

• Background Sources -  Encyclopedia, Wikipedia.

To be aware of recent developments related to your topic 

• Newspapers - Their main goal is to keep you informed. Delivers news and other content on a daily or weekly basis. 
• Wire Feeds - Wire feeds are also known as news releases, newswires, and press releases and can be created and distributed by companies like Reuters and Bloomberg, which also carry original content created by journalists, or by companies that only specialize in wire feeds. Companies and PR agencies often use newswire services to publicize an announcement, product, event, or anything they hope to attract coverage. Some examples of newswire services include Businesswire, Newswire Today, and Marketwire.

To include in your paper *these types of publication contain content on your topic. 

• Trade publications may be written by experts in a particular industry. Still, they are not considered scholarly, as they share general news, trends, and opinions rather than advanced research and are not peer-reviewed.
• Popular magazine articles are typically written by journalists to entertain or inform a general audience,
• Internet sources  - Sources published online (websites, blogs, magazines, news articles, etc.) are largely unmonitored; their information may be inaccurate or unverifiable. Use the SIFT method to evaluate these sources. Use the advanced search to limit your search to the following: 
  • Date - Limit to the last year; an old date may mean the source is not current or accurate.
  • The site domain on a website (sites ending in “.edu,” “.org,” or “.gov” are generally more credible than “.com” websites.) After initially scanning the source, look closer at the content. The person or organization responsible for the source (well-respected organizations would be more reliable than casual bloggers.