Subject Guides: TESOL: Reference Works

Reference Works for Linguistics & TESOL

Language Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online This link opens in a new window The OED Online contains the complete searchable text of over half a million words from the 20 volume 2nd Edition. The dictionary traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations, offers etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciations. 1000 new and revised entries added quarterly. NOTE: The reference to the hard copy of the Oxford English Dictionary is HUM REF PE 1625 .O87
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (OLDO) features fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages. Offering over 4 million words, phrases and translations in Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish. OLDO also features native speaker audio pronunciation - allowing you to hear how words actually sound. More than just a dictionary, OLDO offers a complete suite of language learning support materials for users of all levels: click-through verb tables and pronunciation charts, explanations of grammatical terms, hundreds sample letters, CVs and resumes, notes on life and culture, guidance on grammar and idiomatic usage, extensive links to other sites for further research, and more.

Linguistics Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics This Wiley reference work brings together historic and emerging areas of research within applied linguistics. It includes over 1,100 entries written by an international team of scholars from over 40 countries.

Linguistic Atlases and Maps

Treasury of Linguistic Maps (DeGruyter) This link opens in a new window Treasury of Linguistic Maps presents linguistic maps selected from various atlases and other publications. Thanks to specific search functionalities (e.g. category/subdiscipline, language described in the map, geographical location, year or period described, map caption/description, map author, book author, book title, year of publication, full text), Treasury of Linguistic Maps is a unique and indispensable resource for visualized information on various topics in linguistics.

- Atlas of the World's Languages
  Hum Ref P 391 .A85x 2007
- World Atlas of Language Structures
  Hum Ref P 143 .W67x 2005

Language Handbooks and Guides

Oxford Handbooks - Linguistics This link opens in a new window Original, peer reviewed, research reviews covering the key issues and exploring major debates in linguistics.
Ethnologue This link opens in a new window Ethnologue brings together data for any language – from populations to maps, dialects, usage, and more.

- Oxford Handbook of Applied Linguistics
  Hum Ref P 129 .O95
- Classification and Index of the World's Languages
  Hum Ref P 203 .V6
- Compendium of the World's Languages
  Hum Ref P 371 .C36

Language Learning and Maintenance

Pronunciator This link opens in a new window Pronunciator is a fun and easy way to learn any of 80 languages. Register for free and start learning at your own pace! Pronunciator features speech recognition, a virtual coach, downloadable audio lessons, virtual conversations, and free apps!
Mango Languages This link opens in a new window Learn a new language or refresh one you already know at your own pace. Around 80 languages available.

TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching The TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching explores the theoretical and practical aspects of English language instruction by providing an essential, go-to reference resource for educators, professionals, researchers, and students world-wide.
TESOL Standards and Resources WIDA standards and further resources for English-language proficiency

Other Scholarly Websites

Deseret Language and Linguistic Society Symposium The BYU College of Humanities sponsored an annual DLLS Symposium from 1975 to 2001. The selected proceedings are peer-reviewed.

RefWorks

You can easily input (and format) journal articles, books, websites, and other resources for your paper !

Use

RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that helps you collect and organize citations and access them from any computer with a Web connection.

RefWorks will even take your list and generate a bibliography of references, using APA, MLA, or any other format you select.

When gathering records from other databases, look for instructions for how to directly export your records to RefWorks.

Pronunciator

Pronunciator is a language learning software database you can use to supplement your coursework, maintain and improve your language skills, or just learn a new language in ways that can be playful and fun, including a virtual tutor and language learning (for the most common languages) through movies, poetry and music.

Important for spoken language is the ability to "engage" with the computer and improve pronunciation through speech-recognition software.

Current languages available for self-study or supplementing coursework
(in 50 different language interfaces) include:

- 80 different languages from Afrikaans to Welsh and Xhosa -

After connecting to the database using the link above, sign up for your own individual account.

Then log in, choose your level of language proficiency and conversational topic, and enjoy your language-learning experience!

Once you are a registered user, you can go directly to
www.pronunciator.com
and start learning (a login box will appear after you use it for a bit)

And you can get:
APPS for your handheld device,
PDF lists of vocabulary
and native speakers on sound files for practice.

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

Oxford Dictionaries

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online provide a one-stop site for English to and from Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish. Sound files are provided as phonetic models. Grammatical and cultural resources are an important supplement to the two million words and phrases found in the searchable dictionaries themselves.

Reference Online

The Wiley Language & Linguistics Reference offers you a number of handbooks & encyclopedias ranging from language acquisition to syntax, from phonetics to writing systems, from English to Japanese.

Jobs in the Profession

What are your plans after graduation? The Modern Language Association (MLA) Job Information List is available online in two versions:

For Foreign Languages

For English and Linguistics